Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sound Notification Details »
Sound Notification
Mod Version: 1.2, by TheInsaneManiac (Coder/Designer) TheInsaneManiac is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 05 Apr 2011 Last Update: 30 Dec 2013 Downloads: 199
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

This will play You've Got Mail when a new notification is received. You can also replace the mail.mp3 file with your own sound to play upon a new notification.

I ask that you not remove the branding as it helps support me. Without support I will not continue making modifications.


Features:
Global Enable/Disable
Only Alert Once (Uses Cookies)
Index Only Option [PRO]
Cookie Resets After All Unread Messages Have Been Read [PRO]
Usergroup Permissions [PRO]
UserID Permissions [PRO]


No Branding Version:
For a premium no-branding version which has additional features and lifetime updates, please visit my Products & Services page.


Installation:
Upload mail.mp3 to root of vB directory
Install product-soundnotification.xml
Mark Installed
Done


Upgrading:
Import the product and select Allow Overwrite.


Changelog:
1.1 - Recoded for 4.2.2

1.0 - Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Private Messages Enhancements Sound Notification TheInsaneManiac vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 75 16 Feb 2014 08:20
Integration with vBulletin Sound notification karim004 vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 47 06 Oct 2009 09:51
VB PM Random Sound Notification paul41598 vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 20 14 Sep 2008 19:51

  #16  
Old 15 Apr 2011, 17:53
Eq4bits Eq4bits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I uploaded a wav file to use instead, but it doesn't play
I made the necessary edits in the xml file, to header, etc
Have it enabled in admincp>options/settings
It's auto enabled for all users
Yes, it's enabled on my own i.d./profile
but it still doesn't play =S
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15 Apr 2011, 18:36
Eq4bits Eq4bits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
now my members are getting 'missing profile field' error when they log in, even when everything in profile is filled in properly.
Had to Uninstall, will tag and check back to see if error fixed =S
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15 Apr 2011, 21:12
FazerPaint's Avatar
FazerPaint FazerPaint is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Originally Posted by Eq4bits View Post
I uploaded a wav file to use instead, but it doesn't play
I made the necessary edits in the xml file, to header, etc
Have it enabled in admincp>options/settings
It's auto enabled for all users
Yes, it's enabled on my own i.d./profile
but it still doesn't play =S
Exactly the same problem here, all installed and edits done, but still no sound plays.

Disabled until solution found
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20 Apr 2011, 20:56
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Have you tried just a mp3 file?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26 Jun 2011, 06:23
Eq4bits Eq4bits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
reinstalled and tried using with original mp3 file provided... still doesn't work (yes speakers were turned on)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05 Jul 2011, 16:59
Lostboyfan's Avatar
Lostboyfan Lostboyfan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Real name: Robby Wittert
Tagged for later.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06 Jul 2011, 20:19
Sforums Sforums is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Tried on default style and doesn't work either.
Rating says it all.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 14 Nov 2012, 01:58
faisaly.com faisaly.com is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Can anyone help with this, using vb4.2.0 The code found on vb4.2.0 was in headernot navbar and the array was put under it and the xml was edited replacing "navbar" with header

Profile Id number was also added to the xml in the place specified, and uploaded the mp3 to public_html

Am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 23:41
Bubble #5 Bubble #5 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Cool

You're not missing anything it doesn't work. The OP just abandoned it. I will play around with it to see if I can get it working (4.2.1) but it may be a lost cause. Shame it's not supported because I was going to buy the premium version too.
__________________
If we don't help each other when we can, then we're not making this world a better place.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28 Dec 2013, 01:33
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Bubble #5 View Post
You're not missing anything it doesn't work. The OP just abandoned it. I will play around with it to see if I can get it working (4.2.1) but it may be a lost cause. Shame it's not supported because I was going to buy the premium version too.
Too many were hating on the product, so I figured no one wanted it, so I stopped working on it. I have a simple version I been using on my forums for my admins for the last few months, but nothing special.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28 Dec 2013, 01:37
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
I started to do this also for vBSuperPm when I was with DBTech, but I also abandoned the idea, as it gets quite annoying.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 28 Dec 2013, 02:18
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
I started to do this also for vBSuperPm when I was with DBTech, but I also abandoned the idea, as it gets quite annoying.
I have a few ideas actually and your help actually gave me another idea. Gonna pm you real quick.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06 Jan 2014, 03:47
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Installed the Pro version.

Can't find where to set the Usergroup permissions or other pro feature permissions.

Does this notify for all notificatisons or just PMs?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06 Jan 2014, 05:25
billstelling's Avatar
billstelling billstelling is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Part of the problem with it seems to be it was created using apples os(guess). It wanted me to install quicktime after installing it. (the no sound problem maybe)
firefox stuck a box saying something needed the quicktime plugin to run. It stuck that notice at the top of the sidebar of all places and was the top block of the sidebar. Not even sure if it was FF that did it. Never had a plugin request show up in vb like it before..
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06 Jan 2014, 06:15
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
Installed the Pro version.

Can't find where to set the Usergroup permissions or other pro feature permissions.

Does this notify for all notificatisons or just PMs?
This is my fault, I apologize, I don't know what is going on with sellfy but they never correct a file update when I upload a newer version. I'm out of town, when I get back tomorrow I will PM you correct version. Sorry for any inconvenience.

EDIT: Updated the file for Pro.

Originally Posted by billstelling View Post
Part of the problem with it seems to be it was created using apples os(guess). It wanted me to install quicktime after installing it. (the no sound problem maybe)
firefox stuck a box saying something needed the quicktime plugin to run. It stuck that notice at the top of the sidebar of all places and was the top block of the sidebar. Not even sure if it was FF that did it. Never had a plugin request show up in vb like it before..
It uses <embed src> Firefox will sometimes do that for wav files. try MP3.

Last edited by TheInsaneManiac; 12 Jan 2014 at 02:56. Reason: Updated file
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: