vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=329245

Oh God HELP!!
by s10sakota
11 May 2022 13:30

Well, it looks like I accidentally changed my Admin account to "registered user". No I have no access to the Admin panel!

Is there a fix to this?

Can the forum be 'reset' back to a day ago to void that change?

Thank you for any help. I hope this is fixable!

--------------- Added 11 May 2022 at 15:21 ---------------

I wanted to add: I have another Admin account but when I log into the Admin Control panel with that account I only have 4 options:

-Announcements
-Moderation
-Statistics&Logs
-vBulletin API

So there is no option to go in and change my original Admin account back to an Admin account!

z3r0 11 May 2022 16:52

I think tools.php will fix this, here is something from an old post that I think will do the job.

Quote:

If you have lost your access information for your Admin account and can not reset the password using normal procedures, then please do the following:
- Register a new regular forum account (or you could use an existing account).
- Upload tools.php from the 'do_not_upload' folder of your vBulletin distribution to your admincp directory.
- Now point your browser to tools.php.
- Choose "[Reset Admin Access]" to promote the new user account to admin
- Once your problem is fixed please remove tools.php again from the server.
- Optional: If needed add the userid of the new user to the super administrator list in your config.php

s10sakota 13 May 2022 13:59

When I look at my vBulletin folder on my server I do not have a "Do Not Upload" folder. If I remember correctly the installation instructions had me delete that folder after the forum was set up. Maybe I'm wrong.

So then do I need to re-download the vB software to get that folder back?

Thanks!!

z3r0 13 May 2022 14:11

It's in the original distribution folder when you download a fresh copy of vbulletin from vbulletin.com, just download a fresh copy from there and it will be in the zip file.

s10sakota 13 May 2022 14:20

Ok I have re-downloaded the forum, opened the do-not-upload folder and uploaded the tools.php file to the AdminCP directory.

Your next step is to "point my browser to tools.php"

I don't just type in tools.php in the search bar right? I'm not sure what you mean by "point the browser to tools.php"

I really appreciate the help and I hope this works!

z3r0 13 May 2022 15:15

Point your browser to www.yourdomain.com/youradmindirectory/tools.php

paulplater 01 Jul 2022 17:31

Going to try it, I am in the same boat as OP.



Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2608556)
I think tools.php will fix this, here is something from an old post that I think will do the job.



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.