vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=32038

Custom Post Prefixes
by apfeifer
02 Nov 2001 21:34

Hack: Custom Post Prefixes
Version of vB: 2.2.0, although may work on earlier versions but not tested
Current Version: 1.0.0
Description: This hack allows you to add custom prefixes to post, like "Poll: " and "Sticky: ", only custom ones editable in the control panel.


All feedback is appreciated, and everything you need is in the attached file.

NOTE: If you downloaded this prior to 5:10 CT please re-download it, I fixed something in the directions.

Version 1.0.0 released, go here
for details.

silence 02 Nov 2001 22:21

Thank you Andrew! :)

Hamma 02 Nov 2001 23:21

Cool :D

RobAC 02 Nov 2001 23:28

I can't seem to get this to work. I've done everything and received no errors. I've added a couple prefixes via the admin cp and tried a test post.....they don't show up in the post titles.

Dalius 02 Nov 2001 23:35

Dalius Hack Reviews

I have been looking for something like this for a while, thanks alot man!

RATING: 9/10

Hamma 03 Nov 2001 00:07

I like it but havent tried it :) Is it possible to make the custom ones stick?

apfeifer 03 Nov 2001 00:08

Rob, are you sure you edited forumdisplay.php? If you forgot to do that I can see why it isn't working, but otherwise it should. Also, you can try looking in phpMyAdmin to see if the table "thread" has anything in the customprefix column in the posts you tried it on. Make sure you have edited all of the templates, too.

Hope that helps.

:cool:

apfeifer 03 Nov 2001 00:09

Hamma, yes, you can still Stick threads if you use a custom prefix on them. In the install you can edit it (change a = to .=) to still display the "Sticky: ", otherwise it will be overwritten by the custom one. In the next version I am going to add some more options in the control panel for it, including an option to overwrite "Sticky: " and others, or put them on also.

:cool:

RobAC 03 Nov 2001 17:25

Quote:

Originally posted by apfeifer
Rob, are you sure you edited forumdisplay.php? If you forgot to do that I can see why it isn't working, but otherwise it should. Also, you can try looking in phpMyAdmin to see if the table "thread" has anything in the customprefix column in the posts you tried it on. Make sure you have edited all of the templates, too.

Hope that helps.

:cool:

I've checked forumdisplay.php and templates. Everything is set the way it should be. I checked the database. The customprefix column is empty.

RobAC 03 Nov 2001 17:31

The only change that I see to make in the newreply template is to add the : $posttype to the template. I have made the custom templates, etc. Has anyone else gotten this to work?

apfeifer 03 Nov 2001 22:30

Version 1.0.0 released.

@RobAC Uninstall all the stuff you did before and use the stuff in the new file and see if that helps. Also, what version of PHP are you running?

Enjoy!

:cool:

RobAC 03 Nov 2001 22:33

I'll do a fresh install. I'm running the latest version of PHP and MySQL.

RobAC 04 Nov 2001 02:02

This hack still doesn't work. Now, the dropdown box in the newthread template is gone. I did a fresh install and ran new database queries.

apfeifer 04 Nov 2001 03:05

Ok, it's late here and I just got home. Tomorrow as soon as I get some free time I will install a totally clean version of vB and test the install/etc. Sorry about this.:(

:cool:

RobAC 04 Nov 2001 03:11

Thanks Andrew. If possible, post instructions on how to delete any additions that were made to the database with the queries. Next time I work on this, I'd like it to be completely fresh. I did what I could before I tried re-installing it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.