vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=170348

GTQuotes - custom quote box as seen on vbulletin.org
by Princeton
12 Feb 2008 22:35

2 Attachment(s)
Now you can have the same bbcode_quote template modification as seen on vbulletin.org.

Why GTQuotes - A Custom bbcode_quote Template Modification?
  • Uses the <cite> element to markup the names of referenced quotes.
  • Uses the <blockquote> element for quoting paragraphs of text.
  • Less code.
1.0.0 VERSION (download gtquotes.zip)

Show your support and click Mark As Installed and Nominate For MOTM.

Need Help?
For continued support and upgrades - support by donating via PayPal.


Instructions:
  1. Download gtquotes.zip
  2. Upload q.gif to your images/misc folder. (NOTE: I supplied a few quote gifs for you to choose from. Just upload the one that you will use.)
  3. Go to ADMINCP / STYLE MANAGER / MAIN CSS
    1. FIND "Additional CSS" table
    2. ENTER custom CSS after your defined CSS: (NOTE: You may need to change image URL.)
  4. Go to ADMINCP / STYLE MANAGER / Edit Templates
    1. REPLACE bbcode_quote TEMPLATE
Frequently Asked Questions

Q)
What exactly does this modification do?
A) Once implemented, this modification will change the way quotes appear to the reader - similar to how it is here on vbulletin.org.
Quote:

Not sure what this is suppose to do. Can you provide a screenshot?
Quote:

Originally Posted by Princeton
Here's how it looks like. :D
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freesteyelz (Post 1399621)
Props to the new quote. :up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1399705)
yeah, looks cool.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deezelpope (Post 1399773)
Yeah, they're very cool!:up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Audentio (Post 1399278)
I love em :P. It looks perfect on the Blue lagoon style.




Q)
Why don't you have a border around the quote?
A) It defeats the purpose as to why I created it. It was created because there's a difference in how the QUOTE and other (ie. PHP, HTML, CODE) bbcodes are displayed. For example, the default QUOTE bbcode is displayed with a 100% width whereas the others are a fixed width. To me, this wasn't consistent with the overall design. It looked fine by itself but in combination with others it just didn't flow. At least not for me. :)

Q) Why don't you use an endquote?
A) It just doesn't look right when using multiple quotes. It's actually a bit confusing.

Q) Why does my quote image not display?
A)
  1. Make sure you uploaded the image.
  2. Check custom CSS and:
    1. check that the location of the image is correct (default : /forums/images/misc/q.gif)
    2. check that the name of image is correct (default : q.gif)
History:
  • Feb 12th 2008 - GTQuotes - A Custom bbcode_quote Template Modification release
Recently Released Modifications:

vietfancy 12 Feb 2008 23:40

is it the same as this mod i made here awhile ago?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166865

Audentio 13 Feb 2008 03:58

Lovely, thanks Princeton!

Pcwolfx® 13 Feb 2008 09:39

thanks princeton :up:

Princeton 13 Feb 2008 12:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by vietfancy (Post 1441814)
is it the same as this mod i made here awhile ago?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166865

no, this is the exact same "quote box" we use here on vbulletin.org - less code

Amenadiel 13 Feb 2008 18:13

This should become integrated on every style. Thank you.

MotoUp 13 Feb 2008 19:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by vietfancy (Post 1441814)
is it the same as this mod i made here awhile ago?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166865

It has to be because I'm using it on my site, and this shows it was just released today.

iogames 13 Feb 2008 23:21

I love the Old One, is self contained and it doesn't create confusion on what you have to read.
Anyways good work P

Jase2 14 Feb 2008 02:36

This work with 3.7 BETA 4?

Regards Jason

Princeton 14 Feb 2008 13:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jase2 (Post 1442639)
This work with 3.7 BETA 4?

Regards Jason

It hasn't been tested on 3.7. You are free to try it. (most likely it will work)

Jase2 14 Feb 2008 14:14

Ok -- I'll test it out now.

Do you plan to release it for 3.7?

Regards Jason :)

Princeton 14 Feb 2008 14:34

yes, it will be released when 3.7 (not BETA) is available

SEOvB 15 Feb 2008 23:53

It works fine on 3.7 versions

Princeton 16 Feb 2008 04:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by FRDS (Post 1444100)
It works fine on 3.7 versions

thanks for the update :up:

katie hunter 08 Apr 2008 23:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Princeton (Post 1444230)
thanks for the update :up:

Hey nice mod (= but what if i want to add this by the end of the quote, to close quote

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...1&d=1199648444

how to do that ?


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:44.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.