vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=321979

Passing array to a template to format as a table
by twistsol
02 Mar 2016 19:27

I'm a newbie to HTML, CSS, PHP and relatively new to vBulletin, admin for less than a year, and I literally wrote my first php code yesterday. Old COBOL guys can still learn new things. :up:

Last night I created a script that gathered some data from the database and formatted it as an HTML table in the PHP script and passed that variable with text to a page and template I created by following tutorials I found here. The output on the page was fine but I'm questioning the technique.

I think it would make more sense to pass a variable as a two dimensional array to the template and have the template code display it broken out into a table to display on the page from that point.

Is this possible? If so can someone provide some hints as to what I'd need.

If it matters,
vb 4.2.3
PHP 5.4.45
Apache 2.4.16
OSX 10.11.3

Thanks much for any assistance.

Chris

MarkFL 02 Mar 2016 19:46

Hello and welcome to vBorg, Chris! :)

While I haven't personally used this feature, I think what you're after is like what you find in the "FORUMDISPLAY" template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It appears the array $activeusers is passed to the template, and then the tag:

<vb:each from="activeusers" value="row">

iterates for each row in the array, and gives the name "row" to the rows during the iterations. So, I'm thinking you would do something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Dave 02 Mar 2016 20:18

https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/...mplates_syntax also contains some useful info regarding the syntax in templates.

twistsol 02 Mar 2016 20:28

Thanks Mark, I think that's exactly what I was after. I'll need to look at it tonight when I'm not doing my day job.

Thanks also Dave. Clearly I need to spend more time reading about all of this stuff but time, as they say, is a commodity in short supply.

Chris

--------------- Added 03 Mar 2016 at 03:22 ---------------

It worked perfectly.


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.