Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #196  
Old 22 Mar 2014, 07:05
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I noticed a couple issues at the bottom of the last two sections in the suggested .htaccess file:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The problem with this is you have all these rewrite conditions then at the end you don't have a rewrite rule. You need to add something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In the two spots where I placed *** ADD RULE HERE*** in the code block above.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

...also suggest a slight change to this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 22 Mar 2014, 10:57
Disco_Dave's Avatar
Disco_Dave Disco_Dave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
I noticed a couple issues at the bottom of the last two sections in the suggested .htaccess file:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The problem with this is you have all these rewrite conditions then at the end you don't have a rewrite rule. You need to add something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In the two spots where I placed *** ADD RULE HERE*** in the code block above.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

...also suggest a slight change to this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I use this one also, I wonder if there's something in mine that stops my dbseocp panel taking me back to the ACP.....I need one you guys to may be run your eyes over mine
__________________
www.nirc.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 22 Mar 2014, 17:39
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by Disco_Dave View Post
I use this one also, I wonder if there's something in mine that stops my dbseocp panel taking me back to the ACP.....I need one you guys to may be run your eyes over mine
PM me a copy and I'll look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 31 Mar 2014, 21:00
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
remember, you really have no reason to use mod_deflate if your server is already set to use gzip.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 31 Mar 2014, 22:27
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
You'll be just fine using mod_deflate. Just turn off vbulletin's gzip function otherwise, you'll be increasing load for no reason plus I don't believe vbulletins gzip feature covers everything.

The mod_deflate module is similar to mod_gzip, but usable only with Apache v2. Early versions of mod_deflate provided lesser amount of compression than mod_gzip.[2] Starting with Apache 2.0.45, the compression level of mod_deflate is configurable using the DeflateCompressionLevel directive, so this difference disappeared.
A mod_gz module was independently developed by Ian Holsman. This module implements a gzip compression filter for Apache 2.0, providing similar functionality to mod_gzip. One important difference between the two modules is that mod_gzip includes its own gzip implementation, whereas mod_gz relies on an external zlib library.
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 31 Mar 2014, 23:00
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
Originally Posted by final kaoss View Post
You'll be just fine using mod_deflate. Just turn off vbulletin's gzip function otherwise, you'll be increasing load for no reason plus I don't believe vbulletins gzip feature covers everything.
Right. I meant server level gzip. In other words, a lot of hosts already have things configured in httpd.conf. Some already have them configured with mod_deflate too.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 08 Apr 2014, 10:03
Firyou Firyou is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Nice tutorial Final Kaoss. I'm currently looking to add those modifications to my .htaccess file. Currently when I open up that file in my public_html for the root of the site, I see just these two lines in the file


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Is this the right location on where to add the changes? I have never modified this file in the past and I didn't create it either, it was there already. Tyia

I also have vb 4.2.0 pl4

Last edited by Firyou; 08 Apr 2014 at 10:43. Reason: vb version
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 08 Apr 2014, 13:05
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
You want to have the htaccess in the same folder as your vbulletin installation. So if you have your vbulletin installed in the default public_html, then yes that's the right place to modify that htaccess file. Otherwise, move the htaccess to the vb install and then modify it.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 28 Apr 2014, 04:13
Mike0 Mike0 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
The line
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

causes issues with logging in.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 07 Jun 2014, 17:59
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I've tested with removing that line and it makes no difference. Refer to post 3 for the fix.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 13 Mar 2015, 11:00
Fields's Avatar
Fields Fields is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Real name: Moritz
One of the best articles here, thanks for this!

I have just several small problems:

When I read a thread, the statusicon on FORUMHOME still displays new posts.
When I delete a PM, I also need to reload the page in order to make the PM vanish.
When I move a thread to an other forum, it's still displayed in the same forum until I am reloading.

etc. etc.

Do you know how to fix this?

I am using vB 4.2.2 PL4, DBSEO and vB Optimise.

Last edited by Fields; 13 Mar 2015 at 11:45.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 20 Mar 2015, 20:50
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Fields View Post
One of the best articles here, thanks for this!

I have just several small problems:

When I read a thread, the statusicon on FORUMHOME still displays new posts.
When I delete a PM, I also need to reload the page in order to make the PM vanish.
When I move a thread to an other forum, it's still displayed in the same forum until I am reloading.

etc. etc.

Do you know how to fix this?

I am using vB 4.2.2 PL4, DBSEO and vB Optimise.
vB Optimise is a good mod, I have however ran into some very odd issues with it in the past so with that being said try simply disabling it then clearing your system cache - now check to see if the display issues are resolved. If yes then its something with vB Optimise if not then re-enable the mod and keep checking.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman - Custom vBulletin Modifications, Styles, and Services.
Need a Host? I recommend URLJet.

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 01 Mar 2018, 06:48
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
A few small edits were made.

Also it's worth noting that if you use cloudflare, you can ignore the compression settings in the article & let cloudflare handle it.

With Brotli, it should deliver better performance but it requires https to be enabled.

Last edited by final kaoss; 01 Mar 2018 at 06:54.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 23 Apr 2018, 04:26
bigrover bigrover is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Cool

I'm trying to apply these instructions to a test vb 4.2.5 site but I can't get past changing the Friendly URL's from Basic to Mod Rewrite Friendly Rules. When I do this I lose access to my forums. I can display the forum home, but when I click on any forum or category below that I get the following message:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

My current .htaccess file is:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where am I going wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 23 Apr 2018, 17:11
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
On the first post where it says to add your rewrite rules, these are the default ones that you can use for compatability with the Mod Rewrite Friendly Rules. Simply throw this in, in between these lines.

#add your friendly url rewrite rules below.

#stop adding your friendly url rewrite rules here.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Use Google Custom Search In Navbar - Step By Step rajubd vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 104 29 Jul 2017 15:43



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: