vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166909

Flashchat: Who is chatting (Add On)
by Mosh
04 Jan 2008 11:54

5 Attachment(s)
Hack Support

This hack is now discontinued - this means that while it will remain available for download and use, there will be no further updates, nor will support be provided as the thread is no longer monitored.

Please click Mark as Installed if you are using this hack.


vBulletin Version Compatibility

This hack can only be used with vBulletin v3.7.x.


What Does This Hack Do?

This is an add-on/enhancement to Paul M's Flashchat: Who is chatting hack.
This is the v3.7 port of my v3.6.x hack with extras.

Note: Version 3.7.003 of this hack and above are for FlashChat 5.0.x onwards only, and will not work with FlashChat 4.7.x. Version 3.7.002 of this hack will continue to be available for Flashchat 4 (but I will not be coding any further releases for FlashChat 4 versions).

What hacks need installing before installing this hack?
These hacks need to be installed in this order and working correctly, for this hack to work.
  1. FlashChat v4.7.x or v5.x.x
  2. Paul M's Flashchat: Integration for vB 3.7 v3.7.005 (Flashchat v4.7.x only) or v3.7.009 (Flashchat v5.x.x only)
  3. Paul M's Flashchat: Who is chatting v3.7.002 (Flashchat v4.7.x only) or v3.7.003 (Flashchat v5.x.x only)
  4. Then install the correct version of this hack (see versions below)

This does not change the functionality of Paul M's hack, this is just an enhancement to your installed version of Flashchat: Who is chatting.

The members on my forum requested that the Members currently using Flashchat box be moved to the top of the forums as it was a long way to scroll down to see who was chatting, at the top members could see who was chatting.

As members had to enter the chat or visit the forum homepage again to see who was chatting, I fixed it so that my members could also see who was chatting as they browsed the various forums and threads as well as on the who is online pages.

Paul M's has kindly given me permission to use some of his code in my Who is chatting add-on hacks.

Thank you Paul, for all your work on the Flashchat integration, it makes all our lives easier :)


What It Does
  1. It displays the chat list under the navbar on:
    • Forum Home
    • Forum Display
    • Show Thread
    • Who is Online
    • Members Profile pages
    • Search pages (from v3.7.003 onwards)
  2. The list view is collapsible, so you see just the number.
  3. Users who should display as coloured or bold etc are displayed correctly (based on the display usergroup)
  4. If you 'hover' over a username it will show the room they are chatting in and their status (away etc).
  5. If the chat is empty, a simple "No one is currently using the chat." message is displayed.
  6. Display the Most Ever chatters if enabled.
  7. The ability to turn it on/off is in the AdminCP Options (independent of Paul M's hack).
  8. The ability to select which locations this hack is displayed (independent of Paul M's hack).
  9. The ability to allow only certain usergroups to view the list is an AdminCP option (again, independent of Paul M's hack).
Note: This hack cannot display any bots in the chat, due to the strange way that FlashChat stores this information.


Installation Instructions

Download either of the below files, depending on your installed FlashChat version:
  • ms_wic_addon_fc5_v3.7.003.zip for Flashchat v5.x.x only
  • ms_wic_addon_fc4_v3.7.002.zip for Flashchat v4.7.x only
The installation instructions are included in attached zip files.

Uninstall Instructions
  1. Uninstall the product in vB using the AdminCP Product Manager.
  2. Re-install the correct version of Paul M's Flashchat: Who is chatting hack. Set Allow Overwrite to Yes.


Screenshots
Show in this order:
  • Who is Chatting box
  • FlashChat v4.7.x AdminCP options
  • FlashChat v5 AdminCP options


Version History
Note: Version numbers will be kept in sync with Paul M's hack

v3.7.003 - Tuesday 2nd September 2008
-- Final Release
-- FlashChat v5.x.x version (will not work with FlashChat v4.7.x)
-- Changed: Total code rewrite
-- Changed: Check boxes now for usergroup selection, instead of needing comma separated numbers
-- Changed: Instructions
-- Changed: Screenshots
-- Removed: AdminCP Options input validation (no longer needed)
-- Removed: Auto-template Injection options, now uses template hooks
-- Added: Now displays on Search pages
-- Added: 2 new plugins

v3.7.002 - Tuesday 13th May 2008
-- Last version for FlashChat v4.7.x only (will not work with FlashChat v5.x.x)
-- Changed: Product name
-- Added: AdminCP Options input validation

v3.7.001a - Thursday 7th February 2008
-- Changed: Install code

v3.7.001 - Friday 4th January 2008
-- Initial v3.7 Release


Thanks

Thanks go out to Paul M who gave me permission to use some of his install code.


Show Your Appreciation

Although not required, if you have enjoyed the benefits of this hack, and would like show your appreciation for my efforts, then please feel free to click on the Support Developer link and donate any amount you feel is appropriate.

gforce75 18 Jan 2008 21:13

Thanks you for the mod.

vwdforum 23 Jan 2008 07:13

I'm having trouble installing flashchat on a new forum which is vbulletin v3.7 beta 3

Is there any support to help me through how to add it, I've followed the instructions but still get nothing?

thanks

Mally

Mosh 23 Jan 2008 22:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by vwdforum (Post 1427121)
I'm having trouble installing flashchat on a new forum which is vbulletin v3.7 beta 3

Is there any support to help me through how to add it, I've followed the instructions but still get nothing?

thanks

Mally

Official Support is available from here - http://forum.tufat.com/

ARB4HOSTING.COM 24 Jan 2008 15:08

thanks alot for this product

vwdforum 20 Feb 2008 22:50

How can I change the phrase Members currently using Flashchat: 0 to a clickable link which goes to the chatroom?

At the minute only the whos_online.gif is clickable.

thanks

Great mod

Mosh 21 Feb 2008 02:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by vwdforum (Post 1447657)
How can I change the phrase Members currently using Flashchat: 0 to a clickable link which goes to the chatroom?

At the minute only the whos_online.gif is clickable.

thanks

Great mod

Edit phrase wic_using_flashchat and replace the contents with this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


can you combine everything?
by tazzarkin
28 Feb 2008 15:12

Can't you guys find a way to combine everything into just 1 mod? it would be great for just 2 steps even...

1) install vb integration
2) install who is chatting (full version)

i love your mod, just wish it could be reduced to 1 xml file

Mosh 28 Feb 2008 21:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by tazzarkin (Post 1452884)
Can't you guys find a way to combine everything into just 1 mod? it would be great for just 2 steps even...

1) install vb integration
2) install who is chatting (full version)

i love your mod, just wish it could be reduced to 1 xml file

Unfortunately not, as the way things are setup here at vbulletin.org there can only be one author of a hack, only they can update their thread. You would essentually have to all authors the moderators of that particular thread.

Also, looking at the amount of installs for each of my own and PM's hacks would indicate that people who install the integration do not necessarily want to install the who is chatting hack, it add-ons or the admincp integration.

So, in short, it is never going to happen while there is more than one author for our range of hacks.

Btw, if you are using this click Mark as Installed.

tazzarkin 13 Mar 2008 05:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mosh (Post 1453118)
Unfortunately not, as the way things are setup here at vbulletin.org there can only be one author of a hack, only they can update their thread. You would essentually have to all authors the moderators of that particular thread.

Also, looking at the amount of installs for each of my own and PM's hacks would indicate that people who install the integration do not necessarily want to install the who is chatting hack, it add-ons or the admincp integration.

So, in short, it is never going to happen while there is more than one author for our range of hacks.

Btw, if you are using this click Mark as Installed.

----------------------------------------

I want to use all 4 or 5 mods (all from different people) together, but it's just a lot of work, which is why I didn't click the install yet. I know it would only take 10 minutes to do the whole thing, but it's still too much for me.

What we need to do is get all three of you guys in the same room, and agree to merge everything together. It's my understanding that as long as the authors agree to combine the code, then it's okay to create a new mod with everyone taking credit.

It's probably a pipe dream, but it was worth a shot. Anyways, thanks for making this mod. I'll probably install it someday and then Mark as Installed. :)

bunglehaze 19 Mar 2008 17:12

Hi there, I am trying to remove the secondary box at the bottom of the page but the code is different to that posted, I have tried to change it to suit but I am not able to remove the bottom section of code.

Has this altered at all?

cheers

leigh :D

Mosh 20 Mar 2008 02:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by bunglehaze (Post 1468755)
Hi there, I am trying to remove the secondary box at the bottom of the page but the code is different to that posted, I have tried to change it to suit but I am not able to remove the bottom section of code.

Has this altered at all?

cheers

leigh :D

Not at all, you need to step 3 from my instructions to remove the code from the bottom of the forum homepage (as that is the only place it will appear anyway).

Also, click Mark as Installed if you are using this hack.

bunglehaze 21 Mar 2008 18:51

Hi Mosh,

the code I have is as follows:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which is different to the code you posted in step 3 (and I know there is a section missing at the top too but at the moment I am not too fussed. I am guessing that having it displayed at the bottom of the page it adds to the queries when it does not need to.

cheers

leigh :D
oh and marked as installed :D

Mosh 22 Mar 2008 07:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by bunglehaze (Post 1470878)
Hi Mosh,

the code I have is as follows:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which is different to the code you posted in step 3 (and I know there is a section missing at the top too but at the moment I am not too fussed. I am guessing that having it displayed at the bottom of the page it adds to the queries when it does not need to.

cheers

leigh :D
oh and marked as installed :D

Hi Leigh,

It looks like you are editing the wrong plugin, step 3 is to stop the bottom who is chatting being displayed on the forum homepage, it has nothing to do with queries, it has to do with aesthetics, so it will do no harm having both showing at the same time.

If want me to take a look then feel free to PM me your site address, an temp admin user (with permissions for managing products and editing templates), without these I cannot help you. I will look at the problem when I have time, and even if I have a look, I can not guarantee that I will be able to fix it, but should be able to, so it is up to you what you want to do.

Mosh :)

yaoren 25 Apr 2008 17:34

Hey there for some reason I have nothing displaying on the box. The box and gif are there but the box is empty. Am I missing a step? Also I did add the usergroups that could see this.

Using VB 3.7.0 RC4


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.13
Copyright © 2019, MH Sub I, LLC dba vBulletin. All Rights Reserved. vBulletin® is a registered trademark of MH Sub I, LLC
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.