Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Exclude Forums From external.php Details »
Exclude Forums From external.php
Mod Version: 1.00, by echamberlain (Member) echamberlain is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (10 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 78
Released: 04 Aug 2007 Last Update: 04 Aug 2007 Downloads: 463
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Ever wanted to exclude some of your forums from the external.php output, without having to add and maintain a huge include list?

Now you can, this mod adds two attributes to the external.php query string.
  • excludeids is a comma delimited string of forums to exclude from the external.php output.
  • notitleids=1 will not list all the included forum ids in the RSS feed title.
Why was this mod created and how is it used?

We redirect all our feed requests to feedburner and use it to serve all our forum feeds. We have a feed for each of our individual forums and a general feed for the entire site. Recently we added some commercial forums and don't want to clutter the feed with the commercial content, so we needed to exclude two forums. Our forum feed string now looks like:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

How does this mod work?

This mod uses the hooks in external.php to add the new settings without the need for custom code modifications.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 04 Aug 2007, 21:36
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
pretty cool hack, thanks mate
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05 Aug 2007, 22:42
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
Thanks! Exactly what I needed!
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Aug 2007, 21:45
pictureboarduk pictureboarduk is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
What does this do?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Aug 2007, 04:06
SBlueman SBlueman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Where do you edit the forums to include/exclude in the ACP?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Aug 2007, 09:47
baghdad4ever baghdad4ever is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: husam
Originally Posted by SBlueman View Post
Where do you edit the forums to include/exclude in the ACP?

i wanna the same thing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Aug 2007, 10:15
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Excellent stuff - perfect for me when hiding forums from RSS feeds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08 Aug 2007, 16:34
echamberlain's Avatar
echamberlain echamberlain is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Eric
Originally Posted by SBlueman View Post
Where do you edit the forums to include/exclude in the ACP?
I didn't add any ACP control.

The excluded forums are controlled from the external.php query string.
__________________
Eric Chamberlain
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 03:44
SBlueman SBlueman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Ok...let me try this....what do I edit and where do I go to edit which forums to exclude?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 11:51
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Hi

Even though I have the &notitleids=1 command in my url, for one of my forums it still shows the ids when I add more then 2 forum ids to exclude.

http://www.patientenfragen.net/exter...3&notitleids=1

On my other forum, this problem does not exist even with 3 ids in the url.

http://www.elternfragen.net/external...2&notitleids=1

I have no clue why this happened

Thanks for this mod.

StarBuG

Last edited by StarBuG; 09 Aug 2007 at 12:14.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 16:54
echamberlain's Avatar
echamberlain echamberlain is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Eric
Originally Posted by SBlueman View Post
Ok...let me try this....what do I edit and where do I go to edit which forums to exclude?
You add the new attributes to where ever you are using external.php.

My main RSS feed now looks like:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Eric Chamberlain
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11 Aug 2007, 20:20
SBlueman SBlueman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
So I am editing something in external.php to exclude forums now?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Aug 2007, 06:35
Antivirus's Avatar
Antivirus Antivirus is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
interesting, i thin i can use this, need to look into it
__________________
Please feel free to PM me about custom work, installations, and upgrades!

Eclipse Records - Streetcult Street Team
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Aug 2007, 06:54
SBlueman SBlueman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
What I am trying to do is only include one forum in my rss feed. Any suggestions on how to do this efficiently?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 00:31
echamberlain's Avatar
echamberlain echamberlain is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Eric
Originally Posted by SBlueman View Post
What I am trying to do is only include one forum in my rss feed. Any suggestions on how to do this efficiently?
It's documented in the vBulletin manual.
__________________
Eric Chamberlain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: