PDA

View Full Version : Mass User-import for vB 2.x


Bernd Glasstett
17 Mar 2004, 08:35
Mass User-import for vB 2.x
This script takes a csv-file and imports the users in this csv-file into your database. This has been solely tested with vB 2.x and doesn't work with vB 3.x!

There are two files in this package:
userimport.php
userimport_mails.php

The first does an import with usernames and passwords only. All imported users will get one mail-address that you define in the config-part of the script.
The second one let's you make an import with mailaddresses defined for each user.

The csv-files are basically textfiles with a different ending. One user always gets one line in these files. The values are seperated by semicolons (;). For example:
PASSWD;USER - for the first script
PASSWD;USER;E-MAIL - for the second script

There is a config-part in the scripts, in which you need to set the values for the database:




servername
databasename
databaseuser
userpassword
Enjoy. And if you have any questions, please mail me or answer in the support-thread on vbulletin.org.

Credits go to Wolfgang Wahl aka QBorg, who originally wrote this script and gave me a kind permission to post it.

New in version 1.1: Bug fixed in order to add custom fields as well.

VeoMorphine
19 Mar 2004, 14:21
anyway you can convert this to VB3? Vb2 allready have a whole forum importer for vb2.

Bernd Glasstett
19 Mar 2004, 14:43
This is no forum-importer. This is just a user-importer. But I will see, if I have some spare-time to make it vB 3-compatible :)

glo
05 Apr 2004, 14:51
Hello Bernd,

Thanks for releasing this mass user import!


Do i just place the "userimport_mails.php" file in the forum directory or the admin directory?

Thanks

Bernd Glasstett
05 Apr 2004, 15:50
You can place it whereever you want - it's just important that you enter the database-data in the top-part of the file :)

glo
09 Apr 2004, 12:04
Hi Bernd,

In the userimport_emails.php file it says
" In the first column write the password, in the second one, write the username, the third one contains the mail-address.<br>
The columns are separated by semicolons (;)."

But shouldnt it be "The columns are separated by comma's(,)."?

And also
"Import Users from line <input type="text" name="start" size="4" maxlength="6"> to line <input type="text" name="stop" size="4" maxlength="6"><br><br>"

Are these variables that I manually change as I am using email addresses as usernames initially ?? I will allow them to change their username once they sign in for the first time.

Thanks

glo
09 Apr 2004, 16:09
What is the english translation for
" Import abgeschlossen. Es wurden $totalnewusers neue Benutzer in die Datenbank importiert."

Thanks

glo
09 Apr 2004, 16:37
Hi Bernd,

I have installed this, and all 4123 users have been imported and show on my total member numbers, but when i click the memberlist, it doesnt display any of the members that i just loaded?

Plus none of the uploaded members can sign in?

I look forward to your assistance!

glo
10 Apr 2004, 09:57
I have since had a look at the Mysql database and can see that the usernames and email addresses were not correctly installed.

The username and email address is showing up blank!

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Xenon
11 Apr 2004, 16:03
Hallo Bernd,

ich hab den thread mal in die Beta releases verschoben, da es doch noch einige probleme gibt wie man sieht.

fals ich dir ne kleine Hilfe geben darf: es reicht nicht neue user nur in die user tabelle einzufügen, sonder du musst sie auch in die userfield tabelle reinhaun, sonst gibts probleme :)

glo
08 Jul 2004, 23:10
Hi Bernd,

Can you please assist with my problem?

Thanks

Bernd Glasstett
09 Jul 2004, 10:36
Sorry, for not getting back on you - but 3 months ago our little son was born and since then our live has changed quite a bit ;)

In the userimport_emails.php file it says
" In the first column write the password, in the second one, write the username, the third one contains the mail-address.<br>
The columns are separated by semicolons (;)."

But shouldnt it be "The columns are separated by comma's(,)."?

No ; is right.

"Import Users from line <input type="text" name="start" size="4" maxlength="6"> to line <input type="text" name="stop" size="4" maxlength="6"><br><br>"

Are these variables that I manually change as I am using email addresses as usernames initially ?? I will allow them to change their username once they sign in for the first time.
Your have lines of users in your table. It just means the lines in your CSV-table. Afaik it is not possible to let users change their usernames in vB - and I wouldn't recommend to use their mailadresses as usernames - just because of the addressgrabbers of the spammers out there.

What is the english translation for
" Import abgeschlossen. Es wurden $totalnewusers neue Benutzer in die Datenbank importiert."
"Import succeeded. There were $totalnewusers new users imported." Translated it now in the new version.

I have since had a look at the Mysql database and can see that the usernames and email addresses were not correctly installed. The username and email address is showing up blank!
I can only assume, that you didn't use semicolons (;) as seperators, as the script looks for them. This is the part of the code, which makes the seperation:

list($passwd, $user) = split(";", trim($datei[$i]));

so you really need to use ; as seperators.


als ich dir ne kleine Hilfe geben darf: es reicht nicht neue user nur in die user tabelle einzufügen, sonder du musst sie auch in die userfield tabelle reinhaun, sonst gibts probleme

Thanks for moving the thread and for the help. I updated the script now to reflect this. And it should work. However I am not sure what happens, if custom userfields are added before the import.

Gio~Logist
20 Nov 2004, 14:49
does this transfer the user's posts and stuff as well? i mean, like all of the users info or w/e?


and say that you have 2 names on both sites that are the same, will it have an effect in the process?

Bernd Glasstett
20 Nov 2004, 17:00
No, this simply adds the users!

Gio~Logist
20 Nov 2004, 17:57
would it mess it up if u have 2 users the same?