Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Add a select field to the profile Details »
Add a select field to the profile
Mod Version: 1.00, by Mutt (Member) Mutt is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 29
Released: 03 Jul 2001 Last Update: Never Downloads: 11
Not Supported  

Hey there

I'm still trying to learn all of this and damn this is cool ****. Anyway, I installed the gender hack and was going to use it to install another profile select box. Then I saw the very cool CP tool for adding a field to the profile. It currently only allows you to add a input box. I decieded to modify it so I could add my select box from there. It wasn't very hard and the hack is pretty short.


Here it is in a nutshell
I added a textarea field to the add/edit profile field
if you want the new field to be a dropdown, you enter the dropdown values. each line represents a new option tag.

Ex. you want a new field called "sex" that is a drop down with
the choices male,female, and other.

Make the new field as usual.
Set Field Length. (1 would be a standard dropdown)
Set Maximum Input (I'd leave it at 250)
In the Select Box Items text area type

Male
Female
Other

each on it's own line.


UPDATED for v224 with vbHacker
Click thru for the updated version

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Adding Custom Select Field To Profile treszoks vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 15 29 Oct 2001 14:11

Comments
  #2  
Old 04 Jul 2001, 16:05
Mutt's Avatar
Mutt Mutt is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
would anyone want the ability to add radio yes/no fields as well? I don't need em right now, but I gotta beileve I will sooner or later

Big Up to the VB guys for making it possible to add profile fields from the Admin CP. I dig it!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Jul 2001, 16:13
Guest
 
This looks an excellent hack!

Radio buttons would also be very useful.

Has anyone installed it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Jul 2001, 03:23
Ruth Ruth is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
great hack, radio buttons anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Jul 2001, 13:40
RobAC RobAC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Radio buttons would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Jul 2001, 14:24
BradC
Guest
 
If no one gets around to making radio buttons I will for ya

Not much of a change of code really...

but I can't do it off the top of my head at work lol..

I usually on use drop downs.. cause they work for some of the stuff I have been doing lately

RobAC... pm if you want me to change the custom hack to radio buttons instead of drop downs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Jul 2001, 18:52
Ruth Ruth is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
BreadC, we need both drop down and radio buttons

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Jul 2001, 03:43
Mutt's Avatar
Mutt Mutt is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I added radio buttons

I updated the directions to add radio buttons over the weekend, but couldn't get on the site to post em. I'll post it after work tomorrow. I orgiginally just made then standard Yes No radio buttons, but started to change it so they could have any value and you could have more than 2. will post it asap.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Jul 2001, 17:55
Ruth Ruth is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Mutt please post them as soon as you can....can't wait longer

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Jul 2001, 17:02
Mutt's Avatar
Mutt Mutt is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I'll try and finish it up today. I though of a nicer way to do it and would like to make it clean before posting. busy working on the vb code buttons today but I'm sure I'll get to it
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17 Jul 2001, 12:47
Ruth Ruth is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Mutt...are you still working on it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Jul 2001, 17:38
wilth
Guest
 
great work mutt
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Jul 2001, 19:33
snyx's Avatar
snyx snyx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
damnit mutt! ya did a good job! like a charm!

snyx

LOL, mutt . . . .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20 Jul 2001, 15:20
JWS JWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I'm interested in this as well....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23 Jul 2001, 06:44
debsync
Guest
 
I installed this and it works great outside of the control panel (when a user wants to change a profile field in his own user cp the drop down menu appears as it should).. But in the admin CP, when I go to 'add users', the custom field that I added does not show the drop down options.. It only shows an empty field just like the other profile fields there.. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:10.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: