PDA

View Full Version : Blank Window, no errors


ximcix
15 Mar 2005, 11:25
I downloaded the vBChat 2.3 and followed the instructions carefully & when I click the link, all I get is a big blank window. No warnings. No error messages. Just a big blank window.

I followed the simple instructions in "vBChat 2.3 Installation (FRESH).txt" step by step. I've been reinstalling for about 3 hrs now & with every attempt I get the same result.

Please Help.

oldengine
15 Mar 2005, 11:53
vBChat only loads templates into your main skin style. If you have other styles, you'll need to copy the templates.

ximcix
16 Mar 2005, 04:21
I am using only one template

pforp
16 Mar 2005, 17:32
i'm having the exact same problem...

vBChat only loads templates into your main skin style. If you have other styles, you'll need to copy the templates.

just to update, i used the fix listed in the FAQ thread and it now works, but only in one of my skins...so, in effect, people would have to first switch over to that one skin in order to use the chat. :ermm:

ximcix
17 Mar 2005, 13:58
i'm having the exact same problem...



just to update, i used the fix listed in the FAQ thread and it now works, but only in one of my skins...so, in effect, people would have to first switch over to that one skin in order to use the chat. :ermm:
My Update:

I messed around with the templates a bit & now it works in FireFox, but in IE it takes forever to load then I get "The page cannot be displayed."

Jason McConnell
09 Apr 2005, 21:02
I'm having the same problem, but with a bit of a twist:

vBChat loads up fine in Firefox, Netscape and IE, but as long as the user is using the default style. The Defualt Style *is* a child style, and not the default style that came with vBulletin. I read about the templates needing to be the same, so I copied the template from the style that works to all the other styles, and still get the same result.

Changing the default style from one to another in the AdminCP doesn't change anything either. I still get a blank page from the new default style, but a fully working chat page from the old default style.

Anyone have any idea's?

nnjj.net
15 Apr 2005, 19:15
have tha same problem, and not fixed yet, hope there will be update ASAP

ivebeenhigh
18 Apr 2005, 16:58
My Update:

I messed around with the templates a bit & now it works in FireFox, but in IE it takes forever to load then I get "The page cannot be displayed."

what did you do i your messing around - i too only am using the default skin adn still have this problem.

C

Ramanon
30 Apr 2005, 14:39
Hi, I am having this same issue too. Loads for some people and not for others. (white screen or blank screen, whatever you want to call it)

I have installed this on only one style as a test before I allow my entire membership to try it.

It looks promising... I'd really like to make it work.

Trana
03 May 2005, 04:22
I am having the same problem. Anyone figure this out?

Trana
06 May 2005, 03:54
Is there any support for this? It seems that a lot of people are having the same problem. If not, what other chat script so people recommend?

RichieBoy67
06 May 2005, 04:12
Works perfectly for me....

dsboyce8624
06 May 2005, 16:36
Is there any support for this? It seems that a lot of people are having the same problem. If not, what other chat script so people recommend?


I added FlashChat until I get this working. I like FlashChat and it inegrates, but I like the vB look of vBChat.

Maybe he'll get around to looking into this widespread problem soon.

dsboyce8624
10 May 2005, 22:01
Find fix here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=651813&postcount=1