vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=328065

What type of announcement would include this?
by Dr.CustUmz
27 May 2020 17:56

I am working on my skin, and in template threadbit_announcementbit I found this block of code I cant seem to trigger.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have removed the if condition around it, and placed it in a comment

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But no matter how I set my announcement, I am not pulling any data in this snippet of code. Is there another announcement section I am missing? Other than announcement manager in the admincp.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is vB3 btw.

snakes1100 28 May 2020 00:56

global announcements differ from forum announcements

Dr.CustUmz 28 May 2020 09:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by snakes1100 (Post 2603122)
global announcements differ from forum announcements

Yes, but neither are returning results on those variables... I have tried multiple variations of notifications, I have tried stacking and unstacking announcements. Yet nothing is setting those varibles...

In Omnibus 28 May 2020 11:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz (Post 2603124)
Yes, but neither are returning results on those variables... I have tried multiple variations of notifications, I have tried stacking and unstacking announcements. Yet nothing is setting those varibles...

I'd guess that something in the syntax has changed but I don't have a 3.8x installation to compare with. Is this code from 3.8.11 or an earlier version?

Dr.CustUmz 28 May 2020 13:32

3 Attachment(s)
...your on to something, my master template dump was from an earlier version. Although I am running 3.8.11, i will see if this snippet is still in the template manager.

**edit** just confirmed this snippet is in 3.8.11. no change to the template at all.

keep in mind I am looking at this source on forumdisplay (i am unaware anywhere else that uses threadbit_announcement)


I have tried only having 1 announcement, 1 announcement and a global. only 2 forum announcements, only 2 global announcements, all stacked announcements, and all un stacked, and a few other ways. nothing seems to give these variables values. at this point its just bugging the hell out of me.

is there maybe somewhere else this template is rendered? I searched all templates, and see $announcebits is called in the announcements and search templates also, but I cant figure out how to search for announcements and I defiantly dont see this template being used in the announcement template

lange 28 May 2020 14:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz (Post 2603109)
Is there another announcement section I am missing? Other than announcement manager in the admincp.

You also have access to the announcement_edit template.

Dr.CustUmz 28 May 2020 16:27

but threadbit_announcement is not displayed in the edit page. Im just trying to figure out what php pages I can see threadbit_announcment, and how to trigger it to show on said pages.

forumdisplay.php shows it yet doesnt return any values for the snippet. I see $announcebits (which I believe is the variable to call threadbit_announcement template) in search, and announcement. Yet I cant figure out how to get that template to actually appear on either of those pages.

lange 28 May 2020 17:01

Thanks, I understand your problem now.

I am not a coder but I can give you my opinion as a user: the announcement manager as it is now meets my needs perfectly. I ask no more. I can customize the design, give access rights by forum, by user group, etc. As you can see on the following screenshot (a responsive theme), I am using another of your products. :up:

Dr.CustUmz 28 May 2020 20:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
According to the PHP code, it should trigger on announcement.php where the forumid is greater than -1. I.E. if the announcement is within a specific forum. If it isn't triggering then there is a bug somewhere. However, since vBulletin 3.X is end of life and no longer in development, the bug will never be resolved.

Got my answer from the big man ;) This seems to be useless code, that was either missed for removal, or never implemented. (as far as we can tell)


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.