PDA

View Full Version : [release] Seperate Stickies & Announcements from regular threads


assassingod
29 Oct 2003, 10:03
Seperate Stickies & Announcments from regular threads (Template Mod Style!)

Author: ffdcsite
Description: This seperates stickies and / or announcments from normal threads (Original created for vB2 by me)

Brad
29 Oct 2003, 10:07
You sure are busy tonight. :)

assassingod
29 Oct 2003, 10:09
Yep, expect a few more template mods to come (my portal for example;))

Brad
29 Oct 2003, 10:10
Look forward to it, im doing a portal for vBt but decided to wait on the RC before I let it go.

assassingod
29 Oct 2003, 10:11
Sounds good:D:)

Tony G
29 Oct 2003, 10:25
Nice mod, but isn't there something like this released at vB.com too?

assassingod
29 Oct 2003, 10:40
Haven't seen anything but i'll look:)

imported_HexOnxOnx
29 Oct 2003, 11:21
I saw it during one of the early betas on vb.com but a few months ago I tried looking for it but I couldn't find it.

I was so glad to see you posted it, thanks alot!

Tony G
29 Oct 2003, 11:22
Well, I'm not guessing you copied it or anything, so it's fine. :)

Brad
29 Oct 2003, 11:35
Chen released the one at vB.com incase anyone was wondering.

Reimer
29 Oct 2003, 12:20
NIce job, I was earching for a mod like this :)

assassingod
31 Oct 2003, 19:40
No problem

Grover
07 Nov 2003, 08:59
Hi,

I was wondering if it could be possible to have the option to make it look like this:

http://www.borstenforum.nl/content/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewforum&f=12

They have separate 'categories' for Announcements ('mededeling'), Sticky posts and Threads ('onderwerpen') inside the forums. Maybe that could be even more attractive for visitors?

I like your modification very much: this sort of thing should be standard in VB3. It's a tiny little thing, but with a BIG result. Thanks,

Grover.

assassingod
07 Nov 2003, 15:36
Hi Grover,
That could be done but it may involve hacking. I'll have a go at it but it wont be released here:)

Floris
09 Nov 2003, 23:55
grover,
I went to that url but that is phpbb ! wtf! :D Couldn't pay for the vb license no more? :)

assassingod
10 Nov 2003, 08:06
grover,
I went to that url but that is phpbb ! wtf! :D Couldn't pay for the vb license no more? :)Xiphoid, he was giving that site as an example. He wants my mod to do that;):)

Grover
10 Nov 2003, 10:15
Xiphoid, he was giving that site as an example. He wants my mod to do that;):)

Indeed! .....

peterska2
16 Nov 2003, 22:35
Hi,

I was wondering if it could be possible to have the option to make it look like this:

http://www.borstenforum.nl/content/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewforum&f=12

They have separate 'categories' for Announcements ('mededeling'), Sticky posts and Threads ('onderwerpen') inside the forums. Maybe that could be even more attractive for visitors?

I like your modification very much: this sort of thing should be standard in VB3. It's a tiny little thing, but with a BIG result. Thanks,

Grover.


I have made it to add a line below announcements as well as stickies by using the following (kindly using the code in this thread to do this but just experimented till I found the right place)

In FORUMDISPLAY above <!-- end show announcement row --> add the following

<tr valign="top">
<td class="thead" colspan="10"><img src="$stylevar[imagesfolder]/clear.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
</tr>

This will then (with the template mod in the first post here) look like this

http://www.peterska2.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13

Happy to help

peterska2

TYorke
16 Nov 2003, 23:00
This is a feature very similar to that one included in invision forums. It looks pretty cool except that in invision, you had headers for example: Important Stuff would be added if there were stickies or announcements and then Posts would be the heading underneath the stickies or announcements. Did that make sense?

I have attached an image to see what I mean a little better

peterska2
16 Nov 2003, 23:16
That makes sense but as this is added after the thread not before it, it doesn't appear possible to me. Mind you one of the more experienced hackers may have a look at it for you.

[edit] I knew what you meant as I use IPB as well and it used to be my main software :)

xug
22 Nov 2003, 16:33
grover,
I went to that url but that is phpbb ! wtf! :D Couldn't pay for the vb license no more? :)
The most funiest thing is that the forum is all about boobs :) making them bigger etc.
So what are you guys hanging out there :)

JK

xug
22 Nov 2003, 16:37
Seperate Stickies & Announcments from regular threads (Template Mod Style!)

Author: ffdcsite
Description: This seperates stickies and / or announcments from normal threads (Original created for vB2 by me)

For me this doesn't work where I don't have Stickies.
So could there be something done when you only have announcements the announcements will be seperated from the regular threads.

peterska2
22 Nov 2003, 23:02
If you look at my post above it shows how to do that :)

xug
23 Nov 2003, 03:29
If you look at my post above it shows how to do that :)
Thank you so much and sorry for not paying attention, good job, works smooth.

jancarlo
25 Dec 2003, 15:13
for vB Gamma...

jancarlo

Bobbi
03 Jan 2004, 00:33
Thanks jancarlo, that was *exactly* what I was looking for !

imported_FastAttack
03 Jan 2004, 20:01
works great thanks!

chas_h
27 Jan 2004, 02:37
Anyone know of any reason why this wouldn't work with RC-3? I had it working with RC-2 and ugraded, after re-applying this hack I'm not seeing that seperation between the sticky post anymore.

Chas.

codemonkey
04 Feb 2004, 16:48
for vB Gamma...

jancarlo
Works great!
Thanks a lot!

Ravenheart
22 Feb 2004, 16:01
Anyone know of any reason why this wouldn't work with RC-3? I had it working with RC-2 and ugraded, after re-applying this hack I'm not seeing that seperation between the sticky post anymore.

Chas.

Use the code from the install_gamma.txt.. should work fine with that. :)

Dan
23 Feb 2004, 23:23
nice one man :D I think i might use it :D

milkmycow
12 Mar 2004, 08:17
is there a way to add the last thread/by/etc stuff below the stickies also?

StarBuG
27 Mar 2004, 23:44
It seems that in GOLD something has changed

Can anyone tell me plz how I get this to work with GOLD?

Thx

StarBuG

Wayne Luke
30 Mar 2004, 02:26
The original template modification works just fine in Gold. Only the template modified has changed. You should make the changes in the threadbit template instead of the template listed above.

DanH
07 Apr 2004, 22:46
Can so

DanH
07 Apr 2004, 22:46
Can someone help with this as I can not get this to work with gold there is no

<tr align="center">

In threadbit like Wayne said please help

Dan

rebelsrock06
07 Apr 2004, 22:49
The stickies already have a break in them, its a VB3 basic option

DanH
07 Apr 2004, 22:50
Ummm no they don't well mine doesn't

http://www.chewer.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2&styleid=1

Dan

DanH
07 Apr 2004, 22:52
Well I just done it anyway put the code from the gamma in the template and it works fine.

Thanks anyway

Dan

sabret00the
10 Apr 2004, 21:53
just installed went perfectly :)

Virtex-II
11 Apr 2004, 22:59
I also tried both of them and have to say that the first one in the forumdisplay doesn't work while the second (the gamma one) is ok....I have 3.0.0 Gold.

I guess that all those who have the gold version should try this but maybe the author of the first script can tell us what we are doing wrong :(


Thanks for this great hack :)


All the best
Virtex-II

sabret00the
11 Apr 2004, 23:15
here you go. :)

that's for gold :D

Incendium
13 Apr 2004, 18:15
Must have overlooked this, i was looking for it. :)

*Clicks Install*

imported_Synicide
15 Apr 2004, 00:01
Awesome. :D

*Also clicks install.*

imported_Wayne2k1.com
21 May 2004, 11:18
Nice one :D

*installed*

One request, though... when there are major changes in something (the template name, in this case, from gamma to Gold), maybe it would be useful to write them down editing the 1st post of the thread.

Laaaaazyyyy :D

AFriant
13 Aug 2004, 03:33
does anyone have this for vB2? I tired this on my boards, and it came up with all this weirdness when i put the code in. Im guessing because I have 2.3.5 installed.

rex_b
18 Aug 2004, 20:52
installed 3.0.3

oldfan
26 Sep 2004, 05:37
installed, thanks

Rick Sample
26 Sep 2004, 18:43
nevermind I fixed it :)

JasonGreen
24 Oct 2004, 19:23
it says open forumdisplaybit template...but 3.0.3 doesn't have forumdisplaybit, just forumdisplay.

wordforge.net
25 Oct 2004, 00:19
^ ^
seconded. This mod isn't working for me...

:Judge:
01 Nov 2004, 23:57
3.0.3 works with this for gold http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mods/showpost.php?p=49121&postcount=42

TwinsForMe
24 Nov 2004, 19:45
*clicks Install*

Jacko
08 Dec 2004, 17:11
great, works for me.

Mechanical Mind
12 Dec 2004, 19:34
vB 3.0.3

works for me.

thanks. :)

swantonio
18 Dec 2004, 20:48
Bello Lo Installato Ok 3.0.3 :d

oldfan
06 Jan 2005, 05:38
not working in 3.04 :(

nevermind, I was looking in the wrong template file :(
Works fine :)

Glenn379
25 Feb 2005, 10:40
Nice one! I'm totally going to use this. :)
Thank you! I think I know you from somewhere...
*checks memberlist on VB.org* ...ooh... hey :p

Glenn379
25 Feb 2005, 10:50
it says open forumdisplaybit template...but 3.0.3 doesn't have forumdisplaybit, just forumdisplay. Ditto... I;'d really like to get my hands on this though. but there is no forumdisplaybit template on 3.0.6. Help please AG?

PS: sorry about the double post

mindbuster
10 Mar 2005, 10:06
Bump for a solution to newer vB's :P

lordofgun
13 Apr 2005, 08:06
i think i'll give this a go...

DaPro
22 Apr 2005, 23:15
This was quite easy to figure out to port for 3.0.7, here it goes...

Go into your styles manager and do the following:

In FORUMDISPLAY look for:
=======================

$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->


Add Above:
=======================

<tr valign="top">
<td class="thead" colspan="10"><img src="$stylevar[imagesfolder]/clear.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
</tr>


And your done, hit Save and presto. Easy huh?

Pion
26 Apr 2005, 02:00
DaPro...thanks...work nicely

:Judge:
24 May 2005, 17:45
This was quite easy to figure out to port for 3.0.7, here it goes...

Go into your styles manager and do the following:

In FORUMDISPLAY look for:
=======================

$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->


Add Above:
=======================

<tr valign="top">
<td class="thead" colspan="10"><img src="$stylevar[imagesfolder]/clear.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
</tr>


And your done, hit Save and presto. Easy huh?

This be what I did in my 3.0.7 and went off without a problem at all, thanks.

yupfish
25 May 2005, 15:22
Just what i was looking for! Thanks, assassingod. :)

wolfgrrl
04 Jun 2005, 10:43
I would like to install this but under the forumdisplay templates, all I have is this:

FORUMDISPLAY [Customize]
forumdisplay_announcement [Customize]
forumdisplay_loggedinuser [Customize]
forumdisplay_moderator [Customize]
forumdisplay_sortarrow [Customize]

Does this not work on 3.06?

Lee
11 Jul 2005, 17:03
You need to refer to these instructions to install this modification...:)

This was quite easy to figure out to port for 3.0.7, here it goes...

Go into your styles manager and do the following:

In FORUMDISPLAY look for:
=======================

$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->


Add Above:
=======================

<tr valign="top">
<td class="thead" colspan="10"><img src="$stylevar[imagesfolder]/clear.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
</tr>


And your done, hit Save and presto. Easy huh?

bigcurt
14 Jul 2005, 05:11
yea the original is not working for 3.0.X I do not believe. I could be wrong though :P.

Aken
28 Jul 2005, 08:08
Regarding vB 3.0.7

I looked up this thread because I wanted to use the Sticky seperating bar and whatnot. The original template mod in this thread didn't work (should've read a bit farther, but whatever - no harm done to my forums), so I continued to read.

At the end here, DaPro's suggestion would appear to work fine, and I'm sure it does. But in my version of 3.0.7, there's no need to add anything. You actually have to remove something :)

Find:

<!--<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">6<else />5</if>"></td></tr>-->
</if>
$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->

Replace With:

<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">6<else />5</if>"></td></tr>
</if>
$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->

I actually removed the &nbsp; (space) in the seperator line, because it made it as tall as the font inside of it, plus cell spacing/padding.

The end result is seen in the screen shot provided below.

Note: I don't know how many of you will have this code hiding in there already, as I recently downloaded a fresh copy of vBulletin (3.0.7 for those not really paying attention) approximately two weeks ago. But if only one person finds all this babble useful, I'm satisfied :D

~Eric

Prodimysterio
03 Aug 2005, 15:43
DaPro...thanks...work nicely

Agreed. Worked like an absolute charm.

:)

loftyasianz
07 Aug 2005, 23:51
thanks. this hack is working great on my 3.0.7 =)

Mikecp421
06 Sep 2005, 03:33
does this work on 3.0.8? the first one doesn't but I'm gonna try the one for .7 LMK though


EDIT-Update, yes it does work, thanks!

secret1980
17 Sep 2005, 07:42
nice hack .. it worked :)

ZeryabPhone
06 Oct 2005, 23:52
after installing new style this mod not work anymore,,
any idea plz ?

ZeryabPhone
07 Oct 2005, 13:42
This was quite easy to figure out to port for 3.0.7, here it goes...

Go into your styles manager and do the following:

In FORUMDISPLAY look for:
=======================

$threadbits
<!-- end show threads -->


Add Above:
=======================

<tr valign="top">
<td class="thead" colspan="10"><img src="$stylevar[imagesfolder]/clear.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
</tr>


And your done, hit Save and presto. Easy huh?


great work
thx

on vb 3.0.9

LBSources
11 Dec 2005, 20:05
Any hope to get this working in 3.5.x ? .. or did i miss the setting?

I dont see a forumdisplaybit in my template set

Kirk Y
18 Mar 2006, 05:16
See Post #62.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=723474&postcount=62

hambil
18 Mar 2006, 17:17
For a little bit of fun and practice, I've productized this and removed the need for any template edits. It installs as a clean plugin now. I just realized this used to be a 3.0 mod. Hmmm... what to do? Should I start a new plugin in 3.5? Is the author still around and does he/she care?

Mysticales
17 Jul 2006, 11:15
for vB Gamma...

jancarlo

That reply worked for me with attachment. The one included in the 1st post didnt work. Something about forumdisplaybit?? I think that had to be a typo.

rnmcd
03 Jan 2007, 17:41
For a little bit of fun and practice, I've productized this and removed the need for any template edits. It installs as a clean plugin now. I just realized this used to be a 3.0 mod. Hmmm... what to do? Should I start a new plugin in 3.5? Is the author still around and does he/she care?

Do you know if yours works in 3.6.4?