PDA

View Full Version : Counters and post counts do not reduce! - Now with addon for member count![v1.1]


N9ne
29 Oct 2002, 15:37
HACK UPDATE!

If you had this hack installed previously, (before the 24th of November, 2002), UNINSTALL it, by looking at this attachment: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=315867

After you've uninstalled it, look at this attachment and apply the changes relevant: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=325308


If you are installing this for the first time, CLICK HERE! (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=325308)

Enjoy.

Update: 1st December 2002:

I have created an addon for this hack which means that when a member is deleted, the counter on forumhome will not decrease.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=326823

That is the attachment, only one modification to index.php required...it is in beta stages, if you find any bugs, please reply to this thread, however I don't think there will be any :) as I have tested it and it seemed to work.

Chris M
29 Oct 2002, 15:46
Although it is good, I wont use it at my boards...

I feel it is just a way to:

a.) Promote mass spammers - if their posts are deleted, their Post Count doesnt go down? That wont deter them;)
b.) Promote how great your board is - If the posts dont go down, and a user looks in the board and finds like 3 threads and 20 posts when it says hundreds, or a user has now only 30 posts, but it says he has 130 etc, it looks bad, as if you are faking the counts...

Satan

N9ne
29 Oct 2002, 15:59
Ah but hellsatan, wouldn't you hate it if your post count went down :p

Chris M
29 Oct 2002, 16:25
Not really...

It would be an accurate reflection of the posts I have made...

I dont cheat the system, just spam it;)

Satan

N9ne
29 Oct 2002, 16:29
LoL but do you ever prune :p

With my forum, 90k posts, I can't be bothered to backup the DB daily, so it's gonna be pruned eventually ;)

Chris M
29 Oct 2002, 16:35
I havent pruned it yet, but my DB isnt large enough for me to warrant pruning...yet;)

Satan

desi
29 Oct 2002, 16:54
Thanks N9ne ...

thats was fast i posted in the other forum amd u had the hack ready LOL

testing it right now :)

cheers

JulianD
30 Oct 2002, 04:31
Hey thanks N9ne. It's always good to have a hack like this. :)

FFMania
30 Oct 2002, 09:44
Nice Hack Dude...I really need something like this ;)

xware
30 Oct 2002, 13:19
It should be this:
$countthreads=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT MAX(threadid) AS threads FROM thread');

N9ne
30 Oct 2002, 13:32
What's in the .txt file works for me though :confused:

Dynamic One
10 Nov 2002, 17:26
Thanks for this hack m8. Now I can delete the old post I don't need anymore :).

N9ne
24 Nov 2002, 18:34
Ok I've noticed a bug in this hack which means it does not work.

I have a fix for it, it requires modifying index.php and member.php (you only need to modify member.php if you have the "percentage of total posts" hack installed, and do not worry, even if you have pruned and the counters have reduced on forumhome, they will shoot back up ;)

I don't have enough time to post the fix right now, but I'll post it in 30-60 mins.

N9ne
24 Nov 2002, 19:16
Hack update! v1.1 released!

If you had already installed this hack, go to the attachment in the first post, and undo the changes. Then look at the v1.1 attachment below, and apply the changes.

Chris M
24 Nov 2002, 19:40
Nice:)

Satan

350Chevy
29 Nov 2002, 01:11
didn't work in 2.2.9.. dunno..

N9ne
29 Nov 2002, 18:41
it SHOULD work in 2.2.9...as I don't think they changed the code pertaining to what I'm editing?

Could you be more specific as to why it didn't work? Give me details.

350Chevy
30 Nov 2002, 07:15
hmm, Well... I upgraded from phpBB to vB.. I currently have 43,046 posts and 3,860 threads. But the forum software is showing 150,766 posts and 13,628 threads....???

At any rate, I've had to add post counts to quite a few users who who earned them on the previous board or the board prior to phpBB (the board has been through hell, UBB to Hebb to phpBB and now vB.. lol). When I ran the Update Thread Info under Update Counters in the CP, the thread numbers were still off and the users post counts that I've added have disappeared.

I'm guessing something with the dB maybe corrupt when I upgraded from phpBB to vB. I've searched the dB and see no problems though I do notice my forums are numbered quite high. IE. instead of the forum ID's numbered 1-15 or whatever, they're numbered 86-107? Also the post ID's are numbered very high (in the 100,000 range.)

I'm stumped... It's not that great of a deal. The board works and the numbers are not that noticable. It's just one of those quirks you wish were fixed. hehe.. ;)

N9ne
30 Nov 2002, 12:10
What this hack does is take the MAXvalue from the DB...there are entries in the DB for posts, and it will assign numbers to them, so it's going to display the total posts posted, it will take the latest entry to the DB for posts, and take that number and display it...

Legacy
30 Nov 2002, 17:49
How about MEMEBRS Count?
Had a incident where 600 members got removed so the count went down by 600 members

N9ne
30 Nov 2002, 23:40
I'll look into members count.

N9ne
30 Nov 2002, 23:52
This is tested, but not tested much, it may have bugs...AFAIK it works, I added a member from adminCP, then removed it, then added another, so that meant there were 2 members in the DB, but it showed 3 for total members on forumhome, so that meant it worked...test it out though, come back here if there are bugs!

attached:

350Chevy
30 Nov 2002, 23:53
Originally posted by N9ne
What this hack does is take the MAXvalue from the DB...there are entries in the DB for posts, and it will assign numbers to them, so it's going to display the total posts posted, it will take the latest entry to the DB for posts, and take that number and display it...

Gotcha. Thanks for the explanation. Like I said it was no big deal, I was just hoping your hack would keep members posts that I've corrected. :)

They can deal with it. :cool:

Legacy
02 Dec 2002, 23:34
Originally posted by N9ne
This is tested, but not tested much, it may have bugs...AFAIK it works, I added a member from adminCP, then removed it, then added another, so that meant there were 2 members in the DB, but it showed 3 for total members on forumhome, so that meant it worked...test it out though, come back here if there are bugs!

attached:

Thank You ...Working fine..no problems in the last few days.

Thanks...I do appreciate your help

N9ne
03 Dec 2002, 17:54
No problem :)

Everyone please remember, click install if you install this hack because you will then receive updates of important updates, such as the 1.1 update that was recently released for this hack...that was very important...and click install because I then know people use my hacks ;)

corsacrazy
16 Jan 2003, 19:02
AHHHhhhhhhh i done it and the counters DID reduce :( looks empty now :( i installed it all correctly ps was i ment 2 update counters after ? is there a way i can put it back how it was b4 my prune ?

N9ne
16 Jan 2003, 20:51
Sounds like you installed v1.0, and not v1.1

Look at my first post, and follow the instructions at the top in the red.

Once you install v1.1, the count will come back.

The General
11 May 2003, 10:38
Excellent hack, works like a charm!

Cheers...

iggy123
05 Jun 2003, 22:43
this doesnt seem to work with 2.3.0

Julie
26 Mar 2005, 22:06
I realise that the last post from this topic is from Jun 6th 03, but does this one work in 3.0.7? Or is there a way to make it work? Thanks :)

Marco van Herwaarden
26 Mar 2005, 22:50
This will not work on vB3, it is a hack for vB2.

vB2 and vB3 have too many internal differences for hacks to work from one version to the other.

Julie
26 Mar 2005, 23:18
Damn, because I could really use this :P But thanks for the reply! :)

Bro_Joey_Gowdy
14 Aug 2005, 21:38
I realise that the last post from this topic is from Jun 6th 03, but does this one work in 3.0.7? Or is there a way to make it work? Thanks :)

This would be useful to have for vb3.5.0...

:nervous:

Marit
11 Jun 2006, 08:53
I would love to have this for v 3.5.4 :)