vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=257589

How to add a new field to the CMS
by Yellow Slider
22 Jan 2011 11:43

- Apply the changes mentioned in this how-to at your own risk.
- You must have a basic understanding of php, html and vbulletin.
- This is a how-to for vb4.1, and may not work on previous versions.

Everywhere you see FIELDNAME, replace it with your field name (must not contain spaces).

1.
Create a new field in the cms_node table.

2.
If you run vB 4.1.9 or lower , open packages\vbcms\item\content.php and find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add above it:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you run 4.1.10+, you can just create a new plugin with the above code, the hook is vbcms_content_publish_editor.

3.
Go to the template vbcms_edit_publisher.
At the bottom of the template, before these lines:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add the following lines of code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

4.
Go to your ACP --> Plugins & Products --> Add New Plugin.
Hook Location: vbcms_article_save_start.
PHP Code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


The following steps have been written by Lynne, thank you :)

5. To get the field to spit out, you must add it to the vbcms_content_article_page somewhere (this is rough, you'll have to add your own class/styling).


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

6. Then, open vbcms/item/content/article.php and add your field to the end of the protected $content_properties array.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

7. In that same file, add this line with the other similar lines:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

8. Again, in the same file, add this with the other similar functions:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

9. Then add another plugin using hook_location "vbcms_article_populate_start":

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I think I got that all correct.


That's it, you're done.

Lynne 22 Jan 2011 17:49

Thank you! I'll have to try this out. :)

HouseAddict 25 Jan 2011 11:08

I tried that for 3 fields (instead of one) and I can't get any of the data submitted to save into the database... some troubleshooting of the above code might be needed... have you tried this yourself?

Yellow Slider 25 Jan 2011 12:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by HouseAddict (Post 2154257)
I tried that for 3 fields (instead of one) and I can't get any of the data submitted to save into the database... some troubleshooting of the above code might be needed... have you tried this yourself?

Please paste the relevant lines of code from packages\vbcms\item\content.php, vbcms_edit_publisher and the plugin.

HouseAddict 25 Jan 2011 18:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yellow Slider (Post 2154265)
Please paste the relevant lines of code from packages\vbcms\item\content.php, vbcms_edit_publisher and the plugin.

Sure.

content.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



article.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



vbcms_content_article_inline template

added this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

right below this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



plugin with vbcms_article_populate_start hook:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



and plugin with vbcms_article_save_start hook:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



As I said, the fields show up just fine, but when I enter anything into them and click Save or Apply, the values are not shown.

They are correctly saved in the mysql, but are not being shown in the Edit Article page under those fields when the changes to the article are saved.

Lynne 25 Jan 2011 18:54

I have tried this and it works fine for me. Have you tried spitting out your last query to see if it is correct?

This is incorrect:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You are using $geturl_text for all three of them. I would actually do this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


HouseAddict 25 Jan 2011 19:00

Doh!

Obvious mistake.

That was it, in a way...

Now, the problem I have is if I put those fields in "vbcms_edit_publisher" template, they show up just fine and work ok. But if I put them in "vbcms_content_article_inline" template - no go, they don't show the values at all, even though they save them properly.

And I'd rather have those extra fields in vbcms_content_article_inline, below the actual content box instead of in vbcms_edit_publisher which adds them into the right-hand column which makes that long column even longer now...

Thoughts?

Maybe this has something to do with the hooks?

Lynne 25 Jan 2011 19:20

If you want them in other templates, you must write a plugin to register them for use in the other template. Cellarius wrote a really good article that you may be interested in - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide

HouseAddict 25 Jan 2011 20:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 2154447)
If you want them in other templates, you must write a plugin to register them for use in the other template. Cellarius wrote a really good article that you may be interested in - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide

And that's a short guide?

Geez... I just spent almost an hour going through it and trying it out without any success.

Tsk, why does this have to be so darn complicated...

Hmm, how can I extend that $pub_view array to be available to other templates, not just vbcms_edit_publisher (as defined in content.php) in an easier manner...

--------------- Added 25 Jan 2011 at 21:07 ---------------

It seems that I am having some issue with spitting out the value in the front-end as well... adding that code to vbcms_content_article_page prints out nothing.

Seems the root of the problem is $view->FIELDNAME = $this->content->getFIELDNAME(); in the plugin attached to vbcms_article_populate_start... as if I change that $view->FIELDNAME value to a constant, I get a value out on the front-end and in all the other templates (weird). If I leave it as $this->content->getFIELDNAME(), it ends up blank.

Lynne 25 Jan 2011 23:08

Ah yes, steps 5 through 9 were written to add the fields to the article page. That's it. If you need it on another page, you'd have to probaby do all those steps on another page. Perhaps someone else will look into that part and post it.

Miss T 04 Feb 2011 10:32

hey Yellow :)

cant you please check you PM inbox - you qouta is up and the reply you asked me for cannot be sent to you :)

edyy 11 May 2011 20:09

I can't manage to make this to work, I've made everthing it says in here but when I put the data into the fields and push SAVE I get this error

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Lynne 11 May 2011 21:22

That's because you have a comma right before the WHERE line which isn't supposed to be there.

edyy 12 May 2011 15:30

The problem it is as you said a comma, thank you verry much for the help. Now i have the same problem as HouseAddict, the date is inserted into the database but is not spit out on the article page. Can you help me fix that problem too ?

Thanks again for the help.

Lynne 12 May 2011 23:57

I haven't any need for adding a new field to my CMS, so I haven't looked into this in anyway past what I posted for Yellow Slider.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.