vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228338

[HOW TO - vB4] How to Add Drop Down Navigation Items to the Navbar
by Shelby
19 Nov 2009 00:47

Some people really like the drop down navigation that is found in the Vbulletin 3.0 series, or are looking to add additional drop down navigation to the navbar in Vbulletin 4.0. This plugin and new template will allow you to do that.


First, is to goto the Plugins and Products section, this section is in the left hand column of the admin panel near the bottom. In that section you will need to click the option to "Add New Plugin". Note that the red text from both the plugin and template must be the same. You can name it whatever you want, but they must match.

For the new plugin you will enter the following details.
Hook Location: process_templates_complete
Title: Whatever You Want
Code:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

For step two. You need to make the template that will be used in the navbar. Simply goto the style manager and in choose "Add New Template" from the options. From there, you just need to enter the following.
Title: dropdown
Code:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Magz 19 Nov 2009 01:51

Does what it says on the tin :)

Very simple, and effective

thanks

Parture 19 Nov 2009 02:37

Works great. Is there a way to get the same background color as you have over it like the other buttons?

LoveStream 19 Nov 2009 03:48

simple and great, thanks

taffy056 19 Nov 2009 11:23

Now that is great, I have finally a dropdown menu where I want it, thanks very much :)

--------------- Added 19 Nov 2009 at 19:07 ---------------

Can I ask how would you set this so only certain usergroups would see the links, and the tabs?

Thanks

Zaiaku 20 Nov 2009 15:43

Simple. Nice. Clean.

And the example screenshot. Priceless!

EidolonAH 21 Nov 2009 14:26

Perfect, thank you Shelby.

steven s 24 Nov 2009 01:24

Thank you.
Is there a way to choose where in the nav bar you want it located?

DesignWerks 25 Nov 2009 21:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1996 328ti (Post 1919837)
Thank you.
Is there a way to choose where in the nav bar you want it located?

Substituting 'navtab_middle' for 'navtab_end' places it after the Forum tab and before the Blogs tab.

TandyServices 26 Nov 2009 15:36

I have changed it up a few to open a new screen. Hope this helps a few.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To only let members see you could try:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I also found out that if you want two drop downs it worked for me like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Top one is hidden from guest. Then the other all can see.

Great code Shelby.Hope you don't mind but was just playing a bit with it and wanted to share.

Eric Anderson 27 Nov 2009 00:34

1 Attachment(s)
Ok trying to put a sublink into a sublink and this is where I got stuck. in the attached I have clicked "Tech Area" and the menu drops down Now "Carbs" is not a link it is a category (highlighted in blue). "Carb Cleaning" "Jetting" are Links under the category "Carbs". I do not want "Carb Cleaning" and "Jetting" to be there till "Carbs" is either Clicked or Hovered and I would like it to appear down and to the right any Ideas?:confused:
Thanks
Eric

Plugin

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


TandyServices 27 Nov 2009 11:11

Hey Eric,
I do not know if this will work but try something like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Please let me know

Eric Anderson 27 Nov 2009 18:42

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks but not exactly what I am looking for looking fr something more like the attached

TandyServices 28 Nov 2009 14:04

Well tried my code out and did not work anyways.. Sorry..

abdobasha2004 29 Nov 2009 01:22

thanks a lot


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.