PDA

View Full Version : Hack worked great until I switched to LEGACY


SeanThomps
14 Jun 2005, 01:08
Hello,

Before I did not use postbit_legacy, and did not do the file edits for that templette. I switched now, and figured I could just do the two templette changes that were requested.

I did that, and I see no additions when viewing the actual threads on my page..

What is going on? What additional things do I have to do, etc...

Thanks!

Marco van Herwaarden
14 Jun 2005, 05:50
There should be no addititional changes except the template changes to postbit_legacy for your style.

sv1cec
14 Jun 2005, 17:12
Right, if you did the changes as suggested, there shouldn't be any additional things. Everything should work OK.

Rgds

SeanThomps
14 Jun 2005, 18:25
hmm..but this is not the case. The warning system still displays fine if I show the regular postbit, but even with the templette additions to postbit_legacy the changes do not show...

my site is http://www.volconvo.com

sv1cec
14 Jun 2005, 19:02
Check the changes you made in postbit_legacy. If the AWS things do not show there, you haven't made the changes correctly.

SeanThomps
15 Jun 2005, 02:31
guys,

I really love the system you have here, and my type of forum relies on it now-my moderators are crazy mad :)

When I view the source of a topic, such as http://www.volconvo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5393, the warning system appears to be there within the code.

I really need this script running again, but I really like the legacy style and do not see why I should have to change back.

Please help.

sv1cec
15 Jun 2005, 06:06
First of all, the links you give us are useless, since I am not going to register with another site, just to have a look at it. And as a guest, I can't see much of your problem.

Seecond, if you follow the instructions, for changing postbit_legacy, everything should work just fine, as it works in postbit. There should be absolutely no difference in functionality, just the place the various information/buttons etc are presented, changes.

If you can't figure out your problem, I can help you out, but this is not free.

Rgds

SeanThomps
15 Jun 2005, 21:36
Sv1, you are wrong.

I have it installed correctly. It works fine if I do not have postbit_legacy enabled.

sv1cec
15 Jun 2005, 22:00
First of all, remove the template code from your post above, if you do not want to hear from the moderators, it's against your license agreement to make vB code public.

Second, I tend to agree with you. I am wrong. What do I know? You know better than me, obviously. The only thing I do not understand is, why your template does not work. Maybe because you know better than me? Maybe because you haven't done the edits as I describe them? Who knows.

But since I do not know and you do, I am sure you will figure it out.

SeanThomps
16 Jun 2005, 00:35
Wow,

How rude. All I said is that you were wrong. I did the hacks correctly. It works in the regular postbit templette, and I never bothered making the changes to legacy until now, and that is what is not working-despite it being in the source if you view any topic on my site (you do not have to register so I do not know what you are ranting about).

Sorry you take criticism of your condescending tone so seriously. I will find help with this hack from someone who can actually help. I am more than willing to pay people with actual people skills.

I just find it weird that I can disable postbit_legacy and the hack works fine.

Oh and you are so arrogant in this thread that I can tell that you have not even pondered the possibility that there could be a bug or it could simply be a function of the hack that does not allow you to add the templette additions at a later time without doing the other install instructions with it.

sv1cec
16 Jun 2005, 06:02
Sv1, you are wrong.

Who is rude, is open to all readers. I've answered your question, and so has MarcoH64. We both told you that if the hack works with postbit template, then there are no more changes to make, than those in the postbit_legacy template itself. Of course the hack will work fine with changes made only in the postbit template, if that template is all you are using. But it will not work properly in postbit_legacy, if you do not make the proper changes in the postbit_legacy template.

Before answering your previous post, I took the time to check your postbit_legacy template. And believe me, it is not edited properly.


Sorry you take criticism of your condescending tone so seriously.

There is one flaw in your statement above. You didn't offer any criticism. You just plainly told me I am wrong, without even telling me why I am wrong. So where is your criticism?

On the other hand, your edited template had not the edits I say you should do to it, so it's impossible for it to work as expected. I do not mind criticism my friend, I welcome criticism, because I am not Mr. Know-it-All. What I hate is to spend my time with people who think they know what the problem is, better than the person who wrote this hack.

I tried to explain to you that you need to check your legacy template changes. In three posts, above, I am telling you to check your legacy template. You didn't bother doing it, instead you told me I was wrong. Well, it's fine with me.

So stop calling me names (You are wrong, you are rude) and go check your template code my friend, you may get this hack working for your site, if you listen, for once.

kmike
16 Jun 2005, 09:48
We're using postbit_legacy with AWS and have no issues with it.

sv1cec
16 Jun 2005, 15:15
We're using postbit_legacy with AWS and have no issues with it.

Thank you.

SeanThomps
17 Jun 2005, 03:57
You are not listening to me and you are getting all offended by comments I have made that are being taken out of context. I am glad that users are able to use postbit_legacy. I would not doubt that (I have said the hack has worked great in the past in my title). My point was that I did not make the changes to postbit_legacy until after I had been using the hack for quite some time (in regular postbit-mode), and I was just curious why it was not working properly when I switched to legacy. I thought I might have to re-run the install script or something. I asked an honest question and was angered by your comment that basically told me to buy any support for $$$$. Why have a support forum if you are going to tell me that I installed it incorrectly and will have to buy any advice? I provided proof that I own a vbulletin to download the hack, and I simply want advice from my peers here.

Even now you tell me that by viewing my source you know something is wrong yet you dangle any advice over my head. Why have a support forum? Just make the forum a link to paypal or something if it is going to be like that.

sv1cec
17 Jun 2005, 06:58
You are not listening to me and you are getting all offended by comments I have made that are being taken out of context.

No Sir, I am not, it is you who do not want to understand some simple facts:

A) If the proper changes are made in the postbit_legacy template, AWS will work fine with that too.

I would not doubt that (I have said the hack has worked great in the past in my title). My point was that I did not make the changes to postbit_legacy until after I had been using the hack for quite some time (in regular postbit-mode), and I was just curious why it was not working properly when I switched to legacy.

B) It does not matter when you make the changes in that template, you can make them at the installation time or afterwards. The time has no effect and there is nothing else you should do, to have AWS working in the legacy template, than the changes in that template.Two people told you so. Also kmike verified to you that AWS instructions for the postbit_legacy template are correct, and it works fine, if the proper changes are made.

I asked an honest question and was angered by your comment that basically told me to buy any support for $$$$. Why have a support forum if you are going to tell me that I installed it incorrectly and will have to buy any advice? I provided proof that I own a vbulletin to download the hack, and I simply want advice from my peers here.

C) You asked in your first post your question, and two people gave you an answer.
You came back telling us again, that AWS works in postbit, but not in legacy. I answered your post again, telling you to check your code changes in postbit_legacy.
You came back again, saying that you need to have AWS running. It was then, that I suggested that if you can't figure out what your problem is, I could spend my personal time to have it fixed for you.
And then you start telling me that I am wrong. And how rude I am, and that if I wanted money, I should put a paypal link or whatever.

Even now you tell me that by viewing my source you know something is wrong yet you dangle any advice over my head.

So, what do you want me to do? Do the edits for you? Or provide you with instructions on what you haven't done? Read the instructions Sir, and do what they say. They are correct and they work.

Why have a support forum? Just make the forum a link to paypal or something if it is going to be like that.

Why AWS has a support forum? Well, check it out. In this forum only, there are over 200 threads with problems, which got answered within a day from being posted. And in AWS thread, there were over 1600 posts with questions and answers to problems, questions which got answered as fast as possible. And from the 250 people who have installed this hack, you are the only one, so far, who is not satisfy with the support I am giving you. Maybe, if you have paid for the hack, you would be more satisfied.

I am off this thread. I refuse to participate in this senseless discussion anymore. If you have a problem with the way I provide support, take it up to the moderators of this site. Enough is enough!

SeanThomps
17 Jun 2005, 08:30
No, the reason I am so frustrated is because I am 100% sure that it is something other than the postbit_legacy edits. I did them at least 3 times and your instructions for that part are so easy-it is not that.

That is why this is really annoying.

**edit: it is weird, ever since I switched back to legacy I cannot use it even in regular postbit mode. I just switched back to see and the edits no longer display...

sv1cec
17 Jun 2005, 14:27
One thing I can tell you for sure. The template you had posted DID NOT include all the modifications required for the legacy template.

One more thing: Are you using more than one style? If you are, you need to make the modifications in every style templates.

SeanThomps
17 Jun 2005, 16:08
hmm..I skimmed the instructions for the term legacy. Are there more than two edits?

And yea, I have one style.

Thanks for trying...sorry about before.

sv1cec
17 Jun 2005, 21:13
Read the instructions and apply them. It will work.