PDA

View Full Version : Message Icons for Only Admins or Mods


amykhar
07 Feb 2003, 22:37
This little hack will allow you to reserve a posting icon for only admins or mods to use. For example, I reserve a tiny flame for admins and mods to mark borderline threads.


It's a 5 second hack, but quite useful.

A screenshot won't do much good for this one. Neither will an example.

amykhar
07 Feb 2003, 22:42
If the mood strikes, I might create a control panel interface to set the icons to modonly. However, as I only have 1 icon reserved I have no real need for this interface.

Derek
07 Feb 2003, 23:32
How about a screenshot? Do you mean with the icons that users have when posting new threads?

amykhar
07 Feb 2003, 23:55
Not sure a screenshot will help much, but here ya go.

Yes, these are the posting or message icons. Not smilies.

empreur76
08 Feb 2003, 11:44
hello

but where i change modonly to 1 !??

thx

Roody
08 Feb 2003, 13:42
So let me see if I understand you correctly. This hack basically gives us icons that we can use as Admin/Mods that wouldnt be available to anyone else?

Chris M
08 Feb 2003, 14:54
@Roody - Yes - I believe that is so:)

Satan

Roody
08 Feb 2003, 15:23
Thanks Hellsatan, just wanted to be sure. :)

amykhar
08 Feb 2003, 16:00
Originally posted by empreur76
hello

but where i change modonly to 1 !??

thx

The easiest way is to use phpMyadmin. The query would be UPDATE icon set modonly=1 where iconid=x;

x, of course is the icon that you want to reserve for admins and mods.

Amy

empreur76
08 Feb 2003, 16:30
scuse me but i don't understand !

i put this via phpmyadmin:
ALTER TABLE `vbulletin`.`icon` ADD `modonly` TINYINT NOT NULL

make the change in function.php !
but after when i'm going in my control panel ( modify icon ) i don't see modonly !?
help
thx

amykhar
08 Feb 2003, 16:48
It's not in the control panel. You have to do it via phpmyadmin.

Chris M
08 Feb 2003, 19:37
@amykhar - You might want to change the query to run to:

ALTER TABLE `icon` ADD `modonly` TINYINT NOT NULL

;)

You may also consider creating some Control Panel "radio checkbox" option to make it easier to change:)

Satan

amykhar
08 Feb 2003, 19:41
OOPS. Thanks for the catch on the query :D I wasn't paying attention when I copied and pasted.

With regards to the control panel, I mentioned above that I might do it in the future. However, it's a trivial thing for me to update it in phpmyadmin and it's not a setting I change often at all.

Amy

Chris M
08 Feb 2003, 20:02
I suppose:)

Its just a nice little addon:p

Satan

empreur76
08 Feb 2003, 20:12
ok i make the query but after how i change the icon !
after it's the same for me ( admin or user) i see the same icon

do i have to rename a icon in modonly !?

i really don't understand !!
very thanx for your help