vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248042

funkyirishman 16 Aug 2013 20:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2439120)
Did you have the user name part of the plugin turn on or off a screenshot of the settings will help

Ok managed to get into the settings and uploaded the latest version and all is set to original settings.

The Username part of the plug in is enabled anything else I can do?

thanks

ForceHSS 16 Aug 2013 20:34

The username part of it needs to be disabled as it is set like this when you install it. But if you dont want the same member to get that same error best to remove the xml and all files in ftp then reinstall it again and if you dont want to mod each post you will need to change a few settings in it so do look over that part of the settings.

Halfasterisk 17 Aug 2013 22:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by tekniques (Post 2438877)
I am having a problem where known spammers (I checked the credentials on sfs.com) are being allowed to register.

However, it auto-moderates their posts like clockwork. (usually via akismet)

Any suggestions on why it would be passing the SFS even though they are listed as known spammers?

I am having this same problem with it allowing known spammers to register or "passing" the test. When I go check manually they are listed on SFS.

It also doesn't have a single stat as blocking any spammers on the front page so I am assuming I just don't have something set right so if someone knows can you help?

Here's a couple of pics in case it helps solve it.
http://screencast.com/t/TXae0v07n
http://screencast.com/t/l3oUAc2AtLM

ForceHSS 18 Aug 2013 02:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halfasterisk (Post 2439412)
I am having this same problem with it allowing known spammers to register or "passing" the test. When I go check manually they are listed on SFS.

It also doesn't have a single stat as blocking any spammers on the front page so I am assuming I just don't have something set right so if someone knows can you help?

Here's a couple of pics in case it helps solve it.
http://screencast.com/t/TXae0v07n
http://screencast.com/t/l3oUAc2AtLM

Need to see all your settings for this mod

Halfasterisk 18 Aug 2013 03:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2439447)
Need to see all your settings for this mod

Here ya go. Thank you for looking at it for me.

http://screencast.com/t/8B1Sgus5
http://screencast.com/t/peyMUQ8RU9Y
http://screencast.com/t/bqHadwrswW
http://screencast.com/t/FnmtYa8CIY

funkyirishman 18 Aug 2013 19:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2439227)
The username part of it needs to be disabled as it is set like this when you install it. But if you dont want the same member to get that same error best to remove the xml and all files in ftp then reinstall it again and if you dont want to mod each post you will need to change a few settings in it so do look over that part of the settings.


Thanks

I updated to the latest version but what exact setting should I change so that this user can register or any other default settings to change? Is it just change the user name to disabled? What exactly will this do just so I understand.

Cheers

ForceHSS 18 Aug 2013 22:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by funkyirishman (Post 2439597)
Thanks

I updated to the latest version but what exact setting should I change so that this user can register or any other default settings to change? Is it just change the user name to disabled? What exactly will this do just so I understand.

Cheers

The user name is disabled by default so best to leave it like that. Remember for that same user to register with the same name you need to fully remove the xml and files and install it like its for the first time. As you said you have updated it

Halfasterisk 20 Aug 2013 01:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halfasterisk (Post 2439453)

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2439606)
The user name is disabled by default so best to leave it like that. Remember for that same user to register with the same name you need to fully remove the xml and files and install it like its for the first time. As you said you have updated it

Any chance you could see something I need to change in my setup that would be keeping it from working?

ForceHSS 20 Aug 2013 02:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halfasterisk (Post 2439857)
Any chance you could see something I need to change in my setup that would be keeping it from working?

Spam-O-Matic: Protect Users = 1
Akismet: API Key fill this in

Can't see this next setting
Akismet: Auto-submit from Easy Cleanup = Yes

StopForumSpam: Query Connection Errors = Allow Registration
StopForumSpam: Remote Expiry = 90
Newbies Manager: Put New User Into Newbies Group? = No
Newbies Manager: Newbies Group ID = Check this group id
Newbies Manager: Auto-promote Users From Newbies To Trusted/Registered Users? = Yes
Auto-Moderation: Enable = Disable
Auto-Moderation: Minimum Post Count = 1
Affiliate System: Link text = Leave blank
Credits: Give Thanks = No

Superorb 20 Aug 2013 23:51

How do I ban a user, remove all posts, submit to Akismet, etc when the user has not made a single post yet?

ForceHSS 21 Aug 2013 00:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Superorb (Post 2439991)
How do I ban a user, remove all posts, submit to Akismet, etc when the user has not made a single post yet?

Go to admincp/plugin & products/add new plugin

Product = vBulletin
Hook location = useradmin_edit_column1
Title = Submit to StopForumSpam.com
Execution order = 5
plugin php code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Make sure input your spam o matic code in the above code

Active = Yes

If you want I have another custom plugin that works in a different way just pm me if you want it but adding this helps

Superorb 21 Aug 2013 00:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2440005)
Go to admincp/plugin & products/add new plugin

Product = vBulletin
Hook location = useradmin_edit_column1
Title = Submit to StopForumSpam.com
Execution order = 5
plugin php code

Thanks for this. However, after successfully adding the plugin I cannot see it on the left column in admincp. Should it be there?

Halfasterisk 21 Aug 2013 01:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2439859)
Spam-O-Matic: Protect Users = 1
Akismet: API Key fill this in

Can't see this next setting
Akismet: Auto-submit from Easy Cleanup = Yes

StopForumSpam: Query Connection Errors = Allow Registration
StopForumSpam: Remote Expiry = 90
Newbies Manager: Put New User Into Newbies Group? = No
Newbies Manager: Newbies Group ID = Check this group id
Newbies Manager: Auto-promote Users From Newbies To Trusted/Registered Users? = Yes
Auto-Moderation: Enable = Disable
Auto-Moderation: Minimum Post Count = 1
Affiliate System: Link text = Leave blank
Credits: Give Thanks = No

Well I changed those things to the way you have them and I did enter the akismet key but still the same result with every new registrant being passed on through. Since it is not catching a single registration I'd think I just didn't have something checked or enabled. Under plugins in ACP when I go look at "edit" Glowhost it has no dependency checked. Don't know what that is exactly but figured I'd put it out there just in case.

http://screencast.com/t/DEV54Rfp

ForceHSS 21 Aug 2013 02:11

Pm your Skype info this plugin works and does stop spam bots

ForceHSS 21 Aug 2013 02:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Superorb (Post 2440013)
Thanks for this. However, after successfully adding the plugin I cannot see it on the left column in admincp. Should it be there?

Check members profile


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:38.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.