Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dropdown menubox for Links/URL's Details »
Dropdown menubox for Links/URL's
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.4 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 8
Released: 31 Dec 2008 Last Update: 04 Jan 2009 Downloads: 26
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

As a result of this post http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...82#post1697782

I've come up with a small modification that will allow admins to include a small dropdown box in the forum discription. With this mod you will be able to add a few or hundreds of urls and links without filling up your forum.




This is really easy, all you need to do is to copy the following code to notepad on your PC and save it as subnav.js


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or you can just download the zip file

then you need to upload the subnav.js file to your forums root directory.

The next stage is the code where you edit your urls etc...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Within that code you need to edit your urls and description in the option values


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've only done 4 in the above but you can add as little or as many as you need by simply adding more option values as in the code above.

Once you've saved your edit, you can upload it to a forum, what i did was to create a new forum called "Quick Links" and then paste all of that code into the Forum Description.

Thats all there is to it, Feel free to experiment with this and remember to post a link here if you want to show off your new dropbox.

Enjoy



*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************

12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	page22.png
Views:	22
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	91486   Click image for larger version

Name:	page23.png
Views:	36
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	91487  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 62 28 May 2012 12:16

Comments
  #2  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 13:54
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Reserved

Please don't forget to click Installed, and if you use it, show us a link to your dropdown box

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 31 Dec 2008 at 17:13.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 14:11
lingstar lingstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Super cool nifty neato! Thanks so much.

Best wishes,

Barbara
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 18:49
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 19:35
Haltech Haltech is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Awesome work.. Could this be used say, for subforums?
__________________
http://www.mazdaspeedforums.org The HARDCORE Of Mazda High Performance Tech!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 19:38
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
I guess you could use the dropdown for Subforums, instead of a bog standard url you could have the url to your subforums. not sure how that would work as you'd have to hide the subforums from the forum display.

have a play with it an let us know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 09:10
agitated agitated is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Thumbs up

Thanks for this. Neat! Works nice as a vBA module.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 10:22
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by agitated View Post
Thanks for this. Neat! Works nice as a vBA module.
Thanks agitated, would you like to post a link so we could take a peek Its nice to see how folk are using this to their advantage
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 20:36
Glynn58 Glynn58 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
thanks, installed and working great
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 21:32
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Thanks Glynn
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Jan 2009, 15:23
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
Attached Files
File Type: xml quicklinks-VBA Module.xml (1.0 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Jan 2009, 19:30
GSeybold GSeybold is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
What a great mod, this will come in handy. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Jan 2009, 19:40
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by GSeybold View Post
What a great mod, this will come in handy. Thanks!
I was just thinking how long it'll take for you to find it Gabby

Glad you like it
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Jan 2009, 21:39
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 01:47
GSeybold GSeybold is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I know I'm addicted, I can't stop LOL I think I'm up to over 20 now. Now I wish I had your brains to figure out how to install this without taking hours. Ho humm... I guess I'll get everything eventually.

I can actually use this mod in several differnet areas of my forum just have to figure out how to do that too.

Gabby


Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
I was just thinking how long it'll take for you to find it Gabby

Glad you like it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: