vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150925

Override Style on Custom Pages
by tyrionlannister
29 Jun 2007 03:07

I just spent a bit of time searching the forums for how to override a style on a custom page and I didn't find anything, so I thought I'd post this in case someone else searches for this in the future.

I spent some time reading through the vBulletin code and realized that regardless of which style variables you modify in your custom php page, they are redefined in init.php and global.php when you include global.php in your script. You can't add anything after global.php because the style has already been processed.

The only way it can be done without editing vBulleting files is through a hook.

Simply go to your AdminCP and click the "Add New Plugin" under the Plugins and Products manager. Since your custom page is a product (you should already have defined this), make sure to change the Product Name dropdown to whatever you've named it.

Select 'style_fetch' from the Hook Location dropdown, describe the plugin, and modify this based on your own code settings:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


This will work for simple scripts, but you will run into problems if you are using the vBulletin database class or input cleaner to help determine whether the style should be overwritten.

In this case, you could code your logic into an include script which is only called if this is a custom page.

In your custom pages, you should have


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And your hook code should read:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


fxdigi-cash 22 Apr 2014 00:54

I tried it on vb4, but didn't work... I wish it could though

TheLastSuperman 22 Apr 2014 22:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by fxdigi-cash (Post 2494066)
I tried it on vb4, but didn't work... I wish it could though

Hmm not sure why it wouldn't unless the hook location is not present or similar but no I have not tested the above code I'm just going to say try this article and see if does the trick - it explains how to overwrite css based on certain conditions (or you can add-in/remove conditionals).

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3077394

tbworld 22 Apr 2014 23:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2494202)
Hmm not sure why it wouldn't unless the hook location is not present or similar but no I have not tested the above code I'm just going to say try this article and see if does the trick - it explains how to overwrite css based on certain conditions (or you can add-in/remove conditionals).

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3077394

Hey buddy, for some reason the thread link is invalid. :)

fxdigi-cash 30 Apr 2014 00:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman (Post 2494202)
Hmm not sure why it wouldn't unless the hook location is not present or similar but no I have not tested the above code I'm just going to say try this article and see if does the trick - it explains how to overwrite css based on certain conditions (or you can add-in/remove conditionals).

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3077394

Thanks, but yes the link is invalid as mentioned...!!

would you mind to provide the correct one?? Thanks

--------------- Added 30 Apr 2014 at 00:17 ---------------

can you kindly give an example, possibly I'm doing it wrong somewhere!!!

I tried changing the following though:

from this -->


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and of course defined the script in the .php file like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then not sure where to add the last code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

any idea???

--------------- Added 30 Apr 2014 at 00:44 ---------------

ok, here is the whole story of what I'm up to just to avoid the confusion...

I wanted to have two pages of FORUMHOME where I can display some forums in one and other forums in the other one. I created a copy of forum.php file and named it aforum.php "exact copy", but changed any FORUMHOME inside the code to match the new copy FORUMHOME2.

I then created a template in all styles called "FORUMHOME2" exact copy of "FORUMHOME"

I could see almost everything there except that some plugins don't know what "FORUMHOME2" is... so they don't work on that page...

now I wanted to change the style of the new page "FORUMHOME2" so I created the plugin based on this article


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but still the style didn't work.... I think I missed something here!!!

any idea??

TTayfun 06 May 2014 17:32

thanks


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.