vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=70684

Active Link Security 4.0
by Abe1
17 Oct 2004 15:17

3 Attachment(s)
Thanks to TC from ElAntro.cl for the PHP code.

This hack will allow you to have active links on your forum but with security knowing the place were you are linking to wont know were you came from. Ie. If you click on a link in a post on your web site, the web site you go to will not know were you came from.

Time: 1 minute

Files to edit: 1
Files to upload: 1

No screenshots needed. Also, please click ‘install’ if you use.

twoseven 17 Oct 2004 16:08

oh so this turns our forum into the blind redirector nice

Carter876 17 Oct 2004 16:15

I used your Active Link Security 3.0 but this is better because it doesn't use any site :)

* Click Install

Regards

Abe1 17 Oct 2004 16:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carter876
I used your Active Link Security 3.0 but this is better because it doesn't use any site :)

* Click Install

Regards

Right. That is why I even started a new thread.

djohn 17 Oct 2004 17:23

installed.

suggestions: replace return return
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

for future versions: per-forums setting, whether to use this hack or not.

thanks

twoseven 17 Oct 2004 17:31

i dont know if this was ever covered but is there a way to not redirect same site links?

Lionel 17 Oct 2004 19:31

I changed the content to "20" in links.php so I could test it, but it goes straight to other site...

edit:... never mind it works, but with new links only.

dndog 17 Oct 2004 19:36

Are there any practical reasons for this?

It sounds good, but I don't know why anyone would want to do this.

Abe1 17 Oct 2004 20:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by twoseven
i dont know if this was ever covered but is there a way to not redirect same site links?

Yes. Make sure your users know about the [thread] and [post] BB codes.

Abe1 17 Oct 2004 20:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by dndog
Are there any practical reasons for this?

It sounds good, but I don't know why anyone would want to do this.

Many reasons. Read though 'Active Link Security 3.0' for many reasons people posted.

theArchitect 18 Oct 2004 04:08

*theArchitect clicks install and is most impressed with Abe's work.*

Thankyou for sharing this with us.

msimplay 18 Oct 2004 11:38

Fantastic i needed one of these excellent idea :D

TCattitude 18 Oct 2004 13:12

Nice :)

Polo 18 Oct 2004 14:12

Nice hack, thanks for sharing ;)

azmi 18 Oct 2004 15:46

our related link is with an infoframe:
http://redirect.koelnboard.de/redire...p://google.com

i saw it @giga and i think it works very well ;-)

text on the left:
the koelnboard is not responsible for the content
text on the right:
close infoframe

Polo 18 Oct 2004 16:28

mmm... your site is currently down azmi :ermm:

azmi 18 Oct 2004 21:57

:ermm: its Murphys law

he was down for half an hour.
at the same time you was looking for.

Polo 18 Oct 2004 23:33

Oh I see....

Ber|Art 19 Oct 2004 14:05

Wow, works perfectly, very nice hack THX! :)

C_P 20 Oct 2004 18:53

Anyone else having this isssue?
After installing this mod, the prior urls link fine. BUT, if you go to add one or modify one, the link takes you to this yourwebsite url?
Example, I did a hyperlink url
[url = http://www.pcworld.com/news ] News Source [ / url] *Without spaces to show what I did*
And mine goes here now......
http://www.yourwebsite.com/links.php?url=http://www.pcworld.com/news

Help?

You can see this by going here
Not Working
and if you select another "prior to hack" post, it works as in this example here:
Working

azmi 20 Oct 2004 19:39

the "http://www.yourwebsite.com/links.php"
is only an example and cannot work correkt.

http://anonym.to

is such an redirect url!

Abe1 20 Oct 2004 19:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by C_P
Anyone else having this isssue?
After installing this mod, the prior urls link fine. BUT, if you go to add one or modify one, the link takes you to this yourwebsite url?
Example, I did a hyperlink url
[url = http://www.pcworld.com/news ] News Source [ / url] *Without spaces to show what I did*
And mine goes here now......
http://www.yourwebsite.com/links.php?url=http://www.pcworld.com/news

Help?

You can see this by going here
Not Working
and if you select another "prior to hack" post, it works as in this example here:
Working

You must change www.yourwebsite.com to your web sites address like: www.cpfools.com/forum/

C_P 20 Oct 2004 20:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abe1
You must change www.yourwebsite.com to your web sites address like: www.cpfools.com/forum/

Worked like a charm!
Thanks!

Abe1 20 Oct 2004 20:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by C_P
Worked like a charm!
Thanks!

Now, make sure you click install.

C_P 20 Oct 2004 20:19

* Clicks Install

* forget how to do that using a me tag, but I clicked install. Thanks

bonnmac 21 Oct 2004 03:13

ok is this right when i click on a link from my site i see for a split second redirecting to the actual url dose this mean its working right??

Abe1 21 Oct 2004 14:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by bonnmac
ok is this right when i click on a link from my site i see for a split second redirecting to the actual url dose this mean its working right??

Please click 'install' to get help.

Anyway, yes. That it was suppose to happen. Also, some web sites take longer to go to then others.

korg 23 Oct 2004 00:22

very nice upgrade, good work. Thanks a lot man.

The Realist 24 Oct 2004 15:54

Thanks M8, works great :)

djohn 24 Oct 2004 16:35

how can i make the script exclude site-wide links? for example, i would not like to open a redirection popup, if the link is to another topic or part of my site.

Abe1 24 Oct 2004 16:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by djohn
how can i make the script exclude site-wide links? for example, i would not like to open a redirection popup, if the link is to another topic or part of my site.

Tell your users to use the [thread] and [post] BB codes.

turkforum 27 Oct 2004 06:06

great hack installed and saved a bunch of money on my car insurance

Mone' 02 Nov 2004 23:14

Ae1 , great hack work almost perfectly for normal url
however if you have url like this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the links.php will redirect to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

cutting the ";en-us;832790" part at the end of the url.

the weird thing it's that it work perfectly in firefox but my user get's the problem with IE6 sp2 with links like the above example.

Do you know how to fix it ?

thank you

Mone'

pco 04 Nov 2004 04:30

Hi,

you can use javascript to redirect instead of the meta-tag.

In links.php instead of


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

use this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You'll still have the title "Redirecting..." (just use the global phrase $vbphrase['redirecting'] instead no hardcoding for compatibilty with other languages) but it will redirect you right away even better and faster than the meta tag, no "extra info page" either :) Tested with internet explorer 5.5 and 6.0, no "cut offs" :D :D



Quote:

Originally Posted by djohn
how can i make the script exclude site-wide links? for example, i would not like to open a redirection popup, if the link is to another topic or part of my site.

In functions_bbcodeparse.php first change this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

in order to have access to vboptions first. Now again at around line 1480 or so use this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Good luck :)

teamgofast 28 Nov 2004 01:45

install, great hack thank you!

H2k 29 Dec 2004 01:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by azmi
our related link is with an infoframe:
http://redirect.koelnboard.de/redire...p://google.com

i saw it @giga and i think it works very well ;-)

text on the left:
the koelnboard is not responsible for the content
text on the right:
close infoframe

can we use anther url like said thati dont need to usemy url i need to use google.. so if TheUser enter forumssiteother.com and the forumssiteother.com check his log or state to find where poeple come from etc.. it will show from google if they was enter from my site.?

aranthorn 17 Jan 2005 17:52

Just the ticket!

Sin City 22 Jan 2005 08:03

great hack :)

Bubble #5 11 May 2005 18:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by djohn
suggestions: replace return return
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

for future versions: per-forums setting, whether to use this hack or not.

Are we supposed to make this modification? What is it's benifit?

Abe1 11 May 2005 18:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubble #5
Are we supposed to make this modification? What is it's benifit?

Up to you.

Bubble #5 11 May 2005 19:12

What does that code (by djohn) change? What is the benifit of changing it?

Also, in the instructions it says: Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Shouldn't that read?:

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


dirtycrow 13 May 2005 07:08

does this work for hotlinked images as well?

Abe1 13 May 2005 16:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bubble #5
What does that code (by djohn) change? What is the benifit of changing it?

Also, in the instructions it says: Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Shouldn't that read?:

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

No. not every one uses /forums/.

Abe1 13 May 2005 17:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by dirtycrow
does this work for hotlinked images as well?

No. Images are pulled.

dirtycrow 13 May 2005 17:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abe1
No. Images are pulled.

hmmm. . .is there a hack out there so they don't know who is pulling it?

Abe1 13 May 2005 17:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by dirtycrow
hmmm. . .is there a hack out there so they don't know who is pulling it?

I dont think that is possible. Your pulling it and have to send were it should get pulled to. How can you block it?

dirtycrow 14 May 2005 06:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abe1
I dont think that is possible. Your pulling it and have to send were it should get pulled to. How can you block it?

short of always using a anonymous proxy go between, not sure.

GNDI 07 Jul 2006 10:34

This file functions_bbcodeparse.php doesn't appear in 3.5.4 what file do I have to modify in 3.5.4

Abe1 07 Jul 2006 15:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by GNDI
This file functions_bbcodeparse.php doesn't appear in 3.5.4 what file do I have to modify in 3.5.4

This hack is for vb 3.0.3.

GNDI 07 Jul 2006 16:16

yep, but why not implant it to the 3.5.4

Abe1 07 Jul 2006 18:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by GNDI
yep, but why not implant it to the 3.5.4

I did. Search the forums.

digibluez 28 Jul 2008 15:12

because the web is full of site trackers ,spam-bots and other stuff.i am one of them useing, so beware :P muahhaha, i dont use this though, bad for UUUssss :P


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.