vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=230503

CMS Disabler
by Trek
18 Dec 2009 23:36

1 Attachment(s)
Reason why I wrote this mod

When vB4 gold comes out, I'd like to switch to it, get my forums working first and foremost. While that work is going on, I have content authors that need to create content, but I don't want this done on a live site where my users can see them working. I also need to skin the CMS, etc.

Once things are skinned, content is written, all of that. I want to simply "turn it on" and everything is live and ready to go.

What this mod does
  • Allows you to set usergroups that can access your CMS.
  • If a user is not of this usergroup, they are forwarded to the forums.php page.
  • It will not display the "Home" button on the tabnav if the user is not in the allowed usergroups list as well.
Notes

Thanks


BirdOPrey5, for updating the mod to work with vb 4.2 as well as fixing some other issues. I'm no longer supporting the mod and the code is reusable and I've updated the download to reflect his code/changes.

To Lynne for telling me what I needed to do when I asked the question, but not specifically telling me how to do it (doing it for me). Learning is fun, sometimes. ;)


Installation:

Install the XML as you would any other vB mod.

Trek 18 Dec 2009 23:39

This is a simple mod, but I figured maybe someone else could use it. Please let me know if you have any issues with it or suggestions. I'm a rookie at this so polite suggestions are welcome. =)

Added a quick update, no functionality changes, just made the settings pages look a little cleaner/understandable.

Trek 19 Dec 2009 00:43

Ouch, 1 star... what's wrong with it? heh

Is it not working or something?

cosy 19 Dec 2009 01:04

i dont know if is needed because u can have a forum section for that and then when the content is ready just copy+paste

Trek 19 Dec 2009 01:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by cosy (Post 1933186)
i dont know if is needed because u can have a forum section for that and then when the content is ready just copy+paste

Right, but this way the entire CMS doesn't show up, ever, for those without access to it. So you can skin it, etc all behind the scenes.

Not really a big deal, I wrote it for myself as I find it useful, but... a 1 star... OUCH! heh

Merjawy 19 Dec 2009 01:31

Haven't really looked around 4.0 that much.
I didn't know you can't disable/close CMS while the forum is open.. if that is the case then by all means, this is a needed mod.. I will install... Thanks


Don't worry,, be happy !!! you got 2 now :)

halkum 19 Dec 2009 02:05

I like the mod as it makes it easier to disable then going into the plugins and sort through them to disable it manually.

Alfa1 19 Dec 2009 03:12

Its actually pretty strange that you cant disable the CMS. What if you only want to run forum, groups and blog? I think this mod is a great idea.

sebaldus 19 Dec 2009 04:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1933231)
Its actually pretty strange that you cant disable the CMS. What if you only want to run forum, groups and blog? I think this mod is a great idea.

Yes you can do that in the Config.php script.

Maybe a great mod, but when you are upgrade to Gold you shall remember to disable the Config.php script using: define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);

And then you are sure that all mods are disabled when upgrade.

Otherwise is it a great mod, to disable the CMS only.

That's for sure.


I will also install it, so I easy can disable only the CMS.

Thanks.
Sebaldus.

sebaldus 19 Dec 2009 05:02

It's only one problems and I was shore that you could turn of the CMS using this mods.

But I can't turn it of using this mods.

Have I misunderstand something?

Regards from
Sebaldus.

sebaldus 19 Dec 2009 05:05

Edited of me, because I can't get the the mod works as I thought it would?

Still can still access CMS, without double click.

So I must had misunderstand it totally.
Sebaldus

Trek 19 Dec 2009 05:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by sebaldus (Post 1933269)
Edited of me, because I can't get the the mod works as I thought it would?

Still can still access CMS, without double click.

So I must had misunderstand it totally.
Sebaldus

Sebaldus, how are you attempting to access the CMS page?

By default I've set the mod to allow admins (usergroup 6), so unless you change that, you'll be able to get in by default.

buontaiviem 19 Dec 2009 07:33

Default setting of CMS had a permision setting to do that. Didn't need this mod!

sebaldus 19 Dec 2009 07:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trek (Post 1933284)
Sebaldus, how are you attempting to access the CMS page?

By default I've set the mod to allow admins (usergroup 6), so unless you change that, you'll be able to get in by default.

Hi
I use Admin who are user group 6 as default.

So if U are Admin, you don't have to double click for getting access?

Maybe I shall send U a PM little later and let you get access to my forum so U can see if there maybe are other mod who make problems with this?

I have fellow your instruction total and are driving a Norwegian support forums for install, support, design and such things.

This are the first mod as I have had problems with or really don't understand.

So it's enough me who not understand the meaning of this mod.. :D

Have a really wonderful Christmas my forums friend.

All the best from Sebaldus.:up:

Merjawy 19 Dec 2009 07:55

As I said before, I haven't looked around 4.0 much so I didn't know if you could or not

I did check the permission and yes you can use permissions to close CMS indeed


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.