vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=328382

Adding a vB5 Site-Builder Module to Display Certain Forums?
by Pitman
30 Nov 2020 07:35

I love vBulletin 5, but it has a lot of downfalls...

I want to create a "New Page" in the Site Builder and use a module to display specific forums.

I know this can be done by simply linking to a category forum, but the display on the FORUM page does not work for me like I need for it to by default.

By default, I would need to do the following:
Main Category (link I would need by default for a new page)
Sub Category
Sub Forum (Shown as a "Sub Forum")
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2 (Shown as a "Sub Forum")
But I want the Forum page to show
Sub Category
Sub Forum
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2
AND the NEW page to show:
Sub Category
Sub Forum
Sub Category2
Sub Forum2
I would rather be able to create a new page and display a certain group of forums to display as a new forum page without using display order of 0 to hide the forums.

If that doesn't make sense, please let me know and I'll try to make a few screenshot examples.

delicjous 30 Nov 2020 07:58

That needs a little custom coding to tell the forums-template which templates you want to show.

Some new mods here use only sql to fetch stuff, without any permissions or caches been used. That will also show admin- / mod-stuff (like posts in a not user-permitted channel) and do not use cache so performance will decrease.

You could look into display_Forums_tab -> display_Forums -> display_Forums_list

And please do not change one of that templates... if you know what you could change, create your own tmeplates and show them with template-widget.

Pitman 30 Nov 2020 08:10

Nice, you give me something to work on... I might be able to figure that out with a bit of work. I've not used vBulletin in 5-6 years, so I'm rusty on things. I just wish there was a better way, but I'll attempt what you suggested and try to get it to work :D

I'll definitely need some help getting started though :\

--------------- Added 30 Nov 2020 at 08:52 ---------------

If I do it that way, how could I pull $channesl?

delicjous 30 Nov 2020 09:54

Depends and I have not the time to explain that fully. You could create an array by doing search for the needed channels or use your own api-class.

Pitman 02 Dec 2020 04:32

I've been able to only pull the display of categories using those templates. I've not yet figured out how to display the forums I want or the regular forum display of any forums.

In Omnibus 02 Dec 2020 11:06

It seems to me you're overcomplicating things.

Construct a JSON search string:

https://forum.vbulletin.com/articles...he-search-json

yilmaz 02 Dec 2020 19:20

1 Attachment(s)
The area marked in the Forum Home Module edit adjusts the depth of the forum.


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.