vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=146703

vBshout Automatic Pruning *ALL VERSIONS*
by Distance
08 May 2007 02:10

2 Attachment(s)
vBshout Automatic Pruning

NOTE: Does not work with Inferno vBshout


What does it do?

This addon will automatically prune (remove all shouts) from the vBshout Shoutbox.

*You can set the time when the product will prune the Shoutbox.


How do I get vBshout?

vBshout 2.0
vBshout 2.1


.: Installation :.


1. Upload pruneshout.php to your /includes/cron/ folder
2. Import the product product-shoutbox_prune.xml



.: Upgrading :.

Upgrading from 1.0 / 1.0

1. Upload and overwrite /includes/cron/pruneshout.php
2. Import the product product-shoutbox_prune.xml (Make sure overwrite is turned on)


.: Configuration :.


By default the shoutbox will prune every Sunday night at 11.59pm

If you wish to change this proceed to the following steps.


1. On your admincp find Scheduled Tasks. Expand the group and then click on Scheduled Task Manager
2. Find Shoutbox Pruning and select Edit from the dropdown menu, then click go.
3:

You can change the settings to whatever you want.

Note: * means every. So if you had it as Hour: * then it would run every hour.

Get the idea?

4. Once you have finished click save



.: Version History :.

1.0: Initial Release2.0: Bug fix & after prune message
1.10: Bug fix and after-prune message.
1.20: Fixed table prefix for maximum compatibility

View Release Notes


.: Future Releases :.
  • Direct link in admincp to prune the shoutbox
Thanks
Distance


Note: This has been tested with vBshout 2.0 and 2.1. Please backup your forums before installing this mod. I say this so I am not liable for any data loss etc although that situation is EXTREMELY unlikely.


Distance 08 May 2007 02:10

.: v1.0 Release Notes :.

In vBshout 2.1 Only!!

Because vBshout 2.1 is a file based shoutbox when the the Cron script runs to prune the Shoutbox the database will clear the shouts however the file will still have the shouts stored.
Even though the shouts have been cleared the shoutbox will not update until a new shout is made.
I plan to release a version that will also clear the html file soon.

.: v1.10 Release Notes :.

Original bug fixed.
When the shoutbox prunes it will display a message saying the shoutbox has been successfully pruned.

.: v1.20 Release Notes :.

Fixed table prefix for maximum compatibility

Hornstar 08 May 2007 07:31

hey nice work, look forward to the one that will clear the html file as well, will install it later on. thanks.

Distance 08 May 2007 08:52

Yeah its because its a flatfile system.. Annoying eh :)

Please click install :)

Mrdby 08 May 2007 13:31

working anybody?

Distance 08 May 2007 17:43

There is no reason whatsoever why this should not work unless you do not have vBshout installed.

bitdefuser 08 May 2007 20:05

It would be nice if after it prunes it would say, "Weekly Shoutbox Prune Complete" in the shoutbox.
Edit: And would include the next time for cleanup but, that's not really necessary.

Distance 08 May 2007 20:16

I was going to implement something where it adds the message

'The shoutbox will auto prune in x minutes.. etc'

I suppose I could add a message for after the prune aswel

bitdefuser 08 May 2007 21:29

Quote:

Because vBshout 2.1 is a file based shoutbox when the the Cron script runs to prune the Shoutbox the database will clear the shouts however the file will still have the shouts stored. Even though the shouts have been cleared the shoutbox will not update until a new shout is made. I plan to release a version that will also clear the html file soon.
Problem solved with my suggestion. :p

Distance 08 May 2007 23:57

I have already solved the problem :)

The problem was making sure it was compatible with both versions 2.0 and 2.1. It was surprisingly easier than what I thought considering they are two totally different systems.

Pending final testing and possibly another feature implemented the new v1.10 will be released tomorrow evening.

Distance

LouiseDM 09 May 2007 00:36

installed :)

Distance 09 May 2007 17:09

.: v1.10 Release Notes :.

Original bug fixed.
When the shoutbox prunes it will display a message saying the shoutbox has been successfully pruned.

D.Ilyin 09 May 2007 17:50

Thank's for update!
BTW Distance is it any chance to do the following:
NOT delete, but rename shouts file (i'm talking about 2.1 version) and create new empty file?

Distance 09 May 2007 17:57

You have the concept of the flatfile system wrong.

This is how it works:

The shoutbox reads from the html file
When a new shout is made it is sent to the database
The database updates the html file

This way everytime someone loads up the shoutbox it only has to read a small html file (with only the latest X shouts stored) without having to bring up the whole shout table.

There would be a way but for the amount of people who would use it it isn't worth the hasstle.

Distance

Mrdby 12 May 2007 15:04

3.6.6?

Distance 12 May 2007 18:45

The vB version says 3.6.X.

This means it will work with all versions of vBulletin 3.6

Distance

vB Nova 13 May 2007 15:56

To make it work for the flatfile version just nick the function out of the vbshout.php file and include it into the cron file. Then it's just a case of running the function to rebuild the .html file.

Distance 13 May 2007 19:15

I worked with the creator to make this.. This is the best way to do it ;)

itsblack 14 May 2007 11:49

Is it possible to only prune the messages which are X days old?

Distance 14 May 2007 21:53

Not with this modification, no.

iCafe 23 May 2007 09:51

Quote:

$vbulletin->db->query("TRUNCATE TABLE `shout`");
it error for any board db use TABLE_PREFIX

fix it to

Quote:

$vbulletin->db->query("TRUNCATE TABLE `" . TABLE_PREFIX . "shout`");

TechDawg 26 May 2007 00:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by iCafe (Post 1253161)
it error for any board db use TABLE_PREFIX

fix it to

Thanks, this fixed my error :)

Distance 03 Jun 2007 01:43

Thanks, I will update later. :)

YukonMaster 16 Jun 2007 07:41

Double Post

YukonMaster 16 Jun 2007 07:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by YukonMaster (Post 1269541)
Database error in vBulletin 3.6.7:

Invalid SQL:
TRUNCATE TABLE `shout`;

MySQL Error : Table 'yukonadm_vbforum.shout' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Date : Saturday, June 16th 2007 @ 01:39:56 AM
Script : http://www.pcitechforums.com/forum/a...cron&cronid=19
Referrer : http://www.pcitechforums.com/forum/a....php?do=modify
IP Address : 70.66.140.217
Username : YukonMaster
Classname : vb_database



What do I do?

Distance 18 Jun 2007 14:39

Update: v1.20 released

Fixed table prefix for maximum compatibility.

Distance

YukonMaster 19 Jun 2007 21:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by YukonMaster (Post 1269542)
What do I do?


Heya, Distance, will the update fix this issue?

Distance 22 Jul 2007 04:56

Yes, it should fix the issue. :)

unicorn2433 24 Jul 2008 18:49

Will this move the shouts to a forum on the board?


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.