vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248042

GlowHost.com 07 Sep 2010 12:37

Its a problem with the StopForumSpam site. They recently updated things and submissions to their DB are behaving strangely.

They important parts of this mod work which is looking up known spammers and blocking them. Once they fix their site, submissions should work again. We will look for a workaround in the mean time for those of you that want to report spammers, but the current problems with the stopforumspam submission process should not discourage you from usage of this mod because the primary goal is to block spammers, reporting them is secondary.

The original mod also currently has similar issues so I guess they did not simply block this mod.

This is a good reason to add in botscout as another poster has mentioned so that an alternative service can be used if one or the other is down.

Adding botscout may delay release of the 2.0 series which is being cleaned up for release now.

BadgerDog 07 Sep 2010 12:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2094960)
This is a good reason to add in botscout as another poster has mentioned so that an alternative service can be used if one or the other is down.

Adding botscout may delay release of the 2.0 series which is being cleaned up for release now.

That's probably a good idea in order to have a back up plan for auto adding of spammers.

The strength of this system (and mods that support it) is the team approach of all vBulletin sites using it and reporting spammers to a common database for the benefit of everyone. Having to manually hand add every spammer will discourage a lot of web masters from finding the time to do so and the content will be come stale and inevitably useless.

Thanks for your efforts ... :)

Regards,
Badger

GlowHost.com 07 Sep 2010 12:53

Sure :)

I definitely understand the importance of the contributions part. Without it, these mods would not be very useful. :) But for now most of us probably do not have time for manual submissions and can get by using the older results until fixes have been made.

We will be looking at what changed on SFS today and start work on the Botscout stuff.

Lazorbeam 07 Sep 2010 13:48

I installed the products, and get the following error after hitting the "post thread" button:

Quote:

Warning: require_once(includes/functions_vbghsfs.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/class_dm_user.php(1853) : eval()'d code on line 3

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'includes/functions_vbghsfs.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/stormsp1/public_html/consortium/includes/class_dm_user.php(1853) : eval()'d code on line 3
Any idea? The error disappears when I disable the addon.

GlowHost.com 07 Sep 2010 14:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lazorbeam (Post 2094980)
I installed the products, and get the following error after hitting the "post thread" button:

Any idea? The error disappears when I disable the addon.

Yes, I have an idea. Did you upload functions_vbghsfs.php into your /includes folder per the installation instructions found in the readme file?

The error you sent says the file does not exist.

GlowHost.com 07 Sep 2010 14:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadgerDog (Post 2094965)
That's probably a good idea in order to have a back up plan for auto adding of spammers.

Botscout isn't going to be a good alternative unfortunately. It only allows 20 queries per day.

GlowHost.com 07 Sep 2010 17:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iguana Goddess (Post 2094365)
Seems like when I submit user info it's not getting to the stopforumspan site. I had some one register using an IP that I had submitted when they had registered earlier in the day.

and

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadgerDog (Post 2094954)
I think there's something wrong with either this mod, or StopForumSpam.Com ...
Bagder

1.2.5 has been updated which should work with the new SFS web site.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jezza101 (Post 2094912)
Just wanted to say thanks for a great mod...

I tried to vote for MOTM but i get a permissions error when I try :(.
Edit: ah have to vote on front page poll - i get it!

You are welcome, thanks for the thanks! :)

Actually you are supposed to vote in the top right of the first post where it says Mod of the Month. Next to the "Mark As Installed" do-hicky.

That part gives you an error? The poll thing is just for a guess of who will win I believe :)

Lazorbeam 07 Sep 2010 18:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2094984)
Yes, I have an idea. Did you upload functions_vbghsfs.php into your /includes folder per the installation instructions found in the readme file?

The error you sent says the file does not exist.

Ah yes, this fixed my problem, thanks!

My mistake was putting the "upload" folder into my forum root, rather than opening the folder first.

BadgerDog 07 Sep 2010 18:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2094987)
Botscout isn't going to be a good alternative unfortunately. It only allows 20 queries per day.

That's a show stopper ... I don't think they'll last long as a site ... ;)

Upgraded to v1.25.. will advise ..

Regards,
Badger

BadgerDog 07 Sep 2010 18:33

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2094984)
Yes, I have an idea. Did you upload functions_vbghsfs.php into your /includes folder per the installation instructions found in the readme file?

The error you sent says the file does not exist.

Interesting ...

Referring to your comment to the other poster, I find no file in your download package called functions_vbghsfs.php?

In my v1.25 download package there is a file with a name that's close to it called functions_ghsom.php. (see pic)

Ironically, when I upload functions_ghsom.php to my /includes sub-directory, I can't find it after that in the /includes sub-directory, but there is one that appears called functions_vbghsfs.php... does my Unix platform do something to this filename?

Regards,
Badger

BadgerDog 07 Sep 2010 18:57

Update:

I'd recommend that before anyone installs v1.25 of this mod, they be prepared to step back to v1.24. Once 1.25 is installed, quickly check your "mark forums read" function.

As soon as we imported the v1.25 XML and began to use the forums, we noticed that the "Mark Forums Read" function was completely broken. When members would click on that vBulletin function, it would simply clear to a white screen" and say "done" in the browser.

Since the only thing we had done was upgrade from 1.24 to 1.25 of this mod, we immediately DISABLED this mod and the "mark read" vBulletin function started working fine again.

Regards,
Badger

Iguana Goddess 07 Sep 2010 19:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2095072)
and



1.2.5 has been updated which should work with the new SFS web site.



You are welcome, thanks for the thanks! :)

Actually you are supposed to vote in the top right of the first post where it says Mod of the Month. Next to the "Mark As Installed" do-hicky.

That part gives you an error? The poll thing is just for a guess of who will win I believe :)

Installed, will report any issues. Thanks :)

Lazorbeam 07 Sep 2010 20:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadgerDog (Post 2095114)
Update:

I'd recommend that before anyone installs v1.25 of this mod, they be prepared to step back to v1.24. Once 1.25 is installed, quickly check your "mark forums read" function.

As soon as we imported the v1.25 XML and began to use the forums, we noticed that the "Mark Forums Read" function was completely broken. When members would click on that vBulletin function, it would simply clear to a white screen" and say "done" in the browser.

Since the only thing we had done was upgrade from 1.24 to 1.25 of this mod, we immediately DISABLED this mod and the "mark read" vBulletin function started working fine again.

Regards,
Badger

Mark forums read function is working fine here on 1.25.

DBs 08 Sep 2010 12:59

Have installed 1.2.5 and I still have a problem with submitting the data using the AdminCP. When i select Remove User, Remove Posts, Submit to SFS I click the submit button and it reloads the user information again.

GlowHost.com 08 Sep 2010 13:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by DBs (Post 2095372)
Have installed 1.2.5 and I still have a problem with submitting the data using the AdminCP. When i select Remove User, Remove Posts, Submit to SFS I click the submit button and it reloads the user information again.

Anyone else?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.