PDA

View Full Version : Signature only on first post


Zachariah
23 Oct 2005, 21:53
Signature only on first post VB3.5

This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page.

Hi i was wondering if theres a hack where peoples sigs only show once per page?

In the postbit or postbit_legacy template,

Find :

<if condition="$post['signature']">

And replace it with this one:

<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">

There can be only one ! ~ The Highlander

Zachariah
23 Oct 2005, 21:57
Opps I think I posted this in the wrong place.

indiamike
23 Oct 2005, 23:14
Many thanks I was just searching for this earlier today.

Works great. :)

FleaBag
24 Oct 2005, 10:50
Yeah nice one cheers I was hoping to get away from the file edit! :)

Snake
24 Oct 2005, 17:54
Wow I was looking something similar to this. Thanks bud.

ben_erhan
25 Oct 2005, 04:06
it does not work sir.

Zachariah
25 Oct 2005, 04:11
it does not work sir.

VB 3.5
DEMO (http://www.gzhq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=11191)

MY SIG:
In an insane society a sane man must seem insane.
01000111 01011010 01001000 01010001 (http://www.gzhq.net)
In an insane society a sane man must seem insane.
01000111 01011010 01001000 01010001 (http://www.gzhq.net)
Looks like it does to me. 1 time per page.

TTG
25 Oct 2005, 04:11
it does not work sir.

Have to agree :tired:

ben_erhan
26 Oct 2005, 09:34
You may be true but I have made editing codes you gave It did not work.
I tried as member ,as moderator,as admin but every user is same.I see all signatures.If you want I can give the all codes of template.

Flow Fusion
27 Oct 2005, 17:23
Didn't work for me either.

Zachariah
27 Oct 2005, 19:10
Did you guys edit the correct postbit ?

postbit / postbit_legacy

If you have multi skins they also may needed to be edited.

Flow Fusion
27 Oct 2005, 20:39
I edited the default and nothing.

LincolnForums
27 Oct 2005, 20:47
Nope, not working here either, or any of my other vBulletin boards

michaelbenson
27 Oct 2005, 21:36
This works perfectly fine for me.

Flow Fusion
27 Oct 2005, 21:51
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.

StyleZ cZ
29 Oct 2005, 00:06
This only partially works.

For a few members it did, for the rest it didn't. Didn't work for mods at all.

VBUsers
29 Oct 2005, 11:50
installed thanks alot!

fiber_cut
03 Nov 2005, 05:58
what is a post bit template?

fiber_cut
03 Nov 2005, 06:16
jsut trying to figure out what file to edit

fiber_cut
03 Nov 2005, 06:30
never mind I am such an idiot..

good2laugh
13 Nov 2005, 19:19
Installed, thanks!

lazyseller
14 Nov 2005, 18:26
how bout if a user responds ? will it show their signature ?

Zachariah
14 Nov 2005, 18:42
how bout if a user responds ? will it show their signature ?

Each user's Sig will show once per thread. The 1st time they post.

caliman
15 Nov 2005, 15:37
Works great on vB 3.5.1 / post-bit legacy on my board. THANKS FOR THIS MOD!

Zachariah
15 Nov 2005, 16:03
Glad it helped out. :)

dieselpowered
15 Nov 2005, 16:23
Thank you...

**installed**

caliman
16 Nov 2005, 06:25
@Zachariah - Looks like 3.5.1 quick reply by-passes this mod? Or is it just late and I am hallucinating?

Zachariah
16 Nov 2005, 19:10
@Zachariah - Looks like 3.5.1 quick reply by-passes this mod? Or is it just late and I am hallucinating?

I have not tested that idea, but I do not think it matters.

caliman
17 Nov 2005, 21:49
I have not tested that idea, but I do not think it matters.

One would think Zach, but I just tried it again and it added the sig again when it shouldn't have... can you test it too? :ermm:

akanevsky
17 Nov 2005, 23:36
Three conditionals could be replaced with one. :)

EDIT: Oops, sorry, I misunderstood the purpose of this hack. ;)

49er
19 Nov 2005, 15:06
Thank you...works fine :rolleyes:

**installed**

movielist
21 Nov 2005, 07:11
Script works great.

Just a sidenote... there is a catch with the Quick Reply box.
Once you use Quick Reply and post, your sig will appear.
The next time you load the page, the sig is gone.
No big deal. ;)

swrving
24 Nov 2005, 01:05
I implemented this and it worked (had to modify both postbit and postbit_legacy templates)...

How can I make something appear in the subsequent signatures that says:
"Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page."?

aky
24 Nov 2005, 04:20
what about if im using this hack, it doesnt work...

First post on every page of thread
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=93706&highlight=post+page

dieselpowered
24 Nov 2005, 05:17
Script works great.

Just a sidenote... there is a catch with the Quick Reply box.
Once you use Quick Reply and post, your sig will appear.
The next time you load the page, the sig is gone.
No big deal. ;)

Yes sir, you are correct, this definately does happen.

How could be go about fixing this?

Zachariah
02 Dec 2005, 09:38
what about if im using this hack, it doesnt work...

First post on every page of thread
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=93706&highlight=post+page

I will install and take a look.
- I have many things to work on @ the moment that is in front of this, but I will see what I can do.

I will also look @ the "Quick Reply box" problem at the same time.

dieselpowered
07 Dec 2005, 17:22
Zachariah, just wanted to let you know that this works with 3.5.2, incase you wanted to change the version at the top of the thread :)

Zachariah
07 Dec 2005, 17:50
Zachariah, just wanted to let you know that this works with 3.5.2, incase you wanted to change the version at the top of the thread :)

Cool man. :)

bashy
08 Dec 2005, 15:01
Not on my 3.5.2 it dont :(

I have tried it with both templates..

Does this work to posts already up?

Zachariah, just wanted to let you know that this works with 3.5.2, incase you wanted to change the version at the top of the thread :)

Bashy

Zachariah
08 Dec 2005, 15:58
Yes.
I will test on my dev system.

Not on my 3.5.2 it dont :(

I have tried it with both templates..

Does this work to posts already up?



Bashy

dieselpowered
08 Dec 2005, 16:09
Works just fine on my 3.5.2

Granted I have been using this since the start of my 3.5.1 board.

Noodles24
09 Dec 2005, 17:00
Works fine for me, using 3.5.2 and postbit legacy

Robru
19 Dec 2005, 17:20
I will it only in the last post, what must I change?

Caveman2k2
21 Dec 2005, 01:09
Working fine on my 3.5.2. Great little mod.

/me clicks install

tqvn2004
22 Dec 2005, 10:29
Thanks for the hack. I have installed it!

For those who cannot make it work, you should edit BOTH postbit and postbit_legacy! If you edit only postbit_legacy, the chance is it will not work because postbit template is used.

mholtum
22 Dec 2005, 21:39
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.
Works for me, on one of the boards I added it to it works, the other it doesn't. Odd. :ermm:

Robru
02 Jan 2006, 15:59
*BUMP*

I will it only in the last post, what must I change?

Zachariah
02 Jan 2006, 16:39
*Originally Posted by Robru
I will it only in the last post, what must I change?*

I do not understand.
- Perhaps say in your language I can translate ?

Revpolar
02 Jan 2006, 16:47
For those having trouble with signatures in quick replies. Open showthread template and search for
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['signature']">
<div style="float:$stylevar[right]"><label for="cb_signature"><input type="checkbox" name="signature" value="1" id="cb_signature" tabindex="5" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_your_signature]</label></div>
</if>
And delete that.

Robru
03 Jan 2006, 10:40
I do not understand.

I Want: user's signature to be shown only on their last post on each page, when you post more than one message in a topic.
I hope you understand this, sorry for my bad English...

CtrlAltDel
06 Jan 2006, 23:21
thx worked on 3.2.3 :D!

MojoNixon
06 Jan 2006, 23:30
/hits install.

Very useful, thanx for this. :)

SparKeh
07 Jan 2006, 20:09
it works for me on vb 3.5.2 editing the postbit and postbit_legacy


damn that quick reply thing is annoying though :D

SparKeh
07 Jan 2006, 20:15
Actually thats weird, when I post the second post using quick reply it shows my sig on my last post and removes it from my first post. I thought it was mean't to stay in the first post and no others? :eek:

ahmed-samara
15 Jan 2006, 09:57
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.

GGIII
19 Jan 2006, 03:03
Is there any way to make this a selectable option per user?

WebMasterAJ
01 Feb 2006, 11:37
I just tried it on the latest vB... and it doesn't work :(

Mindwarp
01 Feb 2006, 13:02
I just tried it on the latest vB... and it doesn't work :(


AJ i got it.

Tralala
04 Feb 2006, 02:26
For those having trouble with signatures in quick replies. Open showthread template and search for
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['signature']">
<div style="float:$stylevar[right]"><label for="cb_signature"><input type="checkbox" name="signature" value="1" id="cb_signature" tabindex="5" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_your_signature]</label></div>
</if>
And delete that.


Yeah, that doesn't actually suppress the "display" of subsequent signatures for others...

...what it does is uncheck/hide a poster's "Show your signature" checkbox underneath the QuickReply panel.

I just applied that change, and was the first reply in a thread (via QuickReply) and my signature DID NOT show up at all on the refresh. (It should appear, as it was my first time in that thread.)

I'm going to revert back, since that change is not what a user would expect (especially if they have a sig and expect for it to appear.)

I'm okay with it appearing you that first time after a QuickReply, since after a refresh (and immediately for everyone else) -- it only appears in the user's first post.

But revpolar's "fix" for the QuickReply issue is overkill and doesn't actually address the issue properly.

The issue is in how QuickReply refreshes immediately and doesn't reflect what a "real" refresh would show...

Tralala
04 Feb 2006, 02:40
I should say though, that otherwise, this hack appears to be working fine for me in vB 3.5.3 (with both the generic vB skin as well as my customized 3rd party one.) Thanks!

Tralala
04 Feb 2006, 03:50
Is there any way to make this a selectable option per user?

+1

I would appreciate that greatly.

Brandon Sheley
05 Feb 2006, 11:22
/me installs


can u make it show all the profile info I've added only shows on the first post too ?

or maybe i can figure it out by looking at this hack

attached is what I'm talking about.. can I remove all this, avatar,post,points. etc.. after the first post has been made on threads ?


btw

this post

http://www.locoforum.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4297#post4297

u can see my sig two times,, i use the quick reply.. gl with the mod
hmm,, but when I refresh a few times,, it just shows one like it should.. don't know if that info helps you or now ?

can I add AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">

after all the info that I'm talking about ?
to edit each line, that i want to show once only. ?

thank you

Brandon Sheley
06 Feb 2006, 20:17
anyone ?

lazyseller
11 Feb 2006, 00:40
Is there a way to exclude certain usergroups from this ?? like admins / moderators ?

stan111
19 Feb 2006, 10:42
worrk perfectly on 3.0.7
thanks

Zachariah
19 Feb 2006, 21:57
worrk perfectly on 3.0.7
thanks

That's cool :D

This is a very simple edit.

Ideas:

- exclude usergroups or choose usergroups.
This can be done in the template also but not to handy for quick change.

- User choice if show every time or not.
This is also a simple template edit, but adding the userfield would move it out of a template hack. (not ruled out of working on, but must post a new hack in another area of the forums)

I had thoughts of expanding this hack: (would make it plugin w/ uploads)

AdminCP options:
- enable / disable per usergroup
- enable / disable per user

More feedback is cool. I may have no clue what I am talking about :D

Tralala
19 Feb 2006, 22:34
- User choice if show every time or not.
This is also a simple template edit, but adding the userfield would move it out of a template hack. (not ruled out of working on, but must post a new hack in another area of the forums)


I, for one, would very much like this. Some users like it and some don't, and this would solve the problem for everyone.

djwins
24 Feb 2006, 18:17
Is there a way to exclude certain usergroups from this ?? like admins / moderators ?Seconded

Brandon Sheley
25 Feb 2006, 01:38
* Loco.M installs



can u make it show all the profile info I've added only shows on the first post too ?

or maybe i can figure it out by looking at this hack

attached is what I'm talking about.. can I remove all this, avatar,post,points. etc.. after the first post has been made on threads ?


btw

this post

http://www.locoforum.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4297#post4297

u can see my sig two times,, i use the quick reply.. gl with the mod
hmm,, but when I refresh a few times,, it just shows one like it should.. don't know if that info helps you or now ?

can I add AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">

after all the info that I'm talking about ?
to edit each line, that i want to show once only. ?

thank you


bump ? :ermm:

djwins
25 Feb 2006, 03:28
Another interesting edit would be to only show signature images once per page (leave text intact).

Zachariah
25 Feb 2006, 03:34
Another interesting edit would be to only show signature images once per page (leave text intact).

very true.
- Images and movies are a pain for my 56k modem warriors.

djwins
25 Feb 2006, 03:44
my 56k modem warriors.:laugh:

Tralala
25 Feb 2006, 06:40
MOVIES in signatures? OMG.

the Sandman
25 Feb 2006, 12:41
I Want: user's signature to be shown only on their last post on each page, when you post more than one message in a topic.Actually, I think that would be a nice option - to show a member's signature once per page but on the last post of each page. It would definitely cut down on the "Where did my sig go?" threads and PM's. :ermm:

Freak0204
26 Feb 2006, 08:52
Works great, thanks!

himerus
01 Mar 2006, 19:42
Is there a way to change this, so that it shows the signature on the FIRST post of a thread ALWAYS, and the LAST post made by a user, rather than the first post a user has made????

So, thier signature shows on the last post they always make to a thread, but does not on the first one if they have multiple posts

This won't apply for the thread starter, who will show on the first post of the thread, and thier last post as well...

ZeryabPhone
01 Mar 2006, 21:50
work fine for postbit_legacy
and not work in postbit!

Brandon Sheley
02 Mar 2006, 04:46
i guess im invisible....lol

kpr
02 Mar 2006, 11:43
Thanks for this just what i needed.

BabyNameAddict
06 Mar 2006, 05:26
Excellent! This is perfect.

Works wonderfully in 3.5.4 when edited in both templates.

Thanks bunches! :nervous:

BabyNameAddict
06 Mar 2006, 07:44
Is there a way to have it show once per THREAD instead of once per PAGE?

alfaowner
06 Mar 2006, 21:51
Is there a way to have it show once per THREAD instead of once per PAGE?

It amazes me why you would bother to want this? But yes its easily possible, ill post it later. Busy right now

the Sandman
07 Mar 2006, 00:33
It amazes me why you would bother to want this? But yes its easily possible, ill post it later. Busy right nowSame for showing it once per page but on the last post, not the first? :)

BabyNameAddict
07 Mar 2006, 03:08
It amazes me why you would bother to want this? But yes its easily possible, ill post it later. Busy right now

Thanks, I would greatly appreciate this!

I want this because people like to get fancy with their sigs, and it makes it slow for those on dialup.

Tralala
07 Mar 2006, 03:53
I want this because people like to get fancy with their sigs, and it makes it slow for those on dialup.

Those with dialup should turn off the display of sigs entirely then.

Zachariah
04 Apr 2006, 02:53
Actually, I think that would be a nice option - to show a member's signature once per page but on the last post of each page. It would definitely cut down on the "Where did my sig go?" threads and PM's. :ermm:

Thats an Idea
- I'll take a look

cyberbeggar
09 Jun 2006, 17:22
Thank You!

Pamela
17 Jun 2006, 23:03
Is there a way to have it show once per THREAD instead of once per PAGE?

I was just about to post this same question (our members on dial-up are requesting this)! :)

Can anyone help us? Thank you!!! :D

Tralala
18 Jun 2006, 00:13
I was just about to post this same question (our members on dial-up are requesting this)! :)


If it's that much of a bother, users on dial-up should turn off signatures entirely then. That's a UserCP pref.

Pamela
18 Jun 2006, 00:21
If it's that much of a bother, users on dial-up should turn off signatures entirely then. That's a UserCP pref.

They would like to see the signatures too.

I just wanted to know if someone could help with a slight modification...

Get Shorty
28 Jun 2006, 19:44
Great! I've been looking for this. :)

AloneKid
21 Jul 2006, 12:19
Thanks!

Viks
21 Jul 2006, 14:20
I get the following error

using vb3.5.4

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or T_NUM_STRING in /home/thr/public_html/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3537) : eval()'d code on line 149

This is likely caused by a malformed conditional statement. It is highly recommended that you fix this error before continuing, but you may continue as-is if you wish.

:confused:

X-Jerry
22 Jul 2006, 14:43
Doesn't work for postbit_legacy.
Why not ?

DominicG
02 Aug 2006, 20:45
I had to put it in both postbit and postbit_legacy template and it works great! Thank you so much :) You explained it to make it so easy to do myself. I paid someone $125.00 to put two hacks in and now I'm thinking I paid way too much. Thank you!

Kathleen (my son is Dominic)

RaceJunkie
10 Aug 2006, 03:46
I was wondering if this is working on 3.6.. I know there are new signature options in the new version so was wondering if the template edits affected them in any way?

Thanks

Smoothie
10 Aug 2006, 08:19
works fine in 3.6

Nxs
10 Aug 2006, 15:08
Working fiine for me in 3.6 with both postbit and postbit_legacy

curriertech
16 Aug 2006, 20:54
Another happy 3.6 install here. :)

lasto
16 Aug 2006, 20:55
works fine in postbit for me so im happy

safwa_server
17 Aug 2006, 09:20
It worked in my 3.5.0

Many Thanks

NineToez
21 Aug 2006, 03:50
I'm getting parse errors when adding this to my recently upgraded vB 3.6 in either postbit or postbit_legacy.

NineToez
24 Aug 2006, 09:24
I'm getting parse errors when adding this to my recently upgraded vB 3.6 in either postbit or postbit_legacy.NM, I got it to work.

davelacey
29 Aug 2006, 01:43
Nice and much-needed hack.
Running on 3.6.0 sweet as anything.
Thankyou.

IncredibleHawk
02 Sep 2006, 07:27
Yeh it did work way better than I had hoped and I want to thank you guys for having all the goodies!

Ranger187
08 Sep 2006, 01:40
Odd, it didn't work for me. Keeps showing the sig.

Ranger187
12 Sep 2006, 23:49
I entered the code and it shows the signature more then once. Am I missing something? This is in VB 3.5.4

teedizz
16 Sep 2006, 00:28
I installed this on 3.6 & didnt recieve no errors but sigs are still showing up more then once per page....can someone tell me why this is happening & how to fix it. It worked fine when i was running 3.5.2

Zachariah
16 Sep 2006, 03:57
@ Ranger187, teedizz and others that have a problem.

Depending on what "postbit" you use.

postbit or postbit_legacy template

DEMO (http://www.gzhq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=10112) - you can see it does work.

teedizz
16 Sep 2006, 05:21
it works for 3.6 but not 3.6.1 for some reason

telc
28 Sep 2006, 04:12
any fix for 3.6.1?

Smoothie
29 Sep 2006, 02:58
Works fine w/ 3.6.1

curriertech
03 Oct 2006, 13:26
Installed and working great on 3.6.1 (even works with my previous edit of turning sigs off for guests).

furst
15 Oct 2006, 17:58
Works for me. Thanks.


edit: it isn't flawless. Sometimes it shows no sigs at all.

b00k
18 Oct 2006, 20:15
-----------

ThorstenA
05 Jan 2007, 09:37
Is it possible to put signature only on last post? As last post is more read.

Thank you.

letsjoy
06 Jan 2007, 01:36
crap not working

Tralala
06 Jan 2007, 12:46
Is it possible to put signature only on last post? As last post is more read.

Thank you.


At some point, every user's first post *is* the last post. So who cares if readers see it now... or see it later? Sigs will get "read" an equal amount regardless. (IOW, it's merely an aesthetic difference.)

Smoothie
06 Jan 2007, 16:18
Error with the pluggin can be replicated in my test environment and live.

Users posting via quick reply will get a forum jump notifying them that they have posted a duplicate thread.

Just giving everyone a heads up.

Otherwise it is an amazing modification!what plugin? This mod uses template edits only.

I've used this on all 3.6.x versions and it works fine.

The dman
12 Jan 2007, 13:11
I too had to edit postbit and postbit legacy in 3.64

Installed and working great.

Thanks

tankaya61
13 Jan 2007, 14:31
thanks

WarLion
27 Jan 2007, 10:28
works great with vb 3.6.4

talenak
17 Feb 2007, 19:54
It does work great with vb 3.6.4, It should be added to that section of the forums.

Zachariah
17 Feb 2007, 23:40
It does work great with vb 3.6.4, It should be added to that section of the forums.

ok :)
- I keep forgetting

EDIT:
:o - link (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=139689)

benpaul10
30 Apr 2007, 13:35
Is there a way to have it show once per THREAD instead of once per PAGE?

is this possible?

Traxdata
20 Dec 2007, 00:44
unfortunately doesn't work on vb 3.7.0. beta2. :(

Traxdata
18 Mar 2008, 18:53
not true, Traxdata! Works fine on 3.7 beta 6!

Arios
22 Jun 2008, 15:36
Edited both templates. 3.5x with many hacks. Works great. One sig per page as expected as opposed to the product hack that parsed errors on editing a post. It works with all mods I've added. The only thing one might see is sometimes a page refresh clears the unwanted signature should it display. Guess it's just a tad slow in kicking in ;)

Thanks!

Pezman
04 Jul 2008, 21:55
I got it to work GREAT with vb 3.7.2

You should note that you must modify BOTH the postbit and the postbit_legacy

River_rush
18 Jul 2008, 23:48
just to add this works on 3.7 as well

GoTTi
22 Feb 2009, 18:35
works for 3.8

trulylowcarb
26 Feb 2009, 23:27
This still works for me in 3.8 - should be moved to that section, IMO.

VERY USEFUL AND SIMPLE MOD!

thedvs
24 May 2009, 11:56
Works fine in 3.8.2 too

Silver_2000_)!
18 Jun 2009, 21:13
would love to be able to chaneg this so that one or two usergroups are NOT restricted by this

Id like our vendors to be able to post sigs more than once

I tried a conditional but that effects the viewer NOT The poster

Mobo
14 Aug 2009, 05:59
Works in 3.8.3 with both templates edited. Thanks!