PDA

View Full Version : [RELEASE] Apply to be Mod or Admin. VIA Email.


Logik
01 Feb 2003, 02:30
Description:
This hack will add an option to where your users can email the owner of the forums and ask to be moderator or administrator. This is useful for people who want their boards to get more popular. But give me feedback. Thanks

Screenshots:
In following posts.

UPDATE!!!:

I added the drop down option. If you want to redownload go a head.

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 02:47
theres more but i dont want to post.

mx3
01 Feb 2003, 02:53
wow, i've been wanting this...i'll install soon

LOTR
01 Feb 2003, 05:07
i'll be adding this one soon.. by the way..

i was wondering, is there a way let say i want other admins rather only myself to receive the mod/admin application from this form?

If a user apply for a mod/admin other permanent adminS (say founder, sponsors) receive his/her application?

thanks.. :)

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 05:42
I will see what i can do..

DWZ
01 Feb 2003, 07:16
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=35323&highlight=mod+application+form

Mephisteus
01 Feb 2003, 10:19
DWZ, read, it's another type of hack, this one is by email, the other one by form and shown in the admincp and modcp.

Dean C
01 Feb 2003, 11:14
Nice - a better option would be to have a drop down of admin, mod, super mod ;)

- miSt

Funkie
01 Feb 2003, 12:57
How about getting it on a non vb page and then getting it to post into a forum as a new thread within a forum??

would that be poss??

/me goes to hide in the corner

nKrypteD1
01 Feb 2003, 13:15
I have attached a text file that includes instructions how to make the position applied for a drop down menu or a radio button, I hope you don't mind logik but as it was asked for and as it was rather simple I took the liberty. I take no credit as this was just a simple html edit in a template and thank logik for releasing his hack.

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 15:52
I do not mind. I was going to add that. But i forgot about it. I was working on another hack..

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 15:53
If you use this. PLEASE click install.

Dean C
01 Feb 2003, 16:01
Hey just a tip use the [high] vb code instead of blue in your first post.

It means that text will be yellow on the dark blue style and red on the purple etc...

- miSt

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 16:18
Ok thanks..

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 16:20
I updated the zip. Redownload. all i did was add the dropdown box.

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 16:35
@LOTR - Heres what you asked for.
ALL ADMINS GET THE APPLICATION

In mod.php find:
$email = "$bbtitle Application\n\nSender Username:\t$name\nSender E-

Mail:\t$thereemail\nMessage:\t$message\nSender Site:\t$site\nPosition:\t$position\nIP:\t$REMOTE_ADDR\n\n";

Just under that add:
$moderators=$DB_site->query("SELECT user.email FROM user,usergroup WHERE

user.usergroupid=usergroup.usergroupid AND (usergroup.cancontrolpanel=1 OR usergroup.ismoderator=1)");
}

while ($moderator=$DB_site->fetch_array($moderators)) {

Next, find:
$to="$webmasteremail";

And replace that with:
$to = "$moderator[email]";

Thats all. Now all your admins will get the mail.

Logik
01 Feb 2003, 20:00
What is it with my hacks. I make a decent hack. And no one uses it.. I feel ashamed :(

Prankster
02 Feb 2003, 03:55
in my forum I had in the template "mod" following to add.

<td width="108"><smallfont>Position:</smallfont></td>

i put this before this:

<td width="192">
<select name="position" id="position">
<option value="Moderator" selected>Moderator</option>
<option value="Administrator">Administrator</option>
</select>
</td>

Reason:

all the same whether I used that drop down or the radio, it became always on the left side indicated. Now it is like that, as in your picture

------------------------------------------------------------

how become i the window, where one enters the message somewhat longer ?

greets
Prankster

Logik
02 Feb 2003, 18:26
I dont quite get your message. Please restate it.

wooolF[RM]
02 Feb 2003, 19:52
installed, got 17 mails in 2 hours, uninstalled by request of my mods ( 32 of them ).

otherwise nice hack and idea

Logik
02 Feb 2003, 21:31
Hmm. Why uninstall it.?

Logik
03 Feb 2003, 19:59
Hmm. Why isnt anyone using this. :(

Mickie D
04 Feb 2003, 15:39
i will use this 100% m8 but i would much rather have a forum where these posts go so me and my mods can all have a say on if we think these people are right for the job :)

but i will install this so it goes to an email.

also would it be possable it goes to a private room without the user being able to see where it has gone

i.e i would like a room called JOB REVIEWS but i would like that room to be for mods and admin only m8y

Logik
04 Feb 2003, 16:37
thats quite alot.. But i will try and get around to it.. Thanks for the comments.

cnczone
29 Mar 2003, 02:19
In the drop down box for your user name, it has mod or admin? should I not be able to put my user name in their? Why can't I?


http://cnczone.com/mod.php?action=apply

Funkie
29 Mar 2003, 06:27
i would much rather have a forum where these posts go so me and my mods can all have a say on if we think these people are right for the job

Aye now that would be tops:)

would deffo install if it had that feature

Logik
05 Apr 2003, 03:12
Well. Im not really sure on how to do that. If anyone wants to help me with that feature im me on Bacheloring. Or email me at Johnny@enactive.net

laycomp
07 Apr 2003, 05:18
Hello Logik,

I installed hack, followed all instructions, however, when I call the form and submit, it goes right back to same page (application page) and I receive no email. I get no "thank you" or other type of message, needless to mention, but I get no email.

Even I fail to enter any user info and click "send" it stays in the application form with giving me any error page response.

I other words, as the app is just there serving no purpose, does not send email, does not reply with error messages, no thank you message, clicking on "send" does nothing.

I am using vbull 2.3, any suggestions please?


Thank you.

LC

tinbin
07 Apr 2003, 09:41
This is a nice hack, but i would indeed rather see it make a new post in a specified forum so admins can discuss it...

MetroSports82
07 Apr 2003, 12:44
Today at 05:41 AM tinbin said this in Post #29 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=378661#post378661)
This is a nice hack, but i would indeed rather see it make a new post in a specified forum so admins can discuss it...

actually, i've modified this, so that it'll not only send an e-mail to all admins, but also PM, and start a new thread in one of my private mod forums to discuss it. i've also added additional questions in the application, (ie age, hours online per week, forum request for moderating, etc). btw, thanks for sharing this Logik, never really had the time to create my own, so I used yours. its been come in real handy. ;)

-Metro.

tinbin
07 Apr 2003, 16:05
Any chance of getting some info how u got it to create a new post?

Funkie
07 Apr 2003, 16:57
aye you wanna share it with us all:):)
Would be good,seems plenty of peeps after this 1

laycomp
07 Apr 2003, 18:07
Today at 05:57 PM Funkie said this in Post #32 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=378806#post378806)
aye you wanna share it with us all:):)
Would be good,seems plenty of peeps after this 1

Plain selfish guys, notice:

"...etc). btw, thanks for sharing this Logik, never really had the time to create my own, so I used yours. its been come in real handy.

-Metro."

In whole tread, not one mention of "thanks" to author except now and has the face to thank author for "sharing" but does not follow same example himself. Probably "never really had the time" to share.

His post wasn't to help others or thank anyone, it's here just to rub in people's faces. Not a nice guy at all. A taker.

Funkie
07 Apr 2003, 21:01
what you on about fella..whos a taker????

All i did was ask if metro if he was gonna share the code for the posting in forums side of it...........


Ho and btw if i use a mod i thank the author

Logik
08 Apr 2003, 01:53
Metro. PM me the file, and i will edit the download, or you can post. and i better get a THANKS in there. being it is my code.

laycomp
08 Apr 2003, 02:07
Yesterday at 10:01 PM Funkie said this in Post #34 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=378917#post378917)
what you on about fella..whos a taker????

All i did was ask if metro if he was gonna share the code for the posting in forums side of it...........


Ho and btw if i use a mod i thank the author


Funkie, my comments were NOT directed at you, sorry if It felt that way to you.

I got upset at MetroSport82, seeing the way he responded to Tinbin.

He could have offered his modified hack to Tinbin or at the least offered some help.

He seemed very unhelpful and selfish in other ways as well, but no, my comments have nothing to do with you.

LC

Funkie
08 Apr 2003, 06:43
Coolie,
Sorry if i took it the wrong way to fella:)
:):)

tinbin
08 Apr 2003, 10:26
Just installed the hack and it works like a charm :)
I added some extra fields etc... Works all fine.

Hope Metro could give us a clue how to let it post in certain forum...
But i'm using the hack anyway :)
Big thx.

laycomp
08 Apr 2003, 15:47
Yesterday at 06:18 AM laycomp said this in Post #28 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=378609#post378609)
Hello Logik,

I installed hack, followed all instructions, however, when I call the form and submit, it goes right back to same page (application page) and I receive no email. I get no "thank you" or other type of message, needless to mention, but I get no email.

Even I fail to enter any user info and click "send" it stays in the application form with giving me any error page response.

I other words, as the app is just there serving no purpose, does not send email, does not reply with error messages, no thank you message, clicking on "send" does nothing.

I am using vbull 2.3, any suggestions please?


Thank you.

LC

ehem... cough...cough...

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 15:37
LoL, whats with all this comotion? :D Sorry folks, I wasn't online the past couple days. Apparently we had a late winter storm hit around my area, leaving me w/o power for a few days. :( Oh, and I'm no selvish guy. Not anywheres close to it. Seriously. ;) I'm not sure what I even said, that ya guys took in the wrong way? But anyway, I'll try to post my modifications, that has this starting new threads, in a private mod forum. Give me a few, and I'll have it posted as soon as I get around it. :)

thanks,
Metro.

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 17:10
ok, so you guys want this mod application (by: Logik), to start a "new thread" in a forum of your choice, after a user has submited the application, correct? Here it tis. :)

In mod.php

FIND:

$subject = "$bbuserinfo[username] applying for mod/admin";


ADD BELOW THAT:

$modforum="110"; // type in your forum id number here
$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO thread (threadid,title,lastpost,forumid,open,replycount,postusername,postuserid,lastpos ter,dateline,iconid,visible,attach) VALUES (NULL,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($subject))."','".time()."','$modforum','1','0','".addslashes($bbuserinfo[username])."','$bbuserinfo[userid]','".addslashes($bbuserinfo[username])."','".time()."','$iconid','1','0')");
$threadid=$DB_site->insert_id();
$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO post (postid,threadid,title,username,userid,dateline,pagetext,allowsmilie,showsignatu re,ipaddress,iconid,visible) VALUES (NULL,'$threadid','Post Alert - $postinfo[username]','$bbuserinfo[username]','$bbuserinfo[userid]','".time()."','".addslashes(parseurl($email))."','$allowsmilie','$signature','$ipaddress','$iconid','1')");
$DB_site->query("UPDATE forum SET replycount=replycount+1,lastpost='".time()."',lastposter='$bbuserinfo[username]' WHERE forumid='$modforum'");


Now, just make ( $modforum ="110" ; ) the forum id number of your choice, and your done! I have forum id 110 as one of my private forums to use. :) Anyway, let me know if you have any problems with, and how that comes out. All the credit must be handed out to Logik though, I was not the one that created this hack, so please do not thank me, but him. ! :) Thanks Logik!!! ;)

cheers,
-Metro.

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 18:12
BTW, almost forgot. There is also a quick fix, on to size of the "text box", (where your users would type in why they would like to become a mod), via templates. I have inserted a screenshot to show you what I mean.

Anyway, to accomplish this...

In your "mod" template-

FIND:


<textarea name="message"></textarea>


REPLACE THAT WITH:

<textarea rows="17" cols="87" name="message"></textarea>


Or, if you want to use a custom size, just simply play around with the ROWS and COLS #'s, to get the size your looking for. :)

thanks,
Metro.

Funkie
09 Apr 2003, 18:32
getting a prase error on the first line:(

$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO thread (threadid,title,lastpost,forumid,open,replycount,postusername,postuserid,lastpos

will have a fiddle about with ,thanx for the info

laycomp
09 Apr 2003, 18:46
Had he given the files to Logik as he requested perhaps things could get off to a good start, but doesn't want to do that. I stand as I stated earlier.

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 18:47
Funkie, try sending me your mod.php file, and I'll have a look at it. :)

Funkie
09 Apr 2003, 18:53
will attach it here for you fella
This is the basic mod.php file.I have removed the extra code:)

Thanx for the help

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 18:55
Today at 02:46 PM laycomp said this in Post #44 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=379771#post379771)
Had he given the files to Logik as he requested perhaps things could get off to a good start, but doesn't want to do that. I stand as I stated earlier.

I agree, I totally take the blame on my part. I should have (like you said) given the file to Logik first, but rather took the wrong approach. But, I'll be honest.. I'm a little new to this hacking stuff. (not the forum), but modifying and stuff like that. Heck, I'm still working on releasing my first ever hack here, which I'm still in the process of working on. :D But, I'm not that kind of person to not give credit, where its due. Seriously. I dunno what other way to tell ya, but my deepest apologies to Logik, and his awesome hack. Wish I could go back and undo what I said 2 days ago. :(

thanks,
Metro.

MetroSports82
09 Apr 2003, 19:12
Funkie, ok try this one.

Now, all you'll need to do is to change the $modforum number to the forum of your choice.


$modforum="103";


To do that. Simply change the number '103', in this file, to the forum id number you want to use. Let me know how this comes out for ya. Its working for me, on 2.2.9. and should really work for any version before and after this one. :)

thanks,
Metro.

Funkie
09 Apr 2003, 19:20
Sorted fella:)
Many thanx.posts into the right forum just the 1 time now:)

Is there any way this can be modded to work outside of the forums folder.ie root so it can be used then for outsiders to apply to become a member.

Just a thought please dont flame me.lol

Big ups to you all for your work on all the mods/hacks

Thanx

Logik
10 Apr 2003, 00:08
Be more spacific. I havnt made a hack in ages. I might can do this for you.

Logik
10 Apr 2003, 00:08
if you used it, click install :)

Funkie
10 Apr 2003, 04:59
I will click install when its added to my live board:)Still testing it right now.


Be more spacific. I havnt made a hack in ages. I might can do this for you



Instructions:
====================
1). Upload mod.php to your forums root.
*************************************************

It works fine if the mod.php is in the forum folder.

How can you get it to work say from your homepage,if your homepage is in a diff folder than your forums folder.

Logik
11 Apr 2003, 00:03
Be more spacific before i post what to do.

Logik
11 Apr 2003, 00:10
If i understand you right. Just edit your templates, and find, /forums/, and make that the path of the mod.php. Then in the link, config it too. Like this

<a href="/dir/mod.php?action=apply">Want to be a mod or an admin?</a>

Funkie
11 Apr 2003, 05:34
Fatal error: Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='') in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/forums/mod.php on line 9

thats what i get if i try to open the mod.php in another folder from the main forum folder

I tryed to change the path to the global.php in the mod.php file but then all i get is a blank page:(:(

Sorry for all the hassle guys,but its a wicked hack,and i would luv to get it working from outside the forums folder say in my domains root.

IE=http://www.yoursite.com/mod.php

and not http://www.yoursite.com/forum/mod.php

N9ne
11 Apr 2003, 10:08
Logik, i don't think that users should be able to enter their username and password. This could easily be abused! What would be better, is using a hidden form field with $bbuserinfo['username'], $bbuserinfo['userid'], $bbuserinfo['email']

So these can't be changed, and there's no way of it being abused :).

Great work on the hack, thanks.

Logik
11 Apr 2003, 21:49
Ok. @frankie. Thats because it requirs global.php. To use the header and all. Explain, why do you want this hack in another location?

Logik
11 Apr 2003, 21:50
@n9ne, good idea. I didnt even think of that. But too many people have already downloaded it. If you wouldnt mind, if you did this, post your mod.php. :) thanks.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 01:35
The board i was thinking about using it on,is a private closed board.I was going to use the hack on the main website for peeps to fill out then apply to join the board.
As it would then post all the details in a forum,for the other members to vote on,and alert the admins of the new post.

Yes i know about the reg page in vb,and adding the users in moderation and all,but like the idea of the posting into the forum.

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 04:59
Hmm. Anyone wanna help me here. Im not to sure on how to do this. Because it requires global.php..

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 07:09
@Logik,
Thanx for the time in replying fella.
Its a nice lill hack,many thanx

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 07:15
Ok. Anything else. I will help you with it.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 10:23
Ho BTW,
/me clicked install

N9ne
12 Apr 2003, 11:46
If you want it posted into a forum, simply add a query to the submit part of the form, where it inserts into the thread and post tables, and you can set the forumid when entering into the thread table, as there's a forumid field I believe. I don't have time to go into detail, but that's the basic outline and should give you a good enough idea.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 12:35
If you want it posted into a forum, simply add a query to the submit part of the form, where it inserts into the thread and post tables, and you can set the forumid when entering into the thread table, as there's a forumid field I believe. I don't have time to go into detail, but that's the basic outline and should give you a good enough idea



Ummmmmmm it does that,but my problem is using this mod from outside the forums root folder in a diff folder,on the same server.

I need to know how to call the global.php from outside the forum.

thanx for the input anyway.

N9ne
12 Apr 2003, 13:22
require('forums/global.php'); I believe.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 13:49
Fatal error: Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='') in /home/xxxx/public_html/mod.php on line 9

N9ne
12 Apr 2003, 13:50
It says failed opening ./global.php ? it should have the directory of your forums before it.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 14:12
ehhe,yup changed the wrong file.
ok done that now all i get is a blank white page no errors??????????

N9ne
12 Apr 2003, 14:33
I'm not really sure what's wrong, all I know is that require call is what's used in vB to use global.php so I figured it could be used out of vB. Are you sure you've connected to the database and everything?

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 14:42
The hack works fine when the mod.php is in the same folder as the vb files,but when i tyr to use it outside of the vb folder,all i get is a blank page now.

Ho well will uninstall it now,many thanx for all your help,and to logik for the hack.

Better luck next time

:)

N9ne
12 Apr 2003, 14:48
If it's template driven, it might give a blank page...

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 15:05
ok next question then how do i pull the templates into it?????or can i not,

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 20:55
Explain what you mean.. I dont understand. Sorry.

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 20:56
Blank page.. Hmm. I have no idea why its doing that.. Make sure your connected to the DB and all that.

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 20:59
Make sure the require code is after <?. And it SHOULD work.

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 21:59
<?php
// Apply to be mod/admin by Logik.
if (!isset($action) or $action=="") {
$action="apply";
}
$version = "1";
// ############################### start apply ###############################
if ($action=="apply") {
require("./global.php");
$templatesused='mod';
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("mod")."\");");
}
?>
<?php
// ############################### start send request ###############################
if ($action=="send") {
require("./global.php");

$templatesused = 'mod_thanks';
if($message==""){
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("moderror_nomessage")."\");");
}elseif ($name==""){
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("moderror_noname")."\");");
}elseif ($position==""){
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("moderror_noposition")."\");");
}else{
$email = "$bbtitle Application\n\nSender Username:\t$name\nSender E- Mail:\t$thereemail\nMessage:\t$message\nSender Site:\t$site\nPosition:\t$position\nIP:\t$REMOTE_ADDR\n\n";
$to = "$webmasteremail";
$subject = "$bbuserinfo[username] applying for mod/admin";
$mailheaders = "From: $thereemail <> \n";
$mailheaders .= "Reply-To: $thereemail\n\n";
mail($to, $subject, $email, $mailheaders);
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("mod_thanks")."\");");
}
}
?>

Logik
12 Apr 2003, 22:38
I see the problem.. Ok. The mod.php isnt in the forums folder. ITs outside of it. So therefor you have to do, require('forums/global.php');

Funkie
12 Apr 2003, 23:01
I tryed:
require('forums/global.php'); and i get the cant open global again,,,,,so i changed it back to require('welcome/global.php');
and the error goes,but all i get is the blank page:(

Iam not gonna take up anymore of your time guy's this fine hack was not made to do what i would like.

thanx for all your time spend .

Logik
13 Apr 2003, 03:50
Are you sure that your forums dir is Forums?

Funkie
13 Apr 2003, 07:44
As i said,i have got rid of the error message now,iam just left with a blank page,so i got the right path to global.php now.

Dont worry fella,i have now removed the hack.

Many thanx for your time,and i was a wicked looking hack aswell.

Logik
14 Apr 2003, 01:47
Well. Its very possible to program you a little thing on the side. For your main site. If you wanna AIM Me. Aim. is Bacheloring. Just let me know.

Logik
14 Apr 2003, 02:46
I am currently workin on a Update.. It will include the fourm postin and all. And more. Be lookin for it.

Logik
14 Apr 2003, 03:39
Who has suggestions that would make this hack betteR?

Logik
15 Apr 2003, 03:03
No one has any suggestions?

tinbin
15 Apr 2003, 11:11
MetroSports82: Thx for the addon :)
It works like a charm too :)

Cheers!!

tinbin
15 Apr 2003, 12:01
Today at 03:57 AM Logik said this in Post #85 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?postid=382324#post382324)
No one has any suggestions?

It would be nice to have an automised script who sends a mail back to the applier whether he was found good enough or not.

But i think in practice, that would be kinda difficult...

Funkie
15 Apr 2003, 13:26
@ Logik Check your pm please fella,

Logik
15 Apr 2003, 22:03
I have no PMs. Maybe you mean Mail?

Logik
15 Apr 2003, 22:08
I have jotted down your request for this hack, tinbin. Everyone just put in what ya want to see on this hack. And i will try and get around to it.

PurpleCow
16 Apr 2003, 11:54
Hello,

I have a minor problem with this hack. When i actually installed it, i never did see this warning, but now after installing a couple of more hacks, i notice this warning.

when i load the page modapp.php, i get this error :

Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at /path/to/the/file/modapp.php/onserver:22) in /path/to/the/file/admin/functions.php on line 1675

while the rest of the page modapp.php loads perfectly fine !

and the code i have on line 1675 on my functions.php file is this :

setcookie($name, $value, $expire, $cookiepath, $cookiedomain, $secure);

Kindly help me resolve this !

thank you very much

Funkie
16 Apr 2003, 15:26
modapp.php ????????

I take it you renamed the mod.php file,as there is no modapp.php in this hack

Logik
16 Apr 2003, 22:50
Uhm.. That is not in my code. Sorry

Logik
18 Apr 2003, 02:32
Funk Asked For This

Funk requested that i make this.

@funk. I believe this is what you wanted. You have to go to your Forum Admin Control Panel. And click 'Modify' under 'User Groups'. Then click 'Edit' after 'Unregistered / Not Logged In'.. Then in there make sure you allow them to:

Can post new threads

Can reply to own threads

Can reply to other's threads

Can Rate threads if thread rating is enabled in the forum?

Can post attachments
..

Heres the PHP file. Just put this in your sites main dir.. and there you go.. At the top, you will see this:
<input type="hidden" name="threadid" value="1"> change that to the Threadid of the thread you want it to post in Any questions email me at: Johnny@enactive.net or AIM me at Bacheloring ...

You're Welcome..

PurpleCow
18 Apr 2003, 08:44
Logik :

I am now not getting that warning message now, don't know, how or why is disappeared and in the first place, why i got that warning. could be b'cos of my browser issue or my host issue, which i am not sure either.

Thanks much.

Logik
18 Apr 2003, 09:09
Are you sure thats my hack? I dont have that part of code in my coding.

Funkie
18 Apr 2003, 09:10
nice work fella,that almost it,:)

I needed it to post a new thread in say forum id 33 every time the form is submited,not a reply to a thread id.

Also this 1 will take you to the main thread after you hit submit.I need it to just return you to the app.php,not the thread.

Thanx man

Logik
18 Apr 2003, 21:39
Damn. To do that i would have to require global.php. And when i do that it errors for some odd reason.. Maybe someone can give me a hand on this one??

indiamike
18 Jun 2003, 11:46
Silly people.

I installed this hack awhile ago and it worked great. I still have it installed but with a note at the top that I am no longer accepting anymore applications. It is also buried in my site and can only be found by using a search in Google.

Almost every week though, I get some bozo finding it in Google and applying to be an admin. Things like "I am interesting in keeping the internet clean" or "I would like to run a website" are always reasons entered.

I find it amusing that people I have never met or have never been on my site before sign up through a form that clearly states "no more applications" with the hope that I am going to turn over my site to some complete stranger.

:laugh:

Mike

Logik
26 Jun 2003, 09:43
So is that good or bad?

Alien
27 Jun 2003, 22:13
Very nice work, installed flawlessly and working in 2.3.0!

Thanks a bunch! :D

Logik
08 Jul 2003, 13:35
Thanks.

trekwarfare
23 Oct 2003, 14:33
I've looked thru the thread here and unless I've missed it, I don't think anyone else has thought of this. I can see this as being a useful hack, but at the same time is a door for someone to abuse it. Is there anyway to restrict guests or unregistered users from filling out the form?

Thanks!

trekwarfare
23 Oct 2003, 22:29
I've looked thru the thread here and unless I've missed it, I don't think anyone else has thought of this. I can see this as being a useful hack, but at the same time is a door for someone to abuse it. Is there anyway to restrict guests or unregistered users from filling out the form?

Thanks!
Never mind, I was able to modify another hack to make this one work so it only shows up to selected usergroups.

Thanks for the hack!!!

Logik
26 Oct 2003, 03:21
Well u can just add the "if username=1" or whatever. Simple php