vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248042

GlowHost.com 12 Mar 2011 21:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quarantine (Post 2172619)
Where can I download the original mod from?

You might try uninstalling then re-installing the latest version to see if it cures the problem for you. If not, I might have a copy of an older version if you lost the one you originally downloaded.

Quarantine 14 Mar 2011 15:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2172657)
You might try uninstalling then re-installing the latest version to see if it cures the problem for you. If not, I might have a copy of an older version if you lost the one you originally downloaded.

I actually can't install the latest version at all - when I try to install it, that "database error" comes up and stops the installation from proceeding.

Unfortunately I don't have the older version anymore with me, if you still have it, could you link me to it please?

Thanks again!

GlowHost.com 14 Mar 2011 15:44

What version did you have installed before?

puertoblack2003 15 Mar 2011 17:18

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Quarantine (Post 2171401)
Hi there,

I've previously used your 1.2.x version but stopped it for a while, and now I found out that you've released a 2.x version.

I made sure to remove that /forum/includes/xml/bitfield_glowhostspamomatic.xml file, and then tried to install it by importing product-glowhostspamomatic.xml into "Products".

I immediately see a database error message:



I noticed there's an extra semi-colon at TYPE=MyISAM, but when I checked the product-glowhostspamomatic.xml out, there's only one semi-colon, not two as this error shows.

Any ideas what could be the problem? =/



na i had the same issue with same info, but with photopost. attached is the modified file you should be ok

I changed the TYPE=MyISAM to ENGINE=MyISAM and removed ";" this happens on windows server mysql 5.5.8

giskard 17 Mar 2011 12:58

I have had it installed on my site now for 3 days and this is the result.

Spam-O-Matic StatisticsSpam-O-Matic Statistics

388 Spammers Denied Registration

Before switching to Vbulletin a few days ago we had to remove those spammers manually, now its automatic. The IP/email check on its own has so far caught every spammer. Theres no need for any of the other features to be turned on.

Excellent job.

I am using the Stop Forum Spam option btw. We used it before and its always worked well.

Quarantine 17 Mar 2011 17:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by puertoblack2003 (Post 2173637)
na i had the same issue with same info, but with photopost. attached is the modified file you should be ok

I changed the TYPE=MyISAM to ENGINE=MyISAM and removed ";" this happens on windows server mysql 5.5.8

Thank you so much! :D That indeed worked and solved my problem! I could indeed install the plugin after using the modified file.

giskard 18 Mar 2011 11:25

Since I posted yesterday giving the spammers stopped 1 day ago. I am going to post todays spammers stopped so you can see how serious the problem is and how good this program has been.

I must say I am very impressed.

Spam-O-Matic Statistics

539 Spammers Denied Registration

blue6995 21 Mar 2011 19:22

Using v2.02 and Vbulletin 4.1.2 I've just noticed if I try and search in Google for the IP address I get the following message:


Google SafeSearch is ON StopForumSpam Search Web Search



Your search - 86.136.144.121 - did not match any documents.

Suggestions:
Make sure all words are spelled correctly.
Try different keywords.
Try more general keywords.

Is this something to do with this mod or is it something else entirely

Thanks

putttee 21 Mar 2011 23:57

I have a quick question. At what point does this mod check if its a spammer. The second they click register? Can you make the check point to be after the vb email verification? The reason I'm wondering is because we do like to know that its a valid email address that is on theusers file for various reasons

GlowHost.com 22 Mar 2011 03:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by putttee (Post 2175956)
I have a quick question. At what point does this mod check if its a spammer. The second they click register? Can you make the check point to be after the vb email verification? The reason I'm wondering is because we do like to know that its a valid email address that is on theusers file for various reasons

It is checked after they pass the vBulletin registration and human verification (if enabled) which many bots will fail with so there is no need to check those.

I don't understand what you mean by having a valid email address. If you use email validation then you users must have a valid address otherwise they won't be able to become a registered user.

Help!
by Jay A Kelley
25 Mar 2011 17:25

I was so excited to use this.. But!

I have v 4.1.1 and I just downloaded Spam O matic. When I installed it (Which seemed to go just fine) and thing TRASHED my sytem. I can no longer access the forum at all!

I quickly uninstalled the plugin but the problem remained. It looks like it changed something in my directory.

Vbulliten used to start in /forum/forum.php
but now it goes to:
/forum/bulletin-login/forum.php

and there IS NO /bulletin-login

I want to say up front I am new and most likely did something wrong, but any help would be wonderful!!

Jay

GlowHost.com 25 Mar 2011 18:28

I don't think it would be fair to say that this mod trashed your system. It's not possible.

It sounds to me like your forum was trashed in some other way when you were manipulating the files of your forum. I can't really tell you how to fix your board as I am not sure what was done to break it. You should contact vBulletin for support to repair the forum or re-install the PHP files for the forum if that is an option for you. If uploading the PHP files doesn't fix the problem, something in your database settings needs to be updated.

It's Damn Real! 25 Mar 2011 18:38

I get the same error as the guy above me.

Contents of upload folder were uploaded to root and the XML file I downloaded was installed, but as soon as the plug in is enabled anyone who posts gets the following error:

Quote:

Warning: require_once(includes/functions_ghsom.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/functions_newpost.php(443) : eval()'d code on line 5

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'includes/functions_ghsom.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in/home/blueshir/public_html/includes/functions_newpost.php(443) : eval()'d code on line 5'
Edit: Scratch that — figured it out. Just needed to add the downloaded content to the existing folders in Public_HTML, not in root.

Jay A Kelley 25 Mar 2011 18:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowHost.com (Post 2177366)
I don't think it would be fair to say that this mod trashed your system. It's not possible.

It sounds to me like your forum was trashed in some other way when you were manipulating the files of your forum. I can't really tell you how to fix your board as I am not sure what was done to break it. You should contact vBulletin for support to repair the forum or re-install the PHP files for the forum if that is an option for you. If uploading the PHP files doesn't fix the problem, something in your database settings needs to be updated.

Please note I also stated I am new, and most likely did something wrong.

OldSchoolDSL 25 Mar 2011 18:59

Any plans on porting this over, for those of us who have upgraded to XenForo?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.