Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings Details »
Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings
Mod Version: 4.01.13, by Jafo232 (Coder/Designer) Jafo232 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (83 votes - 4.40 average) Installs: 1329
Released: 14 Feb 2009 Last Update: 16 Feb 2011 Downloads: 5483
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files  

Identical to this Mod here, but now for the Vbulletin 3.8 line.
DOES NOT WORK FOR Vbulletin 4.x

This version probably no longer works for Wordpress 3.x. I have started developing this product over and have released the NEW version here:

http://www.lampwrights.com/showthread.php?t=41




This mod bridges your Vbulletin users over to Wordpress. You can also use Vbulletin as your comment engine instead of the spammy one built into Wordpress. You can display the comments inline in your post. You need not use the comment feature, if your only interested in sharing users.

You can map your Vbulletin Usergroups to Wordpress Usergroups and those users will then be recognized as registered Wordpress users.

For example, user "Joe" registers at your forum and logs in. Joe then clicks on your Wordpress page. Joe is instantly added to the Wordpress user base with the permissions you set for his usergroup. In otherwords, if a user comes over belonging to the "Registered User" group, you can select that he is placed in the Wordpress "Subscriber" usergroup.

If you change a users group from vbulletin, it will automatically change in Wordpress.

Requirements:
  • DOES NOT and WILL NEVER support Wordpress MU.
  • Wordpress and Vbulletin scripts must reside on the same physical server.
  • Wordpress and Vbulletin must use the same domain name.
  • Stable Wordpress Version greater than or equal to 2.7.
  • DOES work for Vbulletin 3.7.
  • Does work for vBulletin 3.8.
Limitations:
  • Does not work for 4.x. Why? Because VB 4.x does not work for me. If they ever make that product worth a shit, I might support it.
  • Please don't ask if it works for any BETA versions of Vbulletin. I do not know and will not convert this to the latest version of VB (whatever it is at the time you are reading this) until the version is released as non-beta.
  • Does not work with XMLRPC.
  • Chances are, this will not work when VB and Wordpress are located in different sub domains. I.E. forum.yoursite.com - blog.yoursite.com. Cookie issue.
  • I did the best I could in determining your forums file path with the script. There may be certain script setups that cannot find the file path properly, in which case you may get errors that the script cannot find or open /config.php. If this is the case, please HARDCODE your ABSOLUTE path to the forum in vbridge.php.

    To do this find:


    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    And uncomment the last line, and change the path to your forums path:


    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Common Mistakes When Installing:
  • Using two different host names causes problems. If your forum URL contains www.yourdomain.com, then your wordpress blog URL MUST contain the www. part of www.yourdomain.com also. This goes for any other host name. Browsers are finnecky when it comes to cookies (as they should be).
  • Editors generally EDIT, not write. In Wordpress, editors don't show up in the post author drop down. This has nothing to do with this plugin, that is Wordpress code.
  • Make sure you DO NOT create a subdirectory for this plugin in the wp-content/plugins directory. Just upload it directly there..
  • If you do not map users before you turn auto-integrate on, the plugin has no idea whether your allowed into the dashboard.
  • If you all of a sudden can't login to the dashboard, see the above two common mistakes.
  • FOLLOW the directions and make a test post first. Being in a rush and not testing will most likely turn out bad for you.
UPDATES:

Changelog is included in download, here is the most recent changes:

3/09/2009
  • Added code to process scheduled posts
  • Addressed code where links and images would not show up properly in VB
  • Added new table called vb_forumid for scheduled posts
  • Reduced redundant calls when dealing with forum excerpts
Sites Using This Plug-In:(PM me if you want to add your site here)

Special Thanks:

axisoverdrive - Debugging Help, Kyraal - Paypal Donation, Kalina - Paypal Donation, Wildcard27 - Paypal Donation, Shri - Paypal Donation, pspcrazy - Paypal Donation, Tomahoochi - Paypal Donation.

If you use this plug-in, and find it useful, please support us by nominating us for Mod Of The Month (MOTM) in the top right corner of this thread, or feel free to donate.

If you do install:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings Jafo232 Modification Graveyard 1318 24 Mar 2013 17:45
Integration with vBulletin Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings Jafo232 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 359 07 Mar 2012 14:18
Integration with vBulletin VBulletin-Wordpress Bridge for 3.64 imranbaig vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 53 22 Mar 2008 16:41

  #1246  
Old 29 Nov 2010, 19:51
GunShad0w GunShad0w is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by jacobomoya View Post
That's a reported 'normal' occurence, keep trying to connect into the wp-admin page and you'll eventually succeed. Clear your browser's cache/cookies, also, try it with/without the "www" in the url (like, if you're using http://gunshadow.com/wp-admin, try http://www.gunshadow.com/wp-admin) if you still can't.
Ive tried all of that. Everytime it either says, "Username field is empty at the login page", or it give me a blank screen
Reply With Quote
  #1247  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 03:04
RPSmedia RPSmedia is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
This works for me on vb 4.08 and wp 3.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #1248  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 07:17
jacobomoya jacobomoya is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by Dr Longhorn View Post
I see the option to choose a forum, but I donít see where you select which wordpress category you want to be posted to that forum, donít I have to link the one to the other. Basically what I want is all posts that are made in a certain wordpress category to be automatically posted to a specific forum.

Thanks
I'm afraid there's no such option. But the forum you choose in VBridge settings is just the default forum all posts will be published if you don't specify one. When you're writing a new post, look below for a new dropdown list with all your forums, you'll have to manually select the forum for every post with that.

Originally Posted by GunShad0w View Post
Ive tried all of that. Everytime it either says, "Username field is empty at the login page", or it give me a blank screen
Hmm, disable every other WP plugin and try it again from scratch. Might have a conflict going on there.
Reply With Quote
  #1249  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 12:43
GunShad0w GunShad0w is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by jacobomoya View Post
I'm afraid there's no such option. But the forum you choose in VBridge settings is just the default forum all posts will be published if you don't specify one. When you're writing a new post, look below for a new dropdown list with all your forums, you'll have to manually select the forum for every post with that.



Hmm, disable every other WP plugin and try it again from scratch. Might have a conflict going on there.
Ive been placing the vbulletin in the same database as wordpress, maybe I should try putting vb in a separate db?


EDIT: Ok so I tried a separate DB, and now its letting me login to the Wordpress dashboard with my vBulletin login details, but now when I login to vbulletin, it logs me right back out and I can't access the admin panel on vb...

Last edited by GunShad0w; 30 Nov 2010 at 13:04.
Reply With Quote
  #1250  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 16:36
jacobomoya jacobomoya is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by GunShad0w View Post
when I login to vbulletin, it logs me right back out and I can't access the admin panel on vb...
Cookie domain problem. Use the tools.php to restore it, making sure it's pointing to the forum directory and not the root one.
Reply With Quote
  #1251  
Old 01 Dec 2010, 12:01
GunShad0w GunShad0w is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by jacobomoya View Post
Cookie domain problem. Use the tools.php to restore it, making sure it's pointing to the forum directory and not the root one.
so it turns out it was all cookie problems from the very beginning haha, I fixed it by having the wordpress and vbulletin cookies saved to the same path. Everythings fixed and running, thanks for your help...

now I can finally click install for this mod
Reply With Quote
  #1252  
Old 01 Dec 2010, 15:39
MumDadBaby MumDadBaby is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Hi folks,

I'm also receiving the "headers already sent" error when making a post. The plugin still manages to post to the correct forum with the correct title/username etc but there's no content, just the link back to the article itself.

Any ideas?


Cheers,
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #1253  
Old 01 Dec 2010, 16:00
MumDadBaby MumDadBaby is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Question

Originally Posted by MumDadBaby View Post
Hi folks,

I'm also receiving the "headers already sent" error when making a post. The plugin still manages to post to the correct forum with the correct title/username etc but there's no content, just the link back to the article itself.

Any ideas?


Cheers,
Robert
This is what I'm getting (see attachment).

Now going by that (I'm not 100% on PHP errors) I'm assuming there's something wrong with my child theme's functions.php at line 20.

Here's the full function found around that line (line 20 is the echo $output line):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any ideas?


Cheers,
Robert
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error.jpg (13.0 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1254  
Old 01 Dec 2010, 16:17
AleXanniX AleXanniX is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Hello
i tried to install the bridge, but when i write a test post i recive a white page in mysite.com/wp-admin/post.php

where's the problem?

Last edited by AleXanniX; 01 Dec 2010 at 18:17.
Reply With Quote
  #1255  
Old 04 Dec 2010, 08:05
way2xtreme way2xtreme is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Smile

Hello, I am having the same problem as below, how do you hardcode the link in the plugin file?

I see the line in my editor, just not sure what to type.

Also, let's say my forum is at 12345.com and my blog is at 12345.com/wpblog/ , what is the relative path ?

Thanks,
W


Originally Posted by amjadz4 View Post
Originally Posted by LegendZelda View Post

When I try to make a post I get the following errors

Warning: chdir() [function.chdir]: No such file or directory (errno 2) in /home1/noahglas/public_html/hiddentriforce/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php on line 108

Warning: require_once(./includes/class_dm.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home1/noahglas/public_html/hiddentriforce/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php on line 113

This is when I Update a post, publish a post, etc.

I got everything else working. I do not want the posts to be published to my forums. I just wanted the user integration so I have the Post Articles to Forum option turned off.

What can I do to fix this?

Noah

Check your paths in the vbridge settings. Or, manually hardcode the link in the plugin file.

Originally Posted by saf-t scissors View Post

Does anyone know why the resetvbbridge file doesn't work?

I screwed something up and got locked out of WP, tried to use this file to turn integration off, uploaded it to the root WP dir (same as the root dir for that host) and ran it, but nothing happens. Looking at the code, I should get a confirmation echo.

Originally Posted by saf-t scissors View Post

I was able to manually edit the db and turn the plug-in off, but that little script still doesn't work.

Uninstall it completely from your DB and re install, step by step. Should work perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #1256  
Old 05 Dec 2010, 03:24
cache cache is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I can not past the first installation step, as soon as I turn on this plug in, when accessing wp's post, I would get this:

wp-admin/global.php. You should check your path! Turning Plugin Off

I have seen three people had the exact same problem in this thread, but it seemed there was answer to their questions either.
Reply With Quote
  #1257  
Old 05 Dec 2010, 20:04
MumDadBaby MumDadBaby is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Hmmm, the developer hasn't been on here since October, that's a bit worrying.
Reply With Quote
  #1258  
Old 06 Dec 2010, 00:20
bailz66 bailz66 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Whenever I activate the "Auto-Integrate" on I keep getting blank pages for all of Wordpress. I tried mapping "Unregistered / Not Logged In" as every possible role but I get the same results (blank pages).

That said, if I head over to the forum and log in (either as a user or an admin), I get all Wordpress pages with no problem.

Any suggestions?
This was posted last year but no response made

Does anyone have a solution for this?

Thanks
Warren

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #1259  
Old 09 Dec 2010, 01:11
bailz66 bailz66 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have the solution to the above problem

If you have your forums set so that unregistered users can not view your forum then unregistered users will not be able to view the log. There wont be an error message just a blank page. Hope this helps someone else
Reply With Quote
  #1260  
Old 09 Dec 2010, 11:06
MumDadBaby MumDadBaby is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I've just discovered that Complete vBridge is screwing with "Set Featured Image". It hits you with the dreaded "Are you sure you want to do this? Please try again." page.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: