PDA

View Full Version : Made a big mistake...help?


Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 06:37
I made a pretty big mistake and didn't backup my templates before installing a darn hootin template mod that was stupid and didn't even work. :(
Anyway, can I get the standard vB templates for:
1. Forumhome
2. Forumhome_loggedinusers
3. Forumhome_pmloggedin
from anyone? I promise not to make such a stupid mistake again. *remembers to back everything up before applying changes*

Tony G
23 Aug 2002, 06:39
Click "remove" and they revert to the original template.

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 06:46
I'll whoop yo butt if they don't. But I will trust you. Seems like remove would remove the template all together....should say Revert to Original or something...

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 06:48
Well, the templates are gone....so, it looks like I suck.

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 06:51
Well, I hate relying on anyone else, especially right now. So, I guess I will save the ones I know I edited, and go and reinstall my board. But not right now. Thanks for trying to help.

Tony G
23 Aug 2002, 06:54
o_O Wha? They shouldn't remove. Does your forumhome etc. still load right?

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 06:56
It loads but without the logged in who's online and pm section.

I guess I should have mentioned it was global templates I was editing.
I am still pretty new...so I still have no clue what the difference between global and default are. Oh well. Live and learn.

Tony G
23 Aug 2002, 06:58
I'm sorry, It revents on my vB. Dunno why not on yours. :(

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 07:01
For global templates?

Tony G
23 Aug 2002, 07:02
Hmm was it the default templates you were editing or another set?

Bad Bunny
23 Aug 2002, 07:07
It was the global.
I had no idea NOT to edit these...
I just read that these are THE ones that rule all others or something. If I change something there, it will become the "original" for any other. So by deleting templates in it, I essentially took them out altogether it looks like.

I never noticed global before... :(

imported_Fr33
23 Aug 2002, 07:39
upload another style sheet to another "name"

then copy the deleted ones across?

Tony G
23 Aug 2002, 08:34
Originally posted by Bad Bunny
It was the global.
I had no idea NOT to edit these...
I just read that these are THE ones that rule all others or something. If I change something there, it will become the "original" for any other. So by deleting templates in it, I essentially took them out altogether it looks like.

I never noticed global before... :(

Hmm, it was probably different for those...

Bad Bunny
24 Aug 2002, 04:54
I found out Global templates are what control the templates when you set them to default. They only appear when you turn debug on, which a vB staff member suggested I do since I wanted to know how many queries I had running....

Tony G
24 Aug 2002, 09:34
Queries are usually increased by hacks. So if they raise just check the latest hacks you have installed.

Bad Bunny
24 Aug 2002, 16:39
Right...but the problem is...I didn't know how many queries I had to BEGIN with. :)

platoon
25 Aug 2002, 01:02
it shouldnt of removed it completely, i have done that before and it does just revert back...

Tony G
25 Aug 2002, 01:16
Originally posted by Bad Bunny
Right...but the problem is...I didn't know how many queries I had to BEGIN with. :)

I can compare to a default vB. How many are you having when loading your main page?

Bad Bunny
25 Aug 2002, 04:07
It IS a default vB. :-> I have 18 when running the main page.
Platoon, it was the global templates. So yes, it WILL delete them. They are only visible if debug is turned on.

Tony G
25 Aug 2002, 05:14
18 Seems normal to me.

Bad Bunny
25 Aug 2002, 07:44
I can't wait until vb3 comes out...18 is quite alot for a shared hosting account.

Tony G
25 Aug 2002, 09:38
Well if thats alot of that you can't really run the vB. Very rarely does it go under if I'm not mistaken.

Bad Bunny
25 Aug 2002, 18:47
I can run it, and I do run it, but I still think it can be optimized, which apparently the makers of B feel it can be as well, since they are cutting down queries for vb3.

SaintDog
25 Aug 2002, 20:31
There are limitations to hosting your board on a shared hosting account anyway, while it may not have anything do with the queries, it can effect you board depending on the other users on the server. To be honest 18 queries is not much at all, up to 24 it not that much.

Tony G
26 Aug 2002, 05:39
Once I installed a hack it went up to 74 queries. Over 30 I'd say would be a bit of a worry. Over 50 a worry.

Bad Bunny
26 Aug 2002, 06:05
Well, you may feel that it is not very many queries, but Jelsoft is nonetheless decreasing the number of queries for their upcoming software, which leads me to believe I am obiously not the only one who thinks less queries is better.

Tony G
26 Aug 2002, 06:17
Of course it's better. :)

Brad
26 Aug 2002, 08:43
Originally posted by Bad Bunny
Well, you may feel that it is not very many queries, but Jelsoft is nonetheless decreasing the number of queries for their upcoming software, which leads me to believe I am obiously not the only one who thinks less queries is better.

less is better :). it will always be, however you can get up to a certain amount of queries and still be ok, i think i have 28 - 30 on my forum home as of now.

also, you do not need to go into debug mode to see the amount of queries. It was disabled by default in vB 2.2.6 because it left open a big hole that would allow hackers to get in quite easyly.

you can look over at vB.org, they have a hack that will show you the # of queries on anypage in a safe matter.