PDA

View Full Version : Is this mod ready to go after install?


Gutspiller
08 Aug 2005, 17:44
I've looked around at other systems like this (not for vb) and they require you to create your own monsters to defeat, etc. I was wondering if this system after it's install contains the weapons, monsters, etc. (whatever else the mod includes) "out of the box" or if I would have to take my time and create monsters, weapons, etc. and design the point system, damage system, etc.

Please let me know as I am very interested in installing this mod. Thank you.

Revan
08 Aug 2005, 21:05
The Classes/Alignments/Races/Elements are ready to go out of the box.
Items and Monsters, however, are not. Some Monsters come with pre-configured stats, and all of them come with pre-configured XP count. Items lack Buff value at the least.
The reason for any lack is because the values are different down to the individual admin. Whether s/he wants strong members, weak members, poor members, rich members, low level members, high level members, etc.
Also, if it did contain default values, 90% of my users wouldn't touch this configuration. As it is, admins have to work abit to get the RPG going, which helps familiarise them with how it works.

Gutspiller
09 Aug 2005, 20:08
Has anybody released, or will anybody release *looks around* their settings and is it possible to import other peoples settings?

When you say some monsters, is it enough to install it and announce it to your users, or would you still want to add stuff or would it be impossible for users to play without going in and adding some features?

Revan
09 Aug 2005, 21:06
It is currently not possible to import anything, but I do have this listed on my ToDo-list.

Users could immediately battle the bot after you adding it.

Gutspiller
16 Aug 2005, 22:05
Thanks for the reply. I think I will hold off for now. I don't think battling the bot can really compare the V3arcade. I will keep an eye on your updates though. If it had some default settings so that people could change if they wanted to, but could be run if the user wanted would make this mod a lot more delicious in my opinion.

I look forward to seeing what's added. Thanks again.

Revan
18 Aug 2005, 10:42
The problem is, if it had default values for everything, your average admin would just not configure anything and we would be seeing 30 boards using the exact same setup. This is not desireable. I want the admin to do a spot of work before everything is ready to go ;)