Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Trim newsfeed content Details »
Trim newsfeed content
Mod Version: 1.1, by MrNase (Member) MrNase is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 29
Released: 27 Aug 2006 Last Update: 30 Aug 2006 Downloads: 226
Not Supported Code Changes  

Hello!

A friend of mine pointed me to this:
He's running a quite popular forum about computer security and many websites use his newsfeed. The problem is that the newsfeed publishes the full content of the thread so that the users don't have to go back to the original source. Additionally some webmasters don't even post information on the original source.

This modification let's you choose wether you want to have the full content to be published or only the first 50 (or 100 or 12 , ...) characters.

It basically turns this:

Thread title
Hello, I've found quite some interesting stuff at http://www.mrnase.de and the best of all - it's free! Go and check it out!

into this:
Thread title
Hello, I've found quite some interesting...


This modification has two settings, one to turn it completely off and one setting which let's you chose how many characters you want to display. Default is '50'.

It has been tested with the RSS2 feed (seems to be the most common one).

The instructions are simple, you have to edit external.php and import one new product.


Before:Attachment 52759

After: Attachment 52758

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 1.png
Views:	1148
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	52758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 2.png
Views:	994
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	52759  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Newsfeed with Selector menu on vbAdvanced CMPS tomshawk vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 33 14 May 2005 22:40
Add your logo to the RSS 2 Newsfeed MrNase vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 1 13 Sep 2004 18:59

Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Aug 2006, 21:56
Jannefant Jannefant is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Nice one!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Aug 2006, 22:40
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Aug 2006, 23:35
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Very nice. Thanks man!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28 Aug 2006, 01:39
Barakat's Avatar
Barakat Barakat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Barakat
thanks a lot great.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Aug 2006, 08:17
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
No problem!

vB seems to have a similar function built in but I didn't found a way to actually activate it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Aug 2006, 10:38
asj's Avatar
asj asj is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Aug 2006, 12:36
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
I've setup a live demo: http://www.pagodentreff.de/diskussio....php?type=rss2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Aug 2006, 06:34
Steve B Steve B is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Where in the Admin CP does it install the options? After doing the edits to external.php and importing the product through product manager I am stuck as I see no new options. The logical place would be in with the 'external data provider' settings but nothing relating to this plugin is showing there?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Aug 2006, 10:45
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Hum, I am sorry the product file was somehow corrupted.
Just redownload the file and import it again (and select 'overwrite existing product') and it should work fine. Again, I am sorry.
Attached Images
File Type: png Bild 1.png (46.3 KB, 108 views)

Last edited by MrNase; 30 Aug 2006 at 10:51.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Aug 2006, 11:32
Steve B Steve B is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Downloaded and overwritten...everything running great now thanks

Clicked INSTALL.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Nov 2006, 06:14
furst furst is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thanks a whole lot, I've been searching for a way to do this for a long minute now.

Could I bother you so much as to have you create something that would allow me to add a footer template of sorts to the rss2 feed? I want to insert a banner with a referral code into the bottom of every rss2 item. This would be similar to the "Add your logo to the RSS 2 Newsfeed" hack you made for 3.0.

It would also so be real nice if I could add "digg this"/"add to delicious" etc links to the bottom of each item (like feedburner does it), but this is probably asking for too much. If you don't know what I'm talking about, check out this feedburner feed of John Chow's blog: http://feeds.feedburner.com/JohnChowDotCom


Edit: I just checked the feed from your site, and it isn't trimmed. I guess this isn't working for 3.6.2 yet?

Last edited by furst; 04 Nov 2006 at 06:22.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06 Nov 2006, 07:25
ben07 ben07 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Doesn't seem to work on Vb3.6.2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14 Dec 2006, 21:00
leedjc leedjc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Any chance of getting this to work for 3.6.4? I need this badly!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15 Dec 2006, 19:21
The Finman's Avatar
The Finman The Finman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Unhappy

My problem is exactly the opposite.

The news feed threads my RSS bots post are too short (often not even a full sentence).

I was told that there is nothing I can do, as the publisher of the RSS feed controls the limit on how much is released.

So given that set of circumstances I doubt it would be possible, but still I am wondering if anyone knows of a possible way to overcome that limitation?

I've tried looking for longer headline news feeds, but all the ones I've found still have the same problem.

I am looking for a US headline (or breaking) news feed that publishes at least 1-2 paragraphs, if anyone knows of one. I've tried using various search engines looking for RSS news feeds that publish the length of their news feeds, but no one seems to give out that information.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: