vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=107965

Flep 15 Dec 2007 16:51

Amazing tutorial !

thank you :)

Bok 17 Feb 2008 22:06

Is it possible to restrict the ads, to not show if a particular user is logged in ?

i.e. based on $bbuserid perhaps

markbolyard 18 Feb 2008 03:33

Sure just place conditional statements before your ad code.

<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y, Z)">

YOUR AD CODE

</if>

What I have found from past experience with this addition is, set them to show for unregistered members only. Members tend to be ad-aware and not click them, and most of my clicks come from non members. This way your existing members don't get overrun with ads, and chances are your ad revenue will stay the same, but of course you know you members best, these are just my opinions.

valdet 16 May 2008 03:04


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This code for first and last post on postbit(_legacy) is incomplete as it shows ads on first post of only the first page. If there are multiple page threads, there will be no ads in first post of XX page of a thread.




In order to fix that, you will need to use this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


nirvana43 21 May 2008 07:16

thanks a million man.

nirvana43 01 Jun 2008 03:14

i've implemented this!! but there are 3 errors...
please check this link : http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...Inline&group=0

how do i fix those 3 errors??? :(

nirvana43 16 Jun 2008 05:20

I have 1 question,
when we place ads in navbar i.e. :
http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/9625/snap17ub.gif

this unit is displayed only when user is logged in.... please can you tell me, what if i want to display this unit for guests too??
where do i place the code and is there any code modifications??? please help..
i'm not a pro coder... :(

munnakv 22 Jun 2008 18:04

Fantastic tutorial. bookmarked it. Will read it soon.

Thanks.

Declan127 23 Jun 2008 18:30

One of the best Tutorials ive seen in a while.

Cheers =]

jalmz 30 Jun 2008 15:48

wow.. thanks!

glenbelt 02 Jul 2008 15:14

Added this code to my forum and it seems good but I have one problem.

My link unit is at the top of the forum but below this there is an empty strip. I'm not sure if this was there before I made the changes to the forum, and was wondering if that is where I am meant to be displaying the Ad Unit?

Have attached a screenshot below.
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/3577/forumbc7.jpg


Thanks for any help.

NeutralizeR 02 Jul 2008 17:56

It's the first ad unit (728 x 90). Check your navbar edits again. You should know that Google has changed the ad codes incase you are using the ones in this tutorial. If you have just put the ads in your pages, wait a couple of days for the adsense bot to crawl your pages.

glenbelt 03 Jul 2008 09:12

Thanks NeutralizeR.

I realised that Google had changed their ad codes, but I was a bit confused. Firstly I used the new adsense codes, and then I realised that I had missed out the line of code mentioning the collapsible ad unit html page, so then I went and changed all my adverts over to the style of the ones in the article.

Should I just use the newer adsense codes?

Also would I simply link to the collapsible ad unit.html file from within adsense, where they ask me about showing alternative adverts instead of PSA ones?


Thanks for any help

NeutralizeR 03 Jul 2008 10:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by glenbelt (Post 1565569)
Thanks NeutralizeR.

I realised that Google had changed their ad codes, but I was a bit confused. Firstly I used the new adsense codes, and then I realised that I had missed out the line of code mentioning the collapsible ad unit html page, so then I went and changed all my adverts over to the style of the ones in the article.

Should I just use the newer adsense codes?

Also would I simply link to the collapsible ad unit.html file from within adsense, where they ask me about showing alternative adverts instead of PSA ones?


Thanks for any help

Yes, use the new adsense codes and enter the link of the collapsible html within adsense.

glenbelt 03 Jul 2008 10:42

Oh okay, thanks again NeutralizeR.

Can I just ask, what does the collapsible ad unit do? What does it show?


Thanks again


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2022, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.