PDA

View Full Version : Previous/Next PM


Andreas
10 Aug 2005, 21:48
Previous/Next PM
Description
This Hack adds Previous-/Next PM Links when a PM is being showed, so you can browse through your Messages just like Threads in Forums.
It adds 1 Query when the Link is being clicked.

Details
1 Product XML with 1 Plugin and 4 Phrases
1 Template Edit

History
1.0.0 Initial Version
1.0.1 Fixed a Problem with sorting

Please only click Install if you actually have installed/are using this Hack, and click Uninstall whan you don't use it any longer!

yupfish
10 Aug 2005, 21:49
/me installs

nix
10 Aug 2005, 22:13
missing a file?

Andreas
10 Aug 2005, 22:17
Whoos :)
Sorry. It's there now.

FleaBag
11 Aug 2005, 01:13
Sweet! Thanks. :)

Biker_GA
11 Aug 2005, 01:22
My staff and users love you. LOL

turksengel
11 Aug 2005, 06:53
thanx
clicked install ;)

Zachariah
13 Aug 2005, 01:19
Thank you. I will try it out.

Brinnie
13 Aug 2005, 15:08
Instaled.

worked perfectly

Oblivion Knight
13 Aug 2005, 22:55
Another excellent tool for us busy admins lazy people.! :)

OmaniMan
14 Aug 2005, 13:33
Thanks ...
Installed

RoryF
14 Aug 2005, 18:13
Installs, thankyou KirbyDE :)

poolking
14 Aug 2005, 19:21
/me installed

Sleepyk
17 Aug 2005, 03:33
perfect i been looking for something like this sense vb 2 lol

Brinnie
21 Aug 2005, 19:09
I've noticed that using the 'previous pm' and 'next pm' buttons under the actual pm don't work. When you hit the "next pm" it takes you to the very last pm in your inbox rather than the "next" pm.

Anyone else notice this?

Andreas
21 Aug 2005, 20:25
It takes you to the next/previous PM in the same Folder, at least that is what it should do.

Brinnie
22 Aug 2005, 09:13
Previous PM works.
Next PM takes me to the most recent PM.

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:01
Doh! Should be fixed now.

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:07
I would re-check the readme file in there. It looks like a converstion between you and someone else. ;)

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:09
WTF ... that was a post from vB.com
Wonder how this made it into the readme

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:13
WTF ... that was a post from vB.com
Wonder how this made it into the readme

With you, Kirby, I have learned to expect the unexpected. ;)

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:16
LOL ;)
Anyway, the correct File should be in the ZIP now again.

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:18
It is. ;)

The readme hasn't changed any of its content, right? Just the product (1 byte difference). ;)

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:19
Exactly. It was just a DESC where it should have been ASC :)

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:20
All that grief for one byte. Seems almost a waste to upgrade it, huh? LOL

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:21
Well, you could also just edit the Plugin and change the 2nd DESC to ASC :)

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:21
Well, I rather enjoyed the first readme you sent with it. I look forward to your upgrades now. ;)

Andreas
22 Aug 2005, 17:24
I'm gonna try to stick some private eMails into the next one ;)

Boofo
22 Aug 2005, 17:28
I will definately be looking forward to that. ;)

FleaBag
22 Aug 2005, 22:34
Just installed on my Beta 2, loving it! Thanks Kirb. :)

Cyricx
26 Sep 2005, 14:01
Love this Kirby! Thanks :)

I wonder if it would be possible to do something similar to what Amy did for thread titles in this hack -

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=92407

Into your hack so that it displayed the PM's title instead of the previous/next text :)

/me clicks install

akanevsky
06 Oct 2005, 00:58
Thanks, this is a nice hack.

Oblivion Knight
18 Oct 2005, 13:53
Just a friendly reminder to update the product for RC3 onwards.. ;)

The plugin currently isn't attached to the product.

Andreas
18 Oct 2005, 14:31
Just a friendly reminder to update the product for RC3 onwards.. ;)

The plugin currently isn't attached to the product.
Hmm, there is just 1 Plugin, which is in the Product XML and therefore surely attached to the product?

Sooner95
18 Oct 2005, 14:39
2ez, installed.. thx bud

Oblivion Knight
18 Oct 2005, 14:57
Hmm, there is just 1 Plugin, which is in the Product XML and therefore surely attached to the product?I was under the impression that for every plugin, cpnav or phrase we should put product="<productid>"?

It's what I've been doing anyway.! Perhaps I'm mistaken.. :nervous:

Andreas
18 Oct 2005, 15:14
In product XMLs there won't be a product parameter, as those plugins automatically belong to the product :)

cbr929rrerion
27 Oct 2005, 00:16
I also added it to the top so you dont have to scroll to the bottom. They have the choice to hit next/previous at the top of the message or bottom..

just find..

// -->
</script>
</if>


and paste:

<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<strong>&laquo;</strong>
<a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]do=showpm&amp;pmid=$pm[pmid]&amp;goto=nextoldest">$vbphrase[previous_pm]</a>
|
<a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]do=showpm&amp;pmid=$pm[pmid]&amp;goto=nextnewest">$vbphrase[next_pm]</a>
<strong>&raquo;</strong>
</div><br />


Works awesome

FleaBag
13 Aug 2006, 12:34
Works (as expected) with 3.6 also. Another gem hidden away in the obscurity of ancient threads. Please add this to the main vB code if you can Andreas. :)

crazycajun
24 Feb 2007, 20:52
Thank for the mod, it works great!

codershark
15 May 2008, 16:38
dont works at vb3.7 :(

Jase2
16 May 2008, 08:01
Working on an update. Will need permission from Andreas before I can release it, though.

Boofo
16 May 2008, 08:04
There is no need for an update as this works fine as it is on 3.7.

codershark
16 May 2008, 08:20
hmm I dont see the links :(

Andreas
16 May 2008, 09:00
@codershark
I haven't tested it on 3.7, but I see no reason why it should not work.
You do realize that you have to edit the template manually?

Boofo
16 May 2008, 09:07
As I said above, I'm using it on 3.7 fine. ;)

Jase2
17 May 2008, 15:12
Ok, Boofo -- you made your point and it was quite clear ;)

Boofo
17 May 2008, 15:51
Are you sure? I can state it again for clarity. ;)

Boards.ie
06 Jun 2008, 16:33
Added the the manual template edit into the product. May as well save others the hassle. Works for 3.6.x and 3.7.x to the best of my knowledge.

@Andreas: hope you don't mind me posting it.

Edit: no prob, removed

Andreas
07 Jun 2008, 10:10
@Boards.ie
Please remove the file ASAP.
I do not want any template cache tampering in my releases - it costs performance and causes a lot of problems.
Thank you.

Boards.ie
07 Jun 2008, 14:16
I'd be interested in knowing what performance and "other" problems there are with template caching, maybe you could direct me to an article on it?

Andreas
07 Jun 2008, 16:03
Performance -> unnecessary str_replace() call on every page
Other Problems -> Unrecoverable, fatal PHP errors if you use custom Template Caches, eg. the board becomes unusable if any plugin tampers the template cache.

Eq4bits
10 Aug 2008, 17:15
Does this mod work with , or has it been ported to work with, vB3.7x?

Andreas
11 Mar 2009, 19:38
Yes. No.

ragtek
21 May 2009, 09:46
Does this mod work with , or has it been ported to work with, vB3.7x?

You can find here (http://vbulletin-germany.org/showthread.php?t=6110) a new version which is using ajax to get the pm text.

ATM it's just in german available, but you can find also a english installinstruction in the archiv.

If everything is working fine, i'll release it on vb.org soon.

furnival
25 Feb 2013, 13:24
Andreas, Is there any way you could make http://www.vbulletin-germany.org/showthread.php?6110-next-prev-AJAX-PM/ available here please? I tried to register at VB Germany but my account was never approved.