vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=110291

Attachments
by Kevlar
13 Mar 2006 23:25

How do large boards handle attachments? Right now I have about 7GB of attachments in my file system. I was just curious how others deal with this issue. Especially if you have more than one web server... :confused:

Xenon 13 Mar 2006 23:26

We have about 1.5 GB in the DB, but i do get the feeling, that we should change that.....

during the normal process that's not a problem but during upgrades that table is most of the time responsible for the timeouts

Erwin 13 Mar 2006 23:28

I have attachments on a separate server with some minor hacks to the attachment php files and templates.

Paul M 13 Mar 2006 23:47

Anyone with more than a few hundred MB of attachements should move them out of the DB and into the file system. Personally I would always use the file system anyway, I don't think attachments belong in the database (the only time it's useful to have them in the DB is when moving server)

Kevlar 13 Mar 2006 23:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erwin
I have attachments on a separate server with some minor hacks to the attachment php files and templates.

I guess... the next question would be, how did you come across those minor hacks to allow you to run the attachments from a different server? :surprised:

AdminNation 14 Mar 2006 00:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevlar
I guess... the next question would be, how did you come across those minor hacks to allow you to run the attachments from a different server? :surprised:

Given some of the hacks he's released, its pretty safe to assume that he meant that he figured out how to mod the files accordingly. There is no publically released hack that tells you how to do it.

Trigunflame 14 Mar 2006 11:42

http://mysqldump.azundris.com/archiv...-Database.html

This is a very good read for anyone that would like more "exact" information on why Files stored in Database for a busy site is not a good idea; as well as a compromise.

Keep the master storage in the Database, while providing a local cache in the file system.

Erwin 15 Mar 2006 20:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevlar
I guess... the next question would be, how did you come across those minor hacks to allow you to run the attachments from a different server? :surprised:

It's actually easier than it looks - make sure subdomains are included in the cookie, then have an attachment server that runs a strip down vbulletin with just attachment.php, global.php and some include files, modify attachment.php, modify the attachment templates to point to the subdomain for the attachment server, and you're done.

Paul M 16 Mar 2006 00:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erwin
It's actually easier than it looks - make sure subdomains are included in the cookie, then have an attachment server that runs a strip down vbulletin with just attachment.php, global.php and some include files, modify attachment.php, modify the attachment templates to point to the subdomain for the attachment server, and you're done.

I would be interested to know how that is covered by the licence since you are running two copies of vb ?

who is chris c 16 Mar 2006 01:29

well if the forum powered it all (on the backend) it wouldnt be a violation it still would be 1 copy (just not in the directory structure they supplied)

Kevlar 16 Mar 2006 12:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erwin
It's actually easier than it looks - make sure subdomains are included in the cookie, then have an attachment server that runs a strip down vbulletin with just attachment.php, global.php and some include files, modify attachment.php, modify the attachment templates to point to the subdomain for the attachment server, and you're done.

Thanks for the insight... I'm going to have to try this today and see if it helps lessen the load on my primary server (as it's currently buckling).

Erwin 16 Mar 2006 20:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M
I would be interested to know how that is covered by the licence since you are running two copies of vb ?

I run a few webservers with multiple copies of vB. :) But they are within the same network and for the same site - Jelsoft allows that.

GrCh_Jeff 19 Mar 2006 12:39

Please explain how I would do this legally? Thanx.

kerplunknet 21 Mar 2006 22:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrCh_Jeff
Please explain how I would do this legally? Thanx.

Only one copy can be available to the public, for public use.

GrCh_Jeff 23 Mar 2006 17:50

would you explain this please?
Quote:

But they are within the same network and for the same site - Jelsoft allows that
I want to somehow run a second server same members same site name linked to the present server for storage and upload/download uses.storage for the site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.