vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=129081

Set forum-language automatic to browser-language for first-visitors
by JoergZ
14 Oct 2006 19:10

2 Attachment(s)
Short-description

This Hack detects the browser-language automatic and shows the board in the language of the user, if the user has never been at your board before or has no cookie for your board.

The part of automatic-detection of the browser-language was realised by WildChild


Requirements
  • vB 3.6 (Tested with 3.6.2)
  • Of course more than one installed and selectable language, otherwise this modification makes no sense ;)
Installation-time

about 1 minutes


PLEASE CLICK THE INSTALL BUTTON IF INSTALLED! :)


------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want to test the hack after installing, do it like this:

- Log out of your forum. Dont klick any of the displayed links after logging out !
- Close your browser-window
- Open a new browser-window
- Set your language preferences in the browser
- Go to your forum homepage

Klaymen TK 14 Oct 2006 19:38

Really really great! Thanks man!

*Installed*

Robru 14 Oct 2006 21:12

Marvelous hack, thank you :)

Ajavas 15 Oct 2006 17:55

Thanks nice modification. :)

**Installed**

oberheimhaven 16 Oct 2006 00:40

will this work 3.6.0 thxs m8 great hack also i couldnt find her after install to check her in adminp
thxs
MArkAnthony

nope nothing?? Im missing something here correct??

JoergZ 16 Oct 2006 06:56

I have not tested it with 3.6.0, but it works for all 3.5.x versions and for 3.6.2, so it should work for 3.6.0 and 3.6.1 too.

After you have installed the plugin, there will be not new points in the settings. You have to go to the plugin-area and edit the plugin-code direct. So click on "Plugins & Products" in the left menue in the Admin-CP, then select "Plugin Manager".

There you click on "Edit" at the plugin "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage". To have a better overview increase the size of the edit-box 3 or 4 times. Scroll to the end of the plugin-code. There you find direct above the edit-description the lines, where you can assign the language-code to your language ID.

If you still have problems to find it, I can provide some screenshots.


Best regards

Jörg

oberheimhaven 16 Oct 2006 11:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoergZ
I have not tested it with 3.6.0, but it works for all 3.5.x versions and for 3.6.2, so it should work for 3.6.0 and 3.6.1 too.

After you have installed the plugin, there will be not new points in the settings. You have to go to the plugin-area and edit the plugin-code direct. So click on "Plugins & Products" in the left menue in the Admin-CP, then select "Plugin Manager".

There you click on "Edit" at the plugin "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage". To have a better overview increase the size of the edit-box 3 or 4 times. Scroll to the end of the plugin-code. There you find direct above the edit-description the lines, where you can assign the language-code to your language ID.

If you still have problems to find it, I can provide some screenshots.


Best regards

Jörg

Ok I found what are we suppose to do to get this to work tho????? I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu? anything I aint getting it??

uspange 16 Oct 2006 13:30

Quote:

Ok I found what are we suppose to do to get this to work tho????? I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu? anything I aint getting it??
1.) Open Admin Panel
2.) Check Languages (with my board German is ID1 and English ID2)
3.) Go Plugins & Products
4.) Manage Plugins
5.) Click "edit" for "Set automatic forumlanguage to browserlanguage"
6.) Check code at the end. If you only run German and English, you might want to delete French or set it to German/English.

Do your testing with your browser, delete cookies and stuff ...

JoergZ 16 Oct 2006 19:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by oberheimhaven
I have installed is there suppose to be a drop down menu?

No, there is no visible change. Please look at the top, there is the short-description what this hack do.

To give an example:

You have installed the following languages on your board: English, German, French.

A visitor, that has never been bevore on your forum comes to your website with the board. Without any modification the user see the board in the language, you have defined as default. Let's say English. To change the language the user has to select it from the drop-down menu at the bottom.

With this hack, a first-time visitor from France would see the board immedeately in French, without changing the language manually.

That's what the hack is doing.

How you set the hack correct to the languages you have installed, is described in the downloadable installation-description.

How to get there, has uspange described in the post above very good.


BR

Jörg

oberheimhaven 17 Oct 2006 04:03

thxs mates great hack!!!!1

Greek76 18 Oct 2006 10:39

I installed but doesnt seem to work. Where it says x or xx I forget I replaced it with the language I would like. I added tha language on my browser did what you said but no good. Any ideas?

JoergZ 18 Oct 2006 10:54

Hi Greek76 !

The only idea I have is the following: After you have added a different language-preferenz to your browser, have you changed the order, so the new language is on top ?

And it is important, that you logout from your board, and do not click anything after logging out, otherwise again a cookie would be set. So logout, and then close the browser window, then start your browser again.

What browser are you using ? I admit, I have tested it only with IE 6.0. But it should work with all browsers.


Best regards

Jörg

lapinkulta 19 Oct 2006 15:38

wonderfull hack, very usefull.

one question: can i assign a specific style together with the language? will this work also for guests or for users only?

greetings,
lapinkulta

JoergZ 19 Oct 2006 19:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by lapinkulta
one question: can i assign a specific style together with the language? will this work also for guests or for users only?

Never thought about that. I will check this. If it works, then it would be also only for first-time visitors with no cookie. The user is always able to change the style.


BR

Jörg

lapinkulta 19 Oct 2006 20:44

yes, would be nice for replacement variables in different languages. i am using something like that which works only for logged in users, not for guests:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



All times are GMT. The time now is 20:15.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.