vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=173832

Server moved, issue...
by UncoderMom
22 Mar 2008 17:47

I moved my site to a new dedicated server (centos) this past weekend and some of my users are having issues loading the index.php. Some in FF others in IE and almost all in aol browsers. Im not having any issues with any of them. LIGHTNING fast here!

The DNS info carried over and only the sites IP changed. Any ideas? Could it be a setting on their end? Most of them have cleared their cache a few times and cookies to boot. So its not that...

Reports are after they refresh the index page 3 or so times it stops hanging...

Lynne 22 Mar 2008 18:02

I'm having problems loading your site. Funny thing is that I get a partial title (It says "- Forums") but then it just hangs.

Have you checked your error_logs or access_logs?

SEOvB 22 Mar 2008 20:22

Sounds like php/apache could be having some issues on your new server.

UncoderMom 22 Mar 2008 21:24

Even though it loads fine for me? LOL Just certain members.

My error logs @/forum/error_log?

--------------- Added 22 Mar 2008 at 21:27 ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1471699)
I'm having problems loading your site. Funny thing is that I get a partial title (It says "- Forums") but then it just hangs.

Have you checked your error_logs or access_logs?

Thats not the forum I have users complaining on.. My big board. I was working on that site today and may have made the page funny at the time you viewed it.. Its very under developed so theres now traffic to complain LOL.

My big board.. Is where the complaints are.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Lynne 22 Mar 2008 21:40

Well, guess what? I am stuck on Loading, Loading on that page also. OK, I tried it a couple of times.... do you have ads on there? I get hung up right after I see some other site name go across the status bar.

edit: Fifth times the charm. I just got on. But I wonder if it is an ad thing.

UncoderMom 22 Mar 2008 22:44

I have google affiliate ads.. hmmm
Let me try removing the link ad there. and just leaving the banner one.

How about now?

Lynne 22 Mar 2008 22:54

Well, I got on right away this time, but it looks like all the same ads are there (but I could be wrong). I would ask your users if they notice a difference cuz you were saying it was only happening some of the time.

UncoderMom 22 Mar 2008 23:13

I had a banner ad then a link add pasted side by side in the nav bar.. Maybe they didnt like eachother. LOL

I just went and checked on DH's laptop and it hung up for like a minute just for hte very first time aand then it was better.

I will ask some of my users if they are still having trouble.. Thanks Lynne! I'll report back!

Lynne 22 Mar 2008 23:38

I have had 'server hang' issues before. I would actually 'see' it happening while viewing 'top' on the server - all my httpd processes would just stop for a moment and the server loads would approach 0 and then it would suddenly jump back to life. I ended up going to a two server configuration at that time and haven't had the issues since. I did try to post over at vb.com in the Server Configuration forum for help on the issue, but I run a tracker on my site also and there is just no way I could turn it off to see if it was the problem - it is the main part of my site.

Marco van Herwaarden 23 Mar 2008 11:41

Loading the first time in IE, it takes minutes before the page is shown, and then it shows with a lot of forumicons missings.

Icons missing like:
http://www.misfitmoms.com/forum/imag.../forum_old.gif

On a page reload these icons do load. Are you maybe using some kind of hotlink protection?

King Kovifor 23 Mar 2008 16:57

I agree with Marco. It takes forever for your page to load (and I have a super fast internet connection).

UncoderMom 24 Mar 2008 00:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by King Kovifor (Post 1472514)
I agree with Marco. It takes forever for your page to load (and I have a super fast internet connection).


Odd.. I have absolutely no problems.. Okay.. time for tech support.

--------------- Added 24 Mar 2008 at 01:34 ---------------

Can a few of you who viewed my site with issues, preform, copy and paste a trace route for me?

Start ->
Run ->
Type 'cmd' ->
Press OK ->
Type 'tracert misfitmoms.com' ->
Right click the screen and click on 'Mark' ->
Highlight all the traceroute information ->
Right click the highlighted text ->

Chris-777 24 Mar 2008 04:27

Just chiming in that it's perfectly speedy for me.

Lynne 24 Mar 2008 05:42

Slow for me right now, so I grabbed this for you:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thought you might want this too:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


UncoderMom 24 Mar 2008 14:13

Weird. Its loading great for me. LOL LAst night it did start to hang a little with the image loads.

My host thinks it might be hanging because of hte google ad. It is whats in the status bar when mine hangs too.. AGH!

--------------- Added 24 Mar 2008 at 14:14 ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1473012)
Slow for me right now, so I grabbed this for you:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thought you might want this too:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Thanks! Passed it on to my host!

Thank you all for your help!


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12
Copyright © 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.