Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Nov 2017, 15:38
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Threads won't show

I can't view any threads or posts on my forum (boostedk20.com). Links re-direct to a 500 error. While talking with my host, they entered the 500 error URL into some website and told me there is a missing vbulletin file. If I remember correctly, the problematic file was "vB_Cache_Db". How can I confirm that this is the affected file or how can I find out what is causing my issue?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Dec 2017, 00:40
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Try: AdminCP > Maintenance > Clear System Cache

Have you made any recent changes to .htaccess?
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman - Custom vBulletin Modifications, Styles, and Services.
Need a Host? I recommend URLJet.

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Dec 2017, 18:12
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Try: AdminCP > Maintenance > Clear System Cache

Have you made any recent changes to .htaccess?
Clear System Cache brings up a blank page in admincp, nothing happens. Is this because a file is missing?

I have not messed with the htaccess file, but I did recently notice i have three of them - none of which are active (as they are labeled 1.htaccess 2.htaccess etc.).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 Dec 2017, 00:26
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
If you haven't made changes to the core vbulletin files then you can re-upload a fresh copy of vbulletin files with the same exact version on your server. This will take care of the any missing files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Dec 2017, 23:30
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
If you haven't made changes to the core vbulletin files then you can re-upload a fresh copy of vbulletin files with the same exact version on your server. This will take care of the any missing files.
Is there a way to confirm that I haven't changed any core vbulletin files? And are you aware of a website which enables a user to paste the URL and it will tell what file(s) are problematic?

Otherwise, it seems simple enough. Could you explain how to do so?

Last edited by BoostedK20; 07 Dec 2017 at 00:58.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Dec 2017, 12:42
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
GOTO

AdminCP > Maintenance > Diagnostics > Suspect File Versions ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Dec 2017, 18:46
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
GOTO

AdminCP > Maintenance > Diagnostics > Suspect File Versions ...
Thank you. There were a bunch of files not recognized as part of vBulletin. These were mainly product plugins. Do I re-download the files from vbulletin and re-upload? What should I look out for?

Last edited by BoostedK20; 07 Dec 2017 at 19:10.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Dec 2017, 22:42
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
You can try that. You dont have to upload image files just in case you are using custom images.

BTW have you tried disabling the plugins to see if that fixes the error?

PS. Make backup 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Dec 2017, 22:48
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
You can try that. You dont have to upload image files just in case you are using custom images.

BTW have you tried disabling the plugins to see if that fixes the error?

PS. Make backup 1st.
I haven't tried disabling plugins to see. Didn't think of that. Should I disable one-by-one and see if one changes that?

Do you suggest any other things I should try first before re-uploading files? The last post was 4 weeks ago. So, something happened between then and one week ago to cause this. I've added an SSL, that is the only change I've made to the vbulletin site since or before that last post. Is there a log I can check? Thank you for helping me so far
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08 Dec 2017, 11:50
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Disable all plugins are see the error goes away. If it does then enable them one at a time OR disable them one at a time and which modifications is causing this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 23:36
BoostedK20 BoostedK20 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
Disable all plugins are see the error goes away. If it does then enable them one at a time OR disable them one at a time and which modifications is causing this problem.
I disabled one at a time. The 500 error for threads persisted with plugins disabled. I'm wondering how my host, at the time, was able to tell me there was a file error? Did they run a 'broken' url that resulted in the 500 error and saw what file was erroneous when called upon? Something similar? If so, how could I go about that and address that file issue? I don't know what caused it unfortunately since it was a month ago so I can't really narrow anything down.

For reference, here is a link. The URL seems off.. http://www.boostedk20.com/forums/sho...2800#post32800
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: