vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248042

ForceHSS 08 Dec 2014 13:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by markoroots (Post 2526291)
Sorry... for my english... :)
But I have disabled the username filter and the plugin still stop the registrations blocking the usernames.

That is because the usernames that were blocked before are now in your database remove the xml only and reinstall it again to replace the default tables in mysql

blah100 09 Dec 2014 00:24

Is there a way to get rid of the "Thank you for posting! Your post will not be visible until a moderator has approved it for posting." pop-up message when a post is made with a blacklisted keyword? Spammers that get through and see this message will just keep posting the same post again and again when they notice that their post is not seen.

Is there a way to allow the user who posted the message to see their post, letting them think that their spam is visible to everybody when in actuality it's moderated for moderators to either approve or delete?

ForceHSS 09 Dec 2014 00:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by blah100 (Post 2526387)
Is there a way to get rid of the "Thank you for posting! Your post will not be visible until a moderator has approved it for posting." pop-up message when a post is made with a blacklisted keyword? Spammers that get through and see this message will just keep posting the same post again and again when they notice that their post is not seen.

Is there a way to allow the user who posted the message to see their post, letting them think that their spam is visible to everybody when in actuality it's moderated for moderators to either approve or delete?

Make a new group and put new users in this group you can set up the settings so new members will auto go into the new group and change the settings so the new members are moderated

c.c. 27 Dec 2014 08:30

I have a super mod who can't see spamomatic in the list of moderate tools? Why would that be? All moderaters should be able to see it. I'm a admin and I can see it just fine. Is there any rights that would prevent that?

Pers 29 Jan 2015 20:09

In attempting to update my vbulletin 4.2.2 site I have managed to inadvertently get both my Admin and personal user permanently banned and apparently Glow-Host is the cause; my IP is what is being banned.

I cannot access the Admin control panel but do have access to the forum database and site files. In searching the database I've been unable to locate a "fix" for the ban. I'd appreciate some help in clearing this problem.

ozzy47 29 Jan 2015 20:14

Ok lets do this, disable plugins via the includes/config.php file.

To do that open your includes/config.php file and below <?php add the following.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So it looks like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use a editor like notepad++ to edit any files, don't use Notepad or Wordpad.

Then see if you can get into the ACP.

Pers 29 Jan 2015 20:21

Thanks for your reply, Ozzy. I tried that; no luck.

ForceHSS 29 Jan 2015 20:28

Login to phpmyadmin and remove your ip from the userban table also check user table incase your group id has been changed to the banned group

Pers 29 Jan 2015 20:39

When attempting to log in to the site of the AdminCP I receive this message (for both users.



You have been banned for the following reason:
No reason was specified.

Date the ban will be lifted: Never


The userban table is empty and the group IDs for both the Admin and my personal user are correct (userID for a banned user is 8) In examining the contents of the user table entries for both Admin and my personal user the only "odd" or "out of the ordinary" table entry appears to be "showvbcode" which, for all other users, contains a "0" entry and for both Admin and my personal user contains "2". I don't know what the significance of the table entry is and I haven't done a trial and error to check to see if changing the entry clears the issue yet (I just discovered it as I was typing this).

ForceHSS 29 Jan 2015 21:51

in user table showvbcode it should be 2. It might of banned your account on a custom plugin as I dont know what you have go over all tables to see if you can find it. But it could be just an ip ban and not an account ban depends on your plugins. If you want I could login to your account and fix the problem if you want pm me the info

Pers 29 Jan 2015 22:28

Thank you for the offer, Force. At this point I've tried the edit to the config.php file and can confirm that Glowhost is no longer active. The two users are not banned (at least not in the database), there are no IP bans (I've never banned an IP although I do ban ranges of IPs in a .htacess file -- and yes, I checked that too) and I looked in the datastore table to confirm that my IP is not banned there, either.

When I attempt to access the control panel I get a "welcome, thanks for logging in" message and then the login page reloads. I had a friend (several minutes ago) try to access the same page with the Admin name and password from an entirely different IP address with the same result.

At this stage I'm thinking that the issue is not Glowhost related and I'm going to do a upgrade of the software and hope the issue is resolved that way. I'm otherwise out of ideas.

Thanks to all that offered suggestions. Many thanks, in fact.

ForceHSS 29 Jan 2015 22:35

Did you install anything else apart from this plugin before this problem. Also, when you updated to 4.2.2 did you put the fix into your config as this can cause problems if not done the best thing you can do is disable all plugins via config use notepad++ to edit the config

To do that, open your includes/config.php file and below <?php add the following.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


So it looks like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Use an editor like notepad++ to edit any files, don't use Notepad or Wordpad.
After you have done this update to 4.2.3 as the fixes are in this version it would be good if you could login to the admincp to turn the board off first, but if you can make a post to tell your members what is going to happen

Pers 29 Jan 2015 23:02

No, I hadn't added any plugins prior to this issue arising. And yes, I did add that define line in my config.php file to disable all plugins, so hopefully all will go well (crosses fingers).

kh99 29 Jan 2015 23:44

If you still have no luck,you might try uploading tools.php to the admincp folder and then do "Update the forum and usergroup cache".

Spam O Matic Question
by oneobgyn
09 Feb 2015 22:43

Presently I am running vBulletin 4.2.2 for my forum and am a strong advocate for the use of Spam O Matic which has reduced our moderator work load in eliminating spammers. Frankly we cannot be without it

We are now considering a conversion to vBulletin 5 and were made aware that plug ins will not transfer across in the conversion. We were also made aware that the present version of Spam O Matic will not function on vBulletin 5. Is this true and if so can anyone tell me if there will be a version of Spam O Matic which functions on VB5

TIA


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.