vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=139462

Digg.com System Integration
by ZomgStuff
15 Feb 2007 03:44

Well I haven't seen this posted yet so I'll give it a crack.
Digg.com will bring your site huge traffic, trust me.
A friend and I made this where you can click "digg this" in a thread and then embed the "digg me" button in a thread.

Screenshots are below.


Admin CP -> Custom BB Code -> Add New BB Code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now for the template edit for your submit link to be on the thread.
Admin CP -> Styles and Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Template -> postbit_legacy.
and
Admin CP -> Styles and Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Template -> postbit

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can get the images for the thread here:
http://digg.com/tools/buttons

Screenshot:
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1613/sn1ow5.jpg
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/5140/sn2rt0.jpg

AresGW 15 Feb 2007 04:39

For the template code... which template do we put that in?

Thanks

flamewalker 15 Feb 2007 04:57

postbit_legacy... but i can't get this to work, always says "This doesn't look like a valid url!

Snake 15 Feb 2007 09:13

Haha where is t he download link? :D

simalert 15 Feb 2007 12:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by flamewalker (Post 1182958)
postbit_legacy... but i can't get this to work, always says "This doesn't look like a valid url!

It works perfectly for me. Did you remember to change the URL for your own and not use the example one?

ZomgStuff 15 Feb 2007 14:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snake (Post 1183041)
Haha where is t he download link? :D

There is no download, just this template change. I guess I placed this in the wrong seciton sorry! I just signed up here last night so I was't too familiar where everything went

projectego 15 Feb 2007 15:39

Awesome idea for a mod! Nice work. ;)

CBrown 15 Feb 2007 16:58

Where "exactly" am I putting that code in my postbit_legacy template? Before/after with a condition? I'm new at this.. sorry. Love the mod idea.

simalert 15 Feb 2007 17:04

You can put it anywhere you want, it depends where on the screen you want it to appear.

I wanted mine appearing before the 'Thanks' button that's part of the thanks hack so I added it before that. If I didn't have the thanks hack I'd have looked for the edit button code and placed it before that. This would have then put the link at the bottom of the post window by the edit and quote buttons.

Don't forget to change the image part too so it's a valid image.

ZomgStuff 15 Feb 2007 17:10

Depends on where you want it. The simplest way is to copy the entire code for the template, paste it in Dreamweaver and place your mouse where you want it to be, then paste the code. Here is where I placed mine (in postbit), although I don't know if it will be the same for you because my template is heavily modded.

After

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and before
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


pcoskat 15 Feb 2007 18:38

Ok...I'm lost. In the screenshots, it looks like the digg button is in the sig, or actually in the post.

Does any have any live versions of this?

ZomgStuff 15 Feb 2007 19:06

Once you dugg the thread you can place the digg bb code anywhere such as [digg]digg.com/article[/digg] anywhere, IE in the post or in your sig. There I have it in my signature AND the tread.

Lizard King 15 Feb 2007 19:22

You have tons of errors in the code you gave. Here is the corrected one

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


ZomgStuff 15 Feb 2007 19:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lizard King (Post 1183364)
You have tons of errors in the code you gave. Here is the corrected one

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

border=0 doesn't need the "" because it's not a string, for numbers you don't need it. That might be wrong but it's worked for me before. How is this tons?

UgLy-NeRd 15 Feb 2007 21:32

Nice. Thanks.


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.