Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Proxy Detector v3.1 - for Posts and WOL Details »
Proxy Detector v3.1 - for Posts and WOL
Mod Version: 1.00, by mtha (Contributor) mtha is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.1 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 68
Released: 08 Feb 2004 Last Update: 21 Jun 2004 Downloads: 50
Not Supported DB Changes  

############################################
# Hack Name: Proxy Detector v3.1
# Orgiginal hack by Takara and Stadler (for vB 2.0)
# Modified for vB 3.0.1 and Addon by HacNho
# Compatibility to vB 3.0.x
# Date: 06.20.04
############################################
# History:
# Version 3.1: (update 06.20.04)
# 1. Display ProxyIP in WhoIsOnline list (in UserAgent section)
#
# Version 3.0:
# 1. Compatibility to vB 3.0 RC4
# 2. Admin with "adminpermission" will see the "ProxyIP when overmouse if the IP is not shown
# 3. Proxy IP will be displayed with IP address in show IP page
#
# # Version 2.0 ...
# # Version 1.0 by Takara and Stadler (for vB 2.x)

###########################################
# Description: This is little hack detects via the Environmental Variable
# HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR if the user is using a proxy. Most proxys give out this
# variable. If it is it will display it out for you, and allow you to view the
# real IP of the person, and proxy IP when you click the link (in Post or Who'sOnline).
#
# Files Edited: 5 - includes/init.php
# - Files edited for proxyIP in posts: 2- includes/functions_newpost.php, postings.php
# - Files edited for proxyIP in WOL: 2- includes/sessions.php, online.php
# Templates Modified for proxyIP in posts: 2 - postbit_ip_show, postbit_ip_hidden
# Templates Modified for ProxyIP in WOL: 1 - whosonlinebit
# SQL Query to run: 2 (add proxyip in post and session table)
# Phrase to add: thread_displayproxyip

#
# Remember to backup your files and DB before making any changes!
############################################

INSTALL: HN-ProxyDetextor-301.txt (8.9 KB)

Upgrade from version 3.0 or only install ProxyDetector for WOL:
HN-ProxyDetextor-WOL.txt (11.5 KB) - Update 06.20.04

Upgrade from version for vB beta7 to version 3.0HN-ProxyDetextor-upgrade-b7-RC4.txt (3.5 KB)

SCREENSHOTS:
proxydetected.jpg (7.8 KB)
proxyip-WOL.gif (10.1 KB)



*NEW: version 3.1 will save and show proxyIP in Who is Online page.
In order to see proxy, you need to turn "UserAgent" on:
http://YourDomain/Yourforum/online.php?ua=1


Remember to click

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	proxydetected.jpg
Views:	1723
Size:	7.8 KB
ID:	16621   Click image for larger version

Name:	proxyip-WOL.gif
Views:	1109
Size:	10.1 KB
ID:	19298  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Multiple account login detector (AE Detector) MPDev vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 482 09 Jun 2012 14:26

  #61  
Old 11 Aug 2004, 17:54
Logan70 Logan70 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Did you install it straight from the install notes or was there mods needed?

I am looking at this and want to make I get it right the first time.

Anything will help.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02 Oct 2004, 18:29
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
*install* on vB3.0.3. Wow, most complicated hack I've installed to date. Now just waiting for someone to come online with a proxy server to see if the hack works.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02 Oct 2004, 18:45
mtha's Avatar
mtha mtha is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Ha Mai
Originally Posted by MickDoneDee
*install* on vB3.0.3. Wow, most complicated hack I've installed to date. Now just waiting for someone to come online with a proxy server to see if the hack works.
Is it really that complicated?

why dont you get a proxy for yourself, log into your board, and check :>
that way you know exactly what you have.

However, if some proxy doesnt return values, you may not have expected answer.

Did you install it straight from the install notes or was there mods needed?
no, you dont need any other mods for this to work, but you need to install ... vBulletin :>
__________________
Selected Hacks:
[APM] Advanced Product Management [for vb4][for vb3.6] [for 3.7.x/3.8.x] -- [YAAS] Yet Another Awards System [for vB 3.5] [for vB 3.0] -- [YAPMS] Yet Another Private Message System 1.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02 Oct 2004, 18:50
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Thanks, had a member showup a few moments ago using a proxy server. Your hack works like a charm. I'd like to give viewing permissions to my supermods since they are online more than me and keep a better eye on things than I do. How do I give them permission?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 08:06
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Originally Posted by MickDoneDee
I'd like to give viewing permissions to my supermods since they are online more than me and keep a better eye on things than I do. How do I give them permission?
Admin cp -> Usergroups -> Usergroup Manager -> Click Go to edit Supermoderator permissions -> Select Yes option for all Who's Online Permissions.

I may have encountered a bug since installing this hack. The hack requires the User Agent display to be on in Who's Online to view the real IP address. The default setting for the User Agent display is off. I tried modifying the Whosonline template to have the UA display on by default but couldn't do it. So, I decided to change the template back to the original condition using Revert. After clicking Revert I got a popup warning and continued with the Revert. To my horror it DELETED the Whosonline template. I asked for advice on vB.com to restore the template and it was suggested that I should restore the master template:
AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Upload / Download Styles > Click on import.

This restored the Who's Online template without overwriting my existing template modifications. They also suspected the bug occurred because of a hack I may have installed. Does anyone here have a test forum with this hack installed and would like to see if this hack has caused a problem with the Revert function for the Whosonline template?

Does anyone know how to have UA on by default when loading Who's Online?

Last edited by MickDoneDee; 03 Oct 2004 at 08:08.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 14:56
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Question

Well i've installed everything as I should and when I click the computer Icon on the post, I get the following page (View image). Shouldn't that be something different?
Attached Images
File Type: gif Untitled-2.gif (5.0 KB, 29 views)
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 15:38
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Originally Posted by nealparry
Well i've installed everything as I should and when I click the computer Icon on the post, I get the following page (View image). Shouldn't that be something different?
Yes, that should be different because the New Phrase: thread_displayproxyip shows:

The proxy IP Address is: $postinfo[ipaddress]<br>
The proxy host name is: $postinfo[hostaddress]<br>
The real IP Address is: $postinfo[proxyip]
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 17:34
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Originally Posted by MickDoneDee
Yes, that should be different because the New Phrase: thread_displayproxyip shows:

The proxy IP Address is: $postinfo[ipaddress]<br>
The proxy host name is: $postinfo[hostaddress]<br>
The real IP Address is: $postinfo[proxyip]
any ideas why anyone?
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 17:43
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Originally Posted by nealparry
any ideas why anyone?
it shows when i change the phrase 'thread_displayip'

Is this right?
Attached Images
File Type: gif bhn.gif (5.6 KB, 16 views)
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online

Last edited by Neal-UK; 04 Oct 2004 at 17:50.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 18:03
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Neal, the three lines of info should start with:

The proxy IP Address is:
The proxy host name is:
The real IP Address is:

if you have modified the thread_displayip template as suggested in Proxy
Detector v3.1. *

* The above line is incorrect. It should read:
if you have created the thread_displayproxyip phrase as suggested in Proxy Detector v3.1.

What hack have you installed exactly?

Last edited by MickDoneDee; 04 Oct 2004 at 18:26.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 18:14
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Originally Posted by MickDoneDee
Neal, the three lines of info should start with:

The proxy IP Address is:
The proxy host name is:
The real IP Address is:

if you have modified the thread_displayip template as suggested in Proxy Detector v3.1.

What hack have you installed exactly?
PD v3.1

I'm uninstaling it anyhow.
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04 Oct 2004, 18:25
MickDoneDee MickDoneDee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Originally Posted by nealparry
PD v3.1

I'm uninstaling it anyhow.
Neal, I made an error when I said:
if you have modified the thread_displayip template as suggested in Proxy Detector v3.1.

it should say:
if you have created the thread_displayproxyip phrase as suggested in Proxy Detector v3.1.

The phrase thread_displayip already exists. You are not meant to touch that. You are meant to create a NEW phrase called thread_displayproxyip.

In the Text field you should insert:

The proxy IP Address is: $postinfo[ipaddress]<br>
The proxy host name is: $postinfo[hostaddress]<br>
The real IP Address is: $postinfo[proxyip]

That will give you the proper display.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 05 Oct 2004, 13:52
mtha's Avatar
mtha mtha is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Ha Mai
Originally Posted by nealparry
Well i've installed everything as I should and when I click the computer Icon on the post, I get the following page (View image). Shouldn't that be something different?
Did you do all the steps, including this one?:

### Run the Following SQL Query (for POST)
ALTER TABLE post ADD proxyip VARCHAR(50) not null AFTER ipaddress;

### Run the Following SQL Query (for WOL)
ALTER TABLE session ADD proxyip VARCHAR(50) not null AFTER `host`;


you have to have that field to store proxyIP, otherwise you will get the default IP page as you had
__________________
Selected Hacks:
[APM] Advanced Product Management [for vb4][for vb3.6] [for 3.7.x/3.8.x] -- [YAAS] Yet Another Awards System [for vB 3.5] [for vB 3.0] -- [YAPMS] Yet Another Private Message System 1.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 05 Oct 2004, 15:20
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Originally Posted by mtha
Did you do all the steps, including this one?:

### Run the Following SQL Query (for POST)
ALTER TABLE post ADD proxyip VARCHAR(50) not null AFTER ipaddress;

### Run the Following SQL Query (for WOL)
ALTER TABLE session ADD proxyip VARCHAR(50) not null AFTER `host`;


you have to have that field to store proxyIP, otherwise you will get the default IP page as you had
Yes I did, and checked the database and it was all in there. I may have done something else wrong but who knows. I'm normally okay at adding hacks but I'll leave this one for now....:ermm:

Good job with it anyhow, wish I could make them!
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06 Oct 2004, 06:21
mtha's Avatar
mtha mtha is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Ha Mai
Originally Posted by nealparry
Yes I did, and checked the database and it was all in there. I may have done something else wrong but who knows. I'm normally okay at adding hacks but I'll leave this one for now....:ermm:
The new template will ONLY be displayed when PROXYIP exists (recorded).

You should try to add (manually) some number into the proxyip field of some post that you KNOW (in order to test). If you have the number appeared in "show IP windows" then you are fine, just check the code to detect the proxy. Some proxys are not detectable.



btw, the code only work for NEW posting. it wouldnt know the proxyip for old posts.
__________________
Selected Hacks:
[APM] Advanced Product Management [for vb4][for vb3.6] [for 3.7.x/3.8.x] -- [YAAS] Yet Another Awards System [for vB 3.5] [for vB 3.0] -- [YAPMS] Yet Another Private Message System 1.0.1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:54.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: