vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=139689

Signature only on first post
by Zachariah
17 Feb 2007 23:52

1 Attachment(s)
Signature only on first post VB3.6x

This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page vs. on every post during a thread listing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thug
Hi i was wondering if theres a hack where peoples sigs only show once per page?

In the postbit or postbit_legacy template,

Find :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There can be only one ! ~ The Highlander

Zachariah 17 Feb 2007 23:53

There is no changes in the code from the 3.5 version.

This simple template edit works on 3.x, 3.5x, 3.6x.
- If you have installed it before there is no reason to update.
- I placed this here for people who may not explore older hacks.

Smoothie 18 Feb 2007 00:35

I've been using this for quite a while (vB 3.6.4) and it works great, I use the version (3.5) you posted before this. (I know they're the same)

Zachariah 18 Feb 2007 00:43

I love it.
I still have a few 56k modem warriors that game on line, and many leave images on their personal setting as there are less to look at per page load.

:)

Smoothie 18 Feb 2007 00:47

This should be a standard option in vBulletin. Either configured by the admin or the end user. I saw the other mod that allows users to choose, but I'd rather use this.

Tralala 18 Feb 2007 01:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1184882)
I love it.
I still have a few 56k modem warriors that game on line, and many leave images on their personal setting as there are less to look at per page load.

:)

Yours was the first hack I installed to allow "one sig per page" and I like it very much! I did want to clarify though, as I posted in the thread for the other (user-selectable) version, with regards to the "impact" this has for the 56k modem warriors:

If a poster (with a video or large picture sig) has many posts (and therefore, sigs) on a page, it wouldn't be any slower for a dial-up user to download the page than if that same poster only had one post (and therefore, one sig) on the page. It's not like the page has to download the same exact thing every time. It downloads the image once, and just displays it multiple times.

(IE: if I presented an HTML page showing one single image 20 times, it doesn't download 20 copies of that file for a reader, and the page doesn't take 20 times longer to download. It downloads that image once, the web browser is simply told to display it 20 times.)

I still like this customization, however, because it can make the page easier to read and cuts down on the sig clutter! (As you say, "less to look at" per page load.) But lest anyone be confused... it won't speed up downloading time for dial-up users, per se. It may speed up browser window rendering speed. But not downloading time.

I still like it, though. :)

Jorrit787 18 Feb 2007 03:19

It would be nice if this could be a standard feature of vBulletin.

Smoothie 18 Feb 2007 04:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smoothie (Post 1184889)
This should be a standard option in vBulletin. Either configured by the admin or the end user. I saw the other mod that allows users to choose, but I'd rather use this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorrit787 (Post 1184987)
It would be nice if this could be a standard feature of vBulletin.

Duh!

Jorrit787 18 Feb 2007 05:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smoothie (Post 1185033)
Duh!

What?

Tralala 18 Feb 2007 05:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorrit787 (Post 1185049)
What?

Smoothie was making a joke that he'd already said the same thing.

Jorrit787 18 Feb 2007 06:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tralala (Post 1185057)
Smoothie was making a joke that he'd already said the same thing.

I'm aware that he already said it. I was merely adding my +1 to it.

Zachariah 18 Feb 2007 13:49

I always had an issue w/ signatures taking away from the thread's relevant information when reading 50-60 pages of posts, and seeing nothing but a bunch of self expression vs. participation in the debate.

I got to the point for 2-3 years of all that mess shoved in the member profile (where it belongs) and disabled signatures.

This allowed me to re-enable signatures. :)


Tralala,

There is less HTML to process per page of threads by the client browser, hence the page will load faster and "lag" less when scrolling up and down as there are less objects per page load.

(anyway my system lags less w/ my normal 20-30 windows open and 15 programs running)

:)

Tralala 18 Feb 2007 17:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1185217)
(anyway my system lags less w/ my normal 20-30 windows open and 15 programs running)

:)


I understand that and I very much appreciate it... but for folks to say "dial-up users are sure to love this" seems to miss the point. As if they are the only ones to see a benefit? As if duplicating sigs means the user has to download the same image multiple times?

I'm not putting down the add-on in any way, I use it and love it and think it should be available by default in the vBulletin core software. Precisely because it's not just for "dial-up modem warriors."

Smoothie 18 Feb 2007 19:28

If you allow signatures on your forum, it's a constant battle keeping them acceptable in size. Don't matter to me if this does or does not affect page load times, it's never been an issue on my site. What it does do is clean up the post, so you're not seeing all that other nonsense that distacts from the actual posts.

I've been on some forums where the signatures allowed are these huge images, post after post with the same images. Very annoying if you ask me. This cuts the clutter to a minimum.

Zachariah 18 Feb 2007 19:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tralala (Post 1185331)
Precisely because it's not just for "dial-up modem warriors."

Oh yes I hear ya. I just got a kick out of the term :p
I can recall for many years wishing I could get a 9600, 14.4, 33.6, 56k :D.
I can recall only 12 hours left for this mp3 I found !

/me dances

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smoothie (Post 1185420)
I've been on some forums where the signatures allowed are these huge images, post after post with the same images. Very annoying if you ask me. This cuts the clutter to a minimum.

Exactly ! :up:

Tralala 18 Feb 2007 23:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1185438)
Oh yes I hear ya. I just got a kick out of the term :p
I can recall for many years wishing I could get a 9600, 14.4, 33.6, 56k :D.
I can recall only 12 hours left for this mp3 I found !

Heh. My first modem was 300 baud. I think I paid $500 to upgrade it to (full duplex!) 1200 baud. Don't even get me started on 2400 baud. :D

Canis Firebrand 19 Feb 2007 19:38

Very nice. Thanks for posting this.

Endurer 20 Feb 2007 09:13

Thank you. I have installed it on my board.

SnapOff Racing 22 Feb 2007 08:56

1 Attachment(s)
i have a customized postbit legacy template and am having trouble integrating this...can you all help me please?

Zachariah 22 Feb 2007 13:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnapOff Racing (Post 1188133)
i have a customized postbit legacy template and am having trouble integrating this...can you all help me please?

Hello try this.


Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


SnapOff Racing 22 Feb 2007 17:09

that worked!!! thank you so much!

LordDB 22 Feb 2007 21:30

Zachariah, many thx for this!:)

How do we allow only S.Admin to have the siggy in every post, as I, personally, have useful info for Members in it?

Cheers!

Smoothie 22 Feb 2007 21:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by daPLAYBOY (Post 1188537)
Zachariah, many thx for this!:)

How do we allow only S.Admin to have the siggy in every post, as I, personally, have useful info for Members in it?

Cheers!

Probably adding another <if> statement would work. Also there's another mod, similar to this one that the end user can control.

Tralala 23 Feb 2007 02:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smoothie (Post 1188550)
Probably adding another <if> statement would work. Also there's another mod, similar to this one that the end user can control.

This one: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=136364
Although it is not (yet?) usergroup savvy.

Zachariah 23 Feb 2007 03:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by daPLAYBOY (Post 1188537)
Zachariah, many thx for this!:)

How do we allow only S.Admin to have the siggy in every post, as I, personally, have useful info for Members in it?

Cheers!

Try this:

Usergroup: 6 is Administrator on my site

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Smoothie (Post 1188550)
Probably adding another <if> statement would work.

I could expand this hack but it would boot it out of a template hacks.
It could have a vboptions entry to allow you to put an array of user ID's that are not subject to the rule and allow standard signature display.

LordDB 23 Feb 2007 10:36

Hi, Zachariah!

Now if shows NO siggy on first or others!:(

Applied code to postbit & postbit_legacy

Any idea's?

Br.

Smoothie 23 Feb 2007 16:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1188782)
Try this:

Usergroup: 6 is Administrator on my site

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


I could expand this hack but it would boot it out of a template hacks.
It could have a vboptions entry to allow you to put an array of user ID's that are not subject to the rule and allow standard signature display.

I think its fine just the way it is, that's why I use it. :)

GoNz00 04 Mar 2007 15:56

nice mod :)

bela-meaad 06 Mar 2007 13:19

can that be only for members
but not for admin or mod?

thanks

Zachariah 06 Mar 2007 14:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by bela-meaad (Post 1197033)
can that be only for members
but not for admin or mod?

thanks

Take a look @ post 25

bela-meaad 07 Mar 2007 13:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1197061)
Take a look @ post 25

thanks

but how can i add for more usergroup

like group 6,5,7

Thanks :up:

bela-meaad 09 Mar 2007 15:10

Any one?

know How to add for more usergroup?

princeedward 18 Mar 2007 01:25

thanks and clicked install...nice mod hack...;)

DieselMinded 28 Mar 2007 05:04

Cool Clicked Install Only thing is that the Sig Shows up when using quick reply untill the page is refreshed , Any way to have it not pop up there >

I only installed in Postbit

Thanks

DM

Dante80 06 May 2007 07:37

Zachariah, thanks for an excellent mod. :up:

A question though...I want to display the signature only in the last post every member does in each page.

How can I do that?....I know nothing about coding....:confused:

Any help will be vastly appreciated. Salutations from sunny Greece, George...:D

stan111 08 May 2007 06:37

work perfect on my 3.6.5
thanks a ton
have been loooking for this for a long time
and it is so easy to mod

JuGgOlOw22 10 May 2007 16:01

Great mod. Is there a way to change the code a little so the sig would show in the last post instead of the 1st post?

*waiting to install

burntire 14 May 2007 19:17

Works on 3.6.6.

thanks
:D

JuGgOlOw22 15 May 2007 01:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by JuGgOlOw22 (Post 1244973)
Great mod. Is there a way to change the code a little so the sig would show in the last post instead of the 1st post?

*waiting to install

Bump

ComputerVitals 16 May 2007 04:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by burntire (Post 1247513)
Works on 3.6.6.

thanks
:D

and on 3.6.7

Evey 05 Jun 2007 15:29

Installed on vbulletin 3.6.7 PL1, no problems. Thanks for posting the solution.

Kihon Kata 07 Jun 2007 05:35

Is there anyway to make this a plugin/product and not a template edit?

Zachariah 07 Jun 2007 13:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kihon Kata (Post 1262914)
Is there anyway to make this a plugin/product and not a template edit?

Yes I am sure. I just have not worked on it yet.

Kihon Kata 07 Jun 2007 13:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zachariah (Post 1263190)
Yes I am sure. I just have not worked on it yet.

Its not that I don't know how to edit templates, I just hate it when I upgrade the board sometimes. :)

Will we be seeing it?

Thanks!

momo2 23 Jul 2007 03:21

i did it but i am still getting my sig on replies shown..

SpaceStar 25 Jul 2007 00:28

Hello

I am facing a problem. The hack is working fine but there is some code troubling... can one of you wise-guys see what is problem in this code:

$template_hook[postbit_signature_start]

<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true"> AND (($vboptions[warn_sig_thresshold]<0 AND $post[warning_level]>=$vboptions[warn_sig_thresshold]) OR $vboptions[warn_sig_thresshold]==0)">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

$template_hook[postbit_signature_end]

Hams 02 Aug 2007 14:29

Thanks Zachariah

noonespecial 18 Aug 2007 07:14

I ended up putting signatures in collapsible boxes. I got too annoyed with them being so full.

Yogesh Sarkar 24 Aug 2007 21:01

Thanks a lot, working fine on 3.6.8

NFLfbJunkie 27 Aug 2007 16:03

The following is my code in my postbit template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


And when I replace the following (see below) with the replacement text, it does remove the signatures from all of the posts (except the first one), but AND ((0<0 AND 0>=0) OR 0==0)"> shows above the signature in the first post.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Subah 29 Aug 2007 14:51

Thanks i like it :)

momo2 05 Sep 2007 23:00

Installed, thanks, worked perfect on postbit also..

Tane 07 Sep 2007 12:53

I would like to have the sig show up only in the 1st post per thread, not per page. Is this possible?

Thanks.

ehsanix 02 Oct 2007 18:11

Nice mod. thanks

Traxdata 20 Dec 2007 00:47

works fine on vb 3.7.0. beta2 :) postbit changes required

CrashPush 18 Mar 2008 16:25

This is a great hack that works great in 3.7.0 B5.

J98680Bxxxxx 09 May 2008 08:37

Thanks Zachariah :up:
This is a great mod. Simple and efficient. Installed on vB 3.7

Silvio 20 May 2008 14:43

in VB 3.7 works but has an issue on my case. (never noticed on 3.6)

infact if I post 1 argument then the second post will not have the signature, edit this second post and save it again will have signature.

then if you post again a 3d one w/o editing all signature (unless the firstone) will disappear :S .......really particular issue!!

I know this is for 3.6 and not 3.7 but is there a way to fix this 4 vB3.7?

ciao - take care

regards

Silvio 22 May 2008 12:02

after some trials i discovered that the issue reported above is related to quick edit. infact in anycase if you use quickedit pane the hack won't work, wile if you use the normal editor it works like a charm

Keesa 19 Sep 2008 01:13

Works fine on 3.7.3!!!!!

abdobasha2004 04 Oct 2008 00:11

is it useful for SEO?

Zachariah 04 Oct 2008 02:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by abdobasha2004 (Post 1636803)
is it useful for SEO?

Perhaps in a tiny way, as there will be less data on the page that may not have anything to do with the current page content.

I would have to do tests and results to say yes or no.

Allan 16 Feb 2009 08:27

Work perfectly on vB 3.8.1, thank you, installed ;)

93Corvette 07 Mar 2009 07:21

I think I may be doing something wrong.... I keep getting a </if> missing error.
Is this missing a </if> statement?

Here is my code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks in advance....

coffee 10 Mar 2009 09:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Allan (Post 1745661)
Work perfectly on vB 3.8.1, thank you, installed ;)

Thank you, I just tested it and working great !

edytwinky 05 May 2009 20:27

Works great!

Thanks!

letsjoy 17 Sep 2009 23:55

Its not working properly on 3.8.2 tested... :((

m2006 19 Sep 2009 12:34

working install thank you for mod

jonbaker 20 Dec 2009 09:09

cant get to work for Version 3.8.4

TripleChin 13 Apr 2010 02:55

This mod works on 4.0 Publishing Suite with the one minor change below.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Going to work on getting it limited to one post per thread.

NAZIA 14 Apr 2010 20:32

Good Idea..

mindfrost82 01 Jun 2010 15:20

Worked fine in 3.8.5 for me.

Merjawy 05 Sep 2010 07:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by TripleChin (Post 2020251)
This mod works on 4.0 Publishing Suite with the one minor change below.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Going to work on getting it limited to one post per thread.

Yep yep.... Works
thanks

teknolyfe 07 Oct 2010 20:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merjawy (Post 2093986)
Yep yep.... Works
thanks

Any luck on the fix for making it only for the first post in the thread?

pakhackerz 01 Nov 2010 06:17

i found
<if condition="$post['signature'] AND !$vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] AND $vboptions['shownsigs'][$post[userid]] = true">
in postbit_articles and postbit_flipped templetes.
so what i have to do

jonbaker 15 Jul 2011 17:37

need for 4.1.4 please advise

HMBeaty 15 Jul 2011 21:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonbaker (Post 2220875)
need for 4.1.4 please advise

Here you go

www.nofal 21 Dec 2014 16:26

Thanks


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.