vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=136683

Post Edit History (PEH) Alternate Postbit Layout
by MThornback
16 Jan 2007 18:26

1 Attachment(s)
This is simply an alternative to Survivors layout for adding the PEH display within the postbit template....anyone whos seen my few additions here knows I don't do much fancy :p mostly just what I find useful and think others might too....

What this does:
If no edit exists for the post, it will hide the link, and when an edit is made the link will show up...simple yes?

Instructions(from PEH):

In postbit Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or

In postbit_legacy find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Add Underneath:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If you use it please click install...it shouldn't need much support...but I'll answer questions as they pop up.....screenshots shouldn't be necessary if its working you'll see the link only on edited posts :)

Distance 16 Jan 2007 18:36

Nice, thanks

Surviver 16 Jan 2007 20:14

Thanks :) Can you attach a Screenshot ? :)

Distance 16 Jan 2007 20:45

Did you read it?

screenshots shouldn't be necessary if its working you'll see the link only on edited posts


All it does is remove the link if the message hasnt been edited... so you want to show a screenshot of a non existant link :p

Nathan2006 25 Jan 2007 23:21

Thank you MThornback

Install ;)

BadgerDog 20 May 2007 17:30

Installed on v3.6.7 PL1 then un-installed as it didn't work.

Edit function never appeared anywhere....

Ensured it was turned ON and all files were in correct places, but no go...

Regards,
Badger

MThornback 21 May 2007 07:45

I'm running 3.6.7 PL1 aswell and I have no issues...did you upgrade from 3.6.5 to the latest release and revert your templates? since the patch has no template edits (along with 3.6.7) I can only assume you should double check the template code for missing information.

Please let me know if it works...if not...I'm willing to fix it for you if you send me the details I need to do so.

BadgerDog 21 May 2007 10:46

Upgraded from 3.64 direct to 3.67PL1 without problems....

Installed (uploaded) files as specified and imported XML file, then ensured mod was turned ON under AdminCP "Messages" area.

Did template mods. When the "Edit" button never appeared, I re-checked everything, including trying modding each template "Postbit" and "postbit_legacy" indvidually (mutually exclusive), then both at the same time. Still nothing appears.

Thanks for your offer to help, but I don't know what else I can give you? :up:

I could send you a copy of the edited template (which one?) for you check? Other than that, it's just putting his files into the directories he specified. There's noting else is there?

Regards,
Badger

MThornback 21 May 2007 20:59

If you send me a copy of your postbit that'd be all I need as long as the mod is enabled and the settings are all done right and what not....


Forgive the dumb question...but you did edit a post right? Cause this mod only shows you the edited versions link if there IS an edit.....

BadgerDog 21 May 2007 21:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by MThornback (Post 1252291)
If you send me a copy of your postbit that'd be all I need as long as the mod is enabled and the settings are all done right and what not....


Forgive the dumb question...but you did edit a post right? Cause this mod only shows you the edited versions link if there IS an edit.....


Yup ... :D

I even created several test posts, edited them etc, as I thought it just might need to be created first..

I'll send you off a copy of "postbit"....

Did you want me to put the edits back in ( I emoved them when I uninstalled), or just send you "postbit" before I edited for this mod?

Thanks for your help... :up:

Regards,
Badger

MThornback 22 May 2007 00:39

Send me your postbit as it looks now....without the edits....its probably easier for both of us

MThornback 22 May 2007 13:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadgerDog (Post 1252315)
Yup ... :D

I even created several test posts, edited them etc, as I thought it just might need to be created first..

I'll send you off a copy of "postbit"....

Did you want me to put the edits back in ( I emoved them when I uninstalled), or just send you "postbit" before I edited for this mod?

Thanks for your help... :up:

Regards,
Badger


Got it, and you have it back again and it should work fine :)

BadgerDog 25 May 2007 23:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by MThornback (Post 1252649)
Got it, and you have it back again and it should work fine :)


Ok, got it working.... :up:

I had to remove the hack from postbit and put it ONLY in postbit_legacy...

For whatever reason, that kick started it and it's now working. I like the elegance of the way you've approached it. No edit.. no show save history link... nice.. ;)

Thanks for your help...

Regards,
Badger

MThornback 26 May 2007 03:12

Glad I could help...I guess knowing which postbit style you used might have been the question for me to ask eh? :p

David Lama 14 Jun 2007 04:55

does this also work for 3.6.5?

Its not working for me. so i guess no :(


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.