PDA

View Full Version : "In Reply To" plugin (threaded view info for all view modes)


WetWired
31 Jul 2005, 01:50
Description
This plugin provides identification in the postbit of which post each post is a reply to (See screenshots if clarification is needed)

The original purpose of this modification was to provide missing information to linear view mode users. I got the idea from a board I visit that used to be UBB Threads, though my choice of presentation is a bit different. After several requests with my previous version, I have added this same display to hybrid and threaded view modes.

The attached screenshots are probably the best explaination.

Lineage
This is the vb3.5/plugin version of my previous vb3.0 hack you can find here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=61490)

Complexity
One xml import, and 4 template edits

Technical
This hack has been tested on vB3.5.0RC1
It adds 2 queries to showthread, and adds 1 additional query for each consecutive layer of deleted parents of posts displayed on a page. (If a displayed post is a reply to a deleted reply to an undeleted reply to a deleted reply to an undeleted post, 3 total queries are added to showthread, but if a displayed post is a reply to a deleted reply to a deleted reply to a deleted reply to an undeleted post, 5 total queries are added to showthread. If both examples are displayed in the same page, only 5 total queries are added to showthread.)

Functional changes since vb3.0 version
Display of additional information appears in all thread view modes
Now displays in showpost.php
Full template change steps included (variable details still given for customization)

Support
Please click the install link to the right if you install this modification.

Please leave any questions about the plugin in this thread, I will answer them whenever I get the chance (probably about once a week after the first week after vb3.5.0 gold, more frequently before then).

Biker_GA
31 Jul 2005, 02:35
WOOHOOOOOOO!!! THIS is the one we've been waiting for! Thank you!

aelion
06 Aug 2005, 18:06
This plugin doesn't seem to work for me. The first thing is the title of the plugin doesn't show up in the plugin manager. Second, if I click edit, nothing shows up in the edit code box and the hook location seems not to be set. I'm new to vBulletin but I think I imported the plugin correctly....I used the Download / Upload Plugins link under Plugin System in the Admin panel of 3.5RC2. I imported by browsing to the XML file on my computer and clicked the Import button in the Import Plugin Definitions XML File box.

WetWired
07 Aug 2005, 07:07
No, you need to use the Plugin System>Manage Products page to import the plugin. Also be sure that vBulletin Options>Plugin/Hook System>Enable Plugin/Hook System is set to Yes.

Brinnie
07 Aug 2005, 08:09
On IPB, they have something like this called a "snapback"
you click it and it takes you back to the post. :)

aelion
07 Aug 2005, 15:33
No, you need to use the Plugin System>Manage Products page to import the plugin. Also be sure that vBulletin Options>Plugin/Hook System>Enable Plugin/Hook System is set to Yes.
Thanks, I feel a little stupid that I didn't see the link under the box to Add/Import Product. The plugin works fine. Thank you very much.

Logikos
08 Aug 2005, 00:09
On IPB, they have something like this called a "snapback"
you click it and it takes you back to the post. :)

This hack does the same thing. When you click on the 'in reply to' title, it will move the page up to the appropriate post. :)

/me clicks install

coloradok5
07 Dec 2005, 05:39
Will this work for 3.5.2 ?

Lea Verou
07 Dec 2005, 07:22
I think it would be better if it said for example "in example to post #42" or if the title was a link to the post cause most users tend to leave the deafult title so it wont be much help.

Just my 2 cents :)

WetWired
07 Dec 2005, 15:17
I think it would be better if it said for example "in example to post #42" or if the title was a link to the post cause most users tend to leave the deafult title so it wont be much help.

Just my 2 cents :)

Michelle, perhaps you don't realize it, but finding the post number for each reply would add significant load; the way it does it now where it quotes the beginning of the post, however, does not and IMO is better because if you've been reading the thread, you probably know which post started with a given phrase. Also, the mod does add a link back to the post being replied to.

etouffee
13 Dec 2005, 19:27
Will this work for 3.5.2 ?

Same question here-- anybody tried this with 3.5.2? I'm really anxious to use this.

WetWired
13 Dec 2005, 21:49
I have tested this mod on 3.5.2 and confirmed that it works propperly.

etouffee
14 Dec 2005, 00:53
Thanks! I've got it working now as well.

etouffee
14 Dec 2005, 16:28
Thanks for this mod, it's really useful. I hope this is the proper place to request a small tweak for your next release.

We would like to see an additional variable to display the postcount number of the parent post.

That way we could display "in response to Bob (#3)", rather than displaying the whole title of Bob's post.

robert_2004
14 Mar 2006, 15:50
hey.. on topic of what etouffee has asked:
i would like it to simply say in response to #3


any chance of getting that / making that work?

WetWired
17 Mar 2006, 06:29
No. It will never do that; it's too inefficient.

Jasmin
05 Apr 2006, 21:19
Wow, I'm surprised there's not more activity on this one. Kinda looks like this might be an ESSENTIAL usability mod.

Big question: Does this still work on 3.5.4?

WetWired
07 Apr 2006, 05:08
I don't run any threaded 3.5 forums anymore, but it should still work. I guess the reason that it's not deemed essential is that most forums don't really use threaded mode, which is a shame.

Logikos
07 Apr 2006, 22:49
I use this hack on my forums. www.vbhackers.com and works perfect using 3.5.4. :)

shoot1st
13 Apr 2006, 01:00
Installed, however I am not seeing an addition reply button or image in every post. Just your typical quote button. I was under the assumption by viewing the screen shots that this would give a user the option of replying directly to a post without a quote.

Clarification please

Logikos
14 Apr 2006, 10:49
they do, by using the quick reply button and making it so they have to use it. ;)

WetWired
18 Apr 2006, 14:19
Also, you could add another reply link with &noquote=1 in the URL.

Renada
11 May 2006, 18:09
Hi,

I've had this installed for a long time now and it's always worked well. I've just reinstalled by board from scratch but on installing this product everything shows up but clicking on an "in reply to" link takes me back to forum home instead of to the message in the link.

Any idea what would cause this?

Regards,
Renada

WetWired
12 May 2006, 21:58
Could I please see your postbit template, and the HTML of a postbit with this problem from view source?

Renada
13 May 2006, 23:35
Could I please see your postbit template, and the HTML of a postbit with this problem from view source?

PM sent - thanks :)

deeoo
27 Nov 2006, 18:07
Anyone tested it with 3.6.4?

WetWired
28 Nov 2006, 19:32
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=61490&page=5
BBH ran it with 3.6.2, with no trouble once he got the template changes set up. I had asked him to post in this thread since he was using this version, but he did not...

BBH
01 Feb 2007, 16:59
I don't run any threaded 3.5 forums anymore, but it should still work. I guess the reason that it's not deemed essential is that most forums don't really use threaded mode, which is a shame.

Many moons ago, when I was brand new as an administrator, I found and downloaded this Add-on. It has been working like a champ and my users and I love it!!! Sorry to be so long with the feedback; but I wanted to really pound it out first.

So, there it is. This mode works 4.0 and is well loved by the members of Airline Pilots Association (UAL Chapter).

Thanks,

BBH

p.s. Do you have a mode to add an item to the Quick Links drow-down? I can't figure out how to do this.

WetWired
01 Feb 2007, 18:52
The Quick Links drop-down is just HTML in the navbar template, near the end. To add an item, copy the row for an existing item, then modify it.

MickDoneDee
05 Jul 2007, 17:49
I tried installing this product on my 3.6.7 forum without success. I imported the xml file but when I tried adding:
<if condition="isset($post['re_postid'])">
in reply to <if condition="$post['re_userid']"><a href="member.php?userid=$post[re_userid]">$post[re_username]</a><else />$post[re_username]</if>'s <if condition="$post['re_tittype']!=0">post <if condition="$post['re_tittype']==2">starting</if></if> <a href="$post[re_url]" <if condition="!$post['re_isonpage']">target="_blank"</if>><if condition="$post['re_tittype']==0">untitled post<else />"$post[re_title]"</if></a>
</if>to the postbit template I got this error:
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or T_NUM_STRING in /hsphere/local/home/worldate/world-a-team.com/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3596) : eval()'d code on line 156

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

MickDoneDee
06 Jul 2007, 05:24
Will this product be ported to 3.6.x? My members miss this useful add-on.

WetWired
06 Jul 2007, 23:51
Can you post the whole template with the changes, please?

And the 3.5 version works on 3.6; there is no need for an additional version.

MickDoneDee
07 Jul 2007, 03:42
I tried it again and it worked this time. Not sure what happened at my first attempt. Here is the section of the postbit template containing your code:

<!-- status icon and date -->
<a name="post$post[postid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/post_$post[statusicon].gif" alt="$post[statustitle]" border="0" /></a>
<if condition="!$show['announcement']">
$post[postdate]<if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">, $post[posttime]</if>
<else />
<phrase 1="$post[startdate]" 2="$post[enddate]">$vbphrase[x_until_y]</phrase>
</if>
<!-- in reply to hack -->
<if condition="isset($post['re_postid'])">
in reply to <if condition="$post['re_userid']"><a href="member.php?userid=$post[re_userid]">$post[re_username]</a><else />$post[re_username]</if>'s <if condition="$post['re_tittype']!=0">post <if condition="$post['re_tittype']==2">starting</if></if> <a href="$post[re_url]" <if condition="!$post['re_isonpage']">target="_blank"</if>><if condition="$post['re_tittype']==0">untitled post<else />"$post[re_title]"</if></a>
</if>
<!-- / in reply to hack -->
$post[firstnewinsert]
<!-- / status icon and date -->

Biker_GA
03 Dec 2009, 16:33
We've been extremely lucky with this modification in that it's worked with each release of vB until vB4. Any chance of getting this updated for vB4?