vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=233120

NAVTAB Combo Drop-Menu with Sub-Items
by cory_booth
14 Jan 2010 19:19

2 Attachment(s)
I have seen several hack to add a NAVTAB menu item (we are talking about the main links).
However, I had not ran across anything that would do exactly what I wanted.

Here is what this does.
Say you have a few pages you want a drop-down link (from the NAVTAB).
For example, I have an add-on gallery.
I wanted a single NAVTAB button called "GALLERY" but a drop-down to select the add on or VB Albums.

There is documentation to cover that, however...
Once the user clicks the drop-down menu, the NAVTAB "GALLERY" button is no longer "selected" and you do not have those nice sub-menu items.

This little combo hack will do this.

First, you must know the THIS_SCRIPT for the pages you will load with the drop-menu.

Once you know this, you can add them to the THIS_SCRIPT area and do two comparisons.
If you are not on one of the THIS_SCRIPT pages, the NAVTAB will be a drop-down.
If you are on one of the THIS_SCRIPT pages, the NAVTAB will be a selected link with submenu items.

Make a new plugin and add this code.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Fuhrmann 02 Jun 2010 22:32

Nice Article. I get this error:

"Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/combatar/public_html/pfps/includes/class_bootstrap.php(509) : eval()'d code on line 52"

I will look what it is...

as7apcool 09 Jun 2010 06:32

thanks alot 4 your work

Front Range 10 Jun 2010 20:00

Thanks Cory, very nice write-up! I now have 6 category drop-downs with 5 or so drop menus. :up:

Skyborg 12 Jun 2010 07:56

Hi,

if i would like to create a plugin.
I need to choose "Add-on" and "Hook".

Can somebody tell me what to choose?

Thank you.

Skyborg

FCS-Webmaster 24 Sep 2010 11:26

Don't work with 4.0.7.

I tried to implement that code but only get an error:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in wholeserverpath/home/includes/class_bootstrap.php(517) : eval()'d code on line

Okay it seems to be that you have an error in your syntax


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And for some reason I don't why the submenu shows not right

ozzy47 30 Sep 2010 02:18

I use the following hack and it works great.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=233629

ssslippy 01 Oct 2010 03:38

This should be cleaner code no reason for an else in there.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


sailnet 14 Dec 2010 22:38

I'd like to use this mod but I am very confused as to the definition of this_script.

does this_script refer to page name such as forum.php, forumdisplay.php, showthread.php, etc?

is that what it means?

I'd like to use the tabbed menu built into vb4 because I'm currently using a commercial product in my vb3.8 install.

please help me understand.

craigvm 20 Nov 2013 08:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy47 (Post 2104881)
I use the following hack and it works great.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=233629

thanks just installed this and it works great


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2020, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.