vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=322117

Return to the previous 4.2.2 ..
by flowers
15 Mar 2016 08:12

Hello,
I vBulletin version 4.2.3 really want to go back to the previous 4.2.2 ..
Please help.:confused:

squidsk 15 Mar 2016 12:30

Not really possible. Why do you want to go back? There are no significant differences between 4.2.2 and 4.2.3 except for various bug fixes and php compatibility upgrades.

Dave 15 Mar 2016 13:56

It's indeed not advised to downgrade. I don't see any significant database changes between 4.2.2 and 4.2.3 so technically it should be possible to downgrade by replacing the files, but I highly recommend you against doing so.

flowers 15 Mar 2016 16:54

Thank you very much for your answers. :)

Paul M 15 Mar 2016 18:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by flowers (Post 2567244)
Hello,
I vBulletin version 4.2.3 really want to go back to the previous 4.2.2 ..
Please help.:confused:

Dont.

There is no good reason to go backwards, if you want to change version, you should move forwards, to 4.2.4

webmastersun 16 Mar 2016 08:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 2567300)
Dont.

There is no good reason to go backwards, if you want to change version, you should move forwards, to 4.2.4

Have any announcements for vB 4.2.4? I am caring about this version? its features over vB 4.2.2?

ForceHSS 16 Mar 2016 18:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by webmastersun (Post 2567365)
Have any announcements for vB 4.2.4? I am caring about this version? its features over vB 4.2.2?

its still in beta unstable I would wait.

Paul M 16 Mar 2016 23:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by ForceHSS (Post 2567403)
its still in beta unstable I would wait.

There is no need to wait, its perfectly fine, i dont tell people to upgrade just for the fun of it.

Gio~Logist 16 Mar 2016 23:20

1 Attachment(s)
If you're familiar with code or have a developer in-house / on-call, sure. Otherwise, I'd wait till its stable :up: Your AdminCP should notify you once it's ready!

Paul M 17 Mar 2016 02:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gio~Logist (Post 2567423)
If you're familiar with code or have a developer in-house / on-call, sure. Otherwise, I'd wait till its stable :up: Your AdminCP should notify you once it's ready!

Again, absolute rubbish. You do not need any of those things, which part of "its perfectly fine" [to use] do you not understand ?

webmastersun 18 Mar 2016 02:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 2567434)
...."its perfectly fine"....

if so, I think it will have social connect? which allows visitors to register/login with their social network (Twitter, Facebook, Google+...) accounts?
I will update to this version if vB 4.2.4 has this function.

RichieBoy67 18 Mar 2016 03:51

Well to be fair here the fact that 4.2.3 will delete your attachments sometimes is not good. Hopefully this issue will be addressed with the next version.

I have a couple sites already updated to 4.2.3 that I cannot rebuild attachments on ever for fear of losing them.

Mark.B 22 Mar 2016 22:13

4.2.3 doesn't delete attachments at all, and whether you rebuild them makes zero difference.

What happened in those cases is this:

vB4 was always supposed to have a cron job that ran to delete any attachments marked as 'unused'. Unused means the post(s) they were in were deleted, so in effect the attachment is 'orphaned'...it exists but isn't used anywhere. They are marked as unused by the refcount value.

The script that was meant to run regularly to delete these unused attachments was broken and had been for years....in 4.2.3 it got fixed, so any unused attachments then got deleted, which is entirely correct.

The sites that experienced problems with ALL attachments being deleted, had an issue whereby the refcount values for their attachments had got corrupted some time way back in the past, meaning ALL their attachments were mrked as unused. This previously didn't have any effect, since the attachment deletion cron didn't work. But as of 4.2.3, it did.....so such sites lost all their attachments. This issue could not have been reasonably foreseen, and it's a good example of why you NEVER UPGRADE WITHOUT A FULL BACKUP. We don't say it for fun.

In 4.2.4, Paul has added a refcount check to the upgrade script, so this issue won't arise in 4.2.4 onwards, as the refcounts will be fixed if they're wrong.

The overwhelming majority of sites were NOT affected by this issue, it was just a small handful.

Manoel Júnior 22 Mar 2016 23:16

If I knew it before

Mark.B 23 Mar 2016 21:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manoel Júnior (Post 2567871)
If I knew it before

Yes, but we didn't know it before either....that's the point.

However, if you do as we have always recommended and take a full backup of both files and database before upgrading, it can all be easily fixed afterwards.


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.14
Copyright © 2021, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.