vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=125173

[vBulletin|PHP|HTML]Automatic Template Edits
by Ziki
28 Aug 2006 21:35

You are creating a new vBulletin product and want to make it more user friendly so that the users don't have to edit the templates manually?Then this tutorial will point you the right way.Basically the code I am going to demonstrate simply finds a specific part of a template and inserts our code/template into it.

Ok let's say you have a template or a piece of html code you want to include somewhere:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Ok now we have to options:

1. Insert the code into a template and then insert the whole template into the site.


So you now have the html code in your template called TEMPLATE.I suggest you cache it for faster loading.To do that create a new plugin on the cache_templates hook with this content:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

$globaltemplates variable are the templates that are supposed to be cached.It is an array because it contains multiple templates,default ones and the ones from other 3rd party products.

So now what we just need to do,is insert our template into another one.To do that you need to know what page you want to display it on,the hooks that are located on that page and the templates called.In the template you will add the code in find a block of code that is static,thus won't ever be changed (like html comments).Should be one liner.Our template is TEMPLATE and the one that will include it is MAINTEMPLATE.

Then use this phpcode.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Explanation: the template MAINTEMPLATE is represented by the variable $vbulletin->templatecache['MAINTEMPLATE'].So we changed the way it is represented.We used str_replace to change the MAINTEMPLATE,so now it added the TEMPLATE into it.It searched for $variable and attached the template into it.

To include a code on every page use the hook global_start and the template header,footer or headinclude :)

DONE




2. Insert the code into a variable and insert it via replace.


Ok this is a bit easier than the code above.So we still want to add the code but don't want a template?Make the code into a variable.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

we used ' apostrophes instead of " so that the code isn't parsed directly in the variable but rather in the template.Note,if you have ' or " in your code,you have to put \ before them so that php doesn't think it belongs into the main code.

Then just use the code before.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

DONE


3. Insert the code into a variable and call the variable in the template.


This is the easiest way.So we have $template already specified and we just put the variable ($template) into any template and vBulletin will parse it :).But you have to make sure that the hook the variable is on,is called on that page!
DONE


4. Attach code to an existing variable in the template.

This method became easier when vBulletin introduced template hooks. For instance,open template navbar and you can find $template_hook['navbar_buttons_left'] somewhere in the code,thanks to which you can add new navbar buttons simply using plugins.To do that,I make a new plugin on global_setup_complete (or any plugin called where the variable is) and add this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

See the ".=" ?That means that the code following it was added to the variable's value and thus displayed when the variable is parsed :).

You can also attach a whole template this way.In the next example I added my template below navbar.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

DONE

I hope this article has helped you understand this topic and develop better and more user friendly products!

Basboss 29 Aug 2006 06:10

A great one, thanks a lot.

Ziki 29 Aug 2006 09:57

Thanx.

I though no one will understand what I was writing XD

luroca 01 Sep 2006 22:53

Hello, thanks for this tutorial.

If I want to work with another page as showthread, can we use global_start and another template or I must use other hook?

Greetings

Ziki 02 Sep 2006 08:26

Use global_start and the showthread template.Or you can use any hook on showthread_page :)

luroca 02 Sep 2006 14:16

Thanks again.

sebbe 04 Oct 2006 20:25

Thanks, will be usefull!

Zachery 04 Oct 2006 20:47

Bad, bad, bad, bad, bad!

You should not be adding templates or html dynamicly to pages, it only creates more hassles when users need to troubleshoot issues. Make them do the template edits or things only get worse.

vietkieu_cz 12 Oct 2006 12:49


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Quote:

Firstly take your code and put it into a template
So I still have to edit my template to put it in?

Ziki 12 Oct 2006 20:25

Quote:

You should not be adding templates or html dynamicly to pages, it only creates more hassles when users need to troubleshoot issues. Make them do the template edits or things only get worse.
??????

Quote:

So I still have to edit my template to put it in?
No.Read it :)

Zachery 12 Oct 2006 21:48

Making your end users do less and less creates the problems we have now. Make your users do the template edits.

Luggruff 02 Nov 2006 16:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ziki
??????

As Zachery said:

I for one have a hack (CYB - Forum Rules) and he has done this, He have placed the link to the forumrules in my navbar, and I can't change it, or the location of it.

Think that's fun when you want to make a custom style? For one: If I change my navbar to the header, that link does not follow.. and so on.

Bad, bad, bad bad bad bad bad bad.

Paul M 02 Nov 2006 19:40

Whether you like automatic editing of templates is a personal choice, not a fact. If you want to discuss the merits of doing it please start a new thread, not clutter up this one.

Ziki 03 Nov 2006 19:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M
Whether you like automatic editing of templates is a personal choice, not a fact. If you want to discuss the merits of doing it please start a new thread, not clutter up this one.

That was a plus for me?

RedTyger 11 Nov 2006 21:50

Nicely done Ziki. :D And as an extra bonus, something I just found out. Namely that you don't need to create or insert a template if all you want to insert is one value from your settings.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Because str_replace uses up a little bit of resources, if whether or not it's going to be used is dependent on settings in your plugin then it's worth surrounding the replace code with a variable to ensure it only runs when it has to. Like so:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.