vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248042

arabianwolf 19 Jul 2013 16:48

Hi first of all thanks a lot for the great mod.
But i have a problem,i am running spaomatic 2.1.2 on vbulletin 4.2.1, I installed spamomatic successfully but now when i administrator or other members try to post or post thread it says "Are you sure you want to leave the page" when i hit leave it takes me in to a blank page with this "Server Error".

When i extend the error for reason it says "The website encountered an error while retrieving http://www.mydomain/newreply.php?do=postreply&t=2. It may be down for maintenance or configured incorrectly."

Also when i disable the mod from plugin manager everything gets normal to back then..

I really need this mod please solve this issue for me.

lebowski99 19 Jul 2013 17:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2434438)
No you have not uploaded the files

???

I used an FTP utility to upload the contents of the upload folder to the root directory. I then used both the FTP utility and the File Manager in the cPanel of my web hosting service to verify that each of the following files is on the server:

admincp/glowhostspamomatic.php
includes/functions_ghsom.php
includes/xml/cpnav_ghostspamomatic.xml

Each file has the exact same size shown on the original copy on my local drive.

After uploading I imported the product_glowhostspamomatic.xml file using the product manager. I was then able to view and edit the settings in the Options section.

So please humor me. What am I missing?

ForceHSS 19 Jul 2013 19:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebowski99 (Post 2434471)

So please humor me. What am I missing?

dont be rude if you want help i will give it but no one here has to if they dont want to. As i am a nice guy i will look pass this, this time

The root folder was it www or public_html that you click into first?
Check you have not renamed admincp folder you can do this by checking your config or check url when logging into admin panel on forums

ForceHSS 19 Jul 2013 19:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by arabianwolf (Post 2434451)
Hi first of all thanks a lot for the great mod.
But i have a problem,i am running spaomatic 2.1.2 on vbulletin 4.2.1, I installed spamomatic successfully but now when i administrator or other members try to post or post thread it says "Are you sure you want to leave the page" when i hit leave it takes me in to a blank page with this "Server Error".

When i extend the error for reason it says "The website encountered an error while retrieving http://www.mydomain/newreply.php?do=postreply&t=2. It may be down for maintenance or configured incorrectly."

Also when i disable the mod from plugin manager everything gets normal to back then..

I really need this mod please solve this issue for me.

Check all files are uploaded to correct folders

arabianwolf 19 Jul 2013 20:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2434480)
Check all files are uploaded to correct folders

Thanks a millionx You solved my problem ! my spam o matic is up and live on hunt :)

lebowski99 19 Jul 2013 23:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2434479)
dont be rude if you want help i will give it but no one here has to if they dont want to. As i am a nice guy i will look pass this, this time

Rude? Are you kidding me? That is a form of self-deprecation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2434479)
The root folder was it www or public_html that you click into first?
Check you have not renamed admincp folder you can do this by checking your config or check url when logging into admin panel on forums

I discovered that my web hosting service created a copy of my files when I migrated recently and I was copying the files to the duplicate version. Mystery solved.

Thanks!

Kyo-dono 20 Jul 2013 20:57

Does this mod work in vBulletin 5.x? ;)

tacklebox joe 21 Jul 2013 04:55

does this work in vB5?

ihstiv 22 Jul 2013 03:56

Today this plugin started blocking all registrations until I turned off the 'IP Check' option.

Is anybody else having the same problem?

bzcomputers 22 Jul 2013 04:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by ihstiv (Post 2434753)
Today this plugin started blocking all registrations until I turned off the 'IP Check' option.

Is anybody else having the same problem?

No. Still working great, the same as always.


You might want to check that you weren't just getting slammed by a bunch of bots or spammers at the same time (throughout the day) from known bad ips. It could appear that it was blocking everyone but in reality it could've been doing exactly what is was suppose to do ...that is until you turned it off.

vbresults 22 Jul 2013 19:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by ihstiv (Post 2434753)
Today this plugin started blocking all registrations until I turned off the 'IP Check' option.

Is anybody else having the same problem?

I'd think the IP check option is very important. :p

ihstiv 22 Jul 2013 23:10

Looks like a proxy server (or something) was introduced on my server recently so all users appear to come from the same IP address and the plugin thinks they are spammers. working w/ webhost to resolve. cheers

djbaxter 23 Jul 2013 00:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by ihstiv (Post 2434887)
Looks like a proxy server (or something) was introduced on my server recently so all users appear to come from the same IP address and the plugin thinks they are spammers. working w/ webhost to resolve. cheers

Two things to check:

1. Google speed?

2. Cloud VPS?

ihstiv 23 Jul 2013 00:50

the web host thinks it is caused by varnish which does reverse proxy, looks like installing mod_rpaf should solve the issue.

thanks for suggesting google speed - i played around with that recently as well so that is a possible culprit..

ae3799t 23 Jul 2013 06:15

I downloaded Spam-O-Matic, but found the install instructions to be a little bit confusing. It says upload "content" of the upload folder. I was told to actually upload the upload folder itself. Does this matter? Would like to see a little more specific locations. Where do you upload the product-glowhostspamomatic.xml? Our forum is in the /forum/ folder.

Our admincp folder was renamed. Does glowhostspamomatic.php get uploaded in it's admincp folder or in our renamed admincp folder? Thanks

Do the files go in these folders?

/forum/product-glowhostspamomatic.xml
/forum/includes/functions_ghsom.php
/forum/includes/xml/cpnav_glowhostspamomatic.xml
/forum/<renamed admincp>glowhostspamomatic.php

or these?

/forum/product-glowhostspamomatic.xml
/forum/upload/includes/functions_ghsom.php
/forum/upload/includes/xml/cpnav_glowhostspamomatic.xml
/forum/upload/admincp/glowhostspamomatic.php


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.