Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 May 2008, 10:58
aceofspades's Avatar
aceofspades aceofspades is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Word count mod - Ajax

Hey guys,

Is there a way to count the current amount of words typed in the message box and calculate how many characters remain untill the word limit is reached?

You can see an example here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/bbs/post/reply/914240

James
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 May 2008, 12:53
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
AJAX is not needed. JS is all that is required. I'm sure there are many tutorials on the net that will tell you have to get this counter.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 May 2008, 10:59
aceofspades's Avatar
aceofspades aceofspades is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Hi,

Ive been trying to do this but have come across some difficulties. First of all here is my code to count the characters:

<html>
<head>
<title>Javascript Character Count</title>
<link href="basic.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script language="JavaScript">

var running = false;

function start(){
running = true;
setTimeout('run();',500);
}

function run(){
document.ccform.display.value = document.ccform.text.value.length;
if(running)
setTimeout('run();',100);
}

function stop(){
running = false;
}

</script>
</head>
<body>
<h1>Javascript Character Counter</h1>
<form name="ccform">
<p><textarea name="text" rows="20" cols="100" onfocus="start();" onblur="stop();"></textarea></p>

<p><input type="text" name="display" /></p>
</form>

</body>
</html>
What i did was first impliment this into my editor_toolbar_off template, so that i had this:

<div class="controlbar" style="text-align:$stylevar[left]">
<form name="ccform">
<textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:60px" tabindex="1">$newpost[message]</textarea>
<p><input type="text" name="display" /></p>
</form>

</div>
In bold is what i added and in italic is the var im going to change in the javascript example (from text to message)

Now i went to my editor_clientscript template and added the javascript with the rest of the javascript, this is what i added:

<script language="JavaScript">

var running = false;

function start(){
running = true;
setTimeout('run();',500);
}

function run(){
document.ccform.display.value = document.ccform.message.value.length;
if(running)
setTimeout('run();',100);
}

function stop(){
running = false;
}

</script>
However what i am then left with is a box at the bottom that is meant to be displaying the number of words typed, but when i type numbers no numbers apprear or increase.

Can anyone tell me what the problem is? Ive tried to do it myself a few times but i really cant figure it out. I can provide any more information if it will help.

James

--------------- Added 31 May 2008 at 17:23 ---------------

Ive just tested the code as it was originally posted and it works fine so im having a really hard time finding out why it isnt working. Ive also tried pasting the code at the top of the editor_toolbar_off template with the other javascript and it doesnt work there either :'(

Last edited by aceofspades; 01 Jun 2008 at 10:25. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 11:02
aceofspades's Avatar
aceofspades aceofspades is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Bump, i still cant figure this out and would really appreciate some help.

Regards,

James
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 03:12
GameWizard's Avatar
GameWizard GameWizard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Remove the below in red:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note the changes that are in blue:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need to remove the ccform before there is already a form around the newthread area and so forth which is called 'vbform', so you don't need an additional form.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 08:28
aceofspades's Avatar
aceofspades aceofspades is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thank you for the help. I made the adjustments that you suggested:

At the start of my editor_clientscript i have this javascript:

<!-- EDITOR SCRIPTS -->
<script language="JavaScript">

var running = false;

function start(){
running = true;
setTimeout('run();',500);
}

function run(){
document.vbform.display.value = document.vbform.message.value.length;
if(running)
setTimeout('run();',100);
}

function stop(){
running = false;
}

</script>
....
In my editor_toolbar_off template i have this at the start:

<!-- START NORMAL TEXT AREA -->
$vBeditTemplate[clientscript]

<div class="controlbar" style="text-align:$stylevar[left]">
<textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:60px" tabindex="1">$newpost[message]</textarea>
<p><input type="text" name="display" /></p>
</div>
Attached is the situation i have at the moment, i have the box for the numbers to display in, but when i type the javascript doesnt seem to register the letters and so the numbers dont go up.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp vb.bmp (555.6 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 09:44
GameWizard's Avatar
GameWizard GameWizard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I too have tried many variants of the code but it appears that due to the nature of the vBulletin text editor, it doesn't seem to register it as 'message' for the name but rather something else, or nothing at all. Unless you can find another way to call the actual text area of the editor then it won't be able to count the text.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Guess The Word (Game) [AJAX] harmor19 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 45 03 Jun 2008 06:20



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: